Battery Life Help

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ILM, Nov 5, 2013.

1. ILM macrumors newbie

Hi All,

I've recently bought a MacBook Air, It's my first ever Apple computer and I don't know how I managed to resist buying one for so long!

My only problem with it is that I've been reading a lot on this forum and lots of people are mentioning how great their battery life is on their Macbook Airs (Over 7 hours) . On mine I'm struggling to get over 4 hours use on the battery and thats with the brightness at 4 bars and the keyboard light off. I only really have a couple of internet tabs open and skype for messaging (no video).

At the moment it's at 83% stating that theres only 2 hours 19 minutes remaining. As I'm new to Mac I'm not sure what other things I can do to try improve the battery life, can anyone help?

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

The "time remaining" indication is an ever-changing estimate, based on the current workload of your system. It will fluctuate up and down from minute to minute as your power demands change. It is not perfectly accurate, but only an estimate. There are many factors that impact your battery life. See the BATTERY LIFE FROM A CHARGE section of the following link for details, including tips on how to maximize your battery life.
    The link below should answer most, if not all, of your battery/charging questions. If you haven't already done so, I highly recommend you take the time to read it.

3. cerberusss macrumors 6502a

cerberusss

Did you actually test it, ran it until the battery went flat?

4. fabiovirgi7 macrumors newbie

You can't count on the "time remaining" indication. Simply do a test by yourself.

5. ILM thread starter macrumors newbie