Battlefield 3 | Getting ready for the BETA

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by genu1ne, Sep 26, 2011.

  1. genu1ne macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #1
    Hi Guys, The Battlefield 3 Beta will start tomorrow!
    I will try it on my maxed out 2011 iMac and I am wondering if I should install the custom graphics drivers that AMD created just for this Game. Whats your take? Any experience with custom drivers on Bootcamp? ;)
     
  2. SlickShoes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #2
    I use the AMD drivers rather than the bootcamp ones and it does yield better performance, any tweaks like that can effect battery life though just as over clocking would. Personally I would always rather use the manufacturer drivers than the bog standard apple ones since they actually get updated.
     
  3. Mulperi, Sep 26, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2011

    Mulperi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    #3
    I have the mid-2011 cheapest 27" iMac model.

    Any idea how well it will perform? GPU is 6770M.
    Bad Company 2 runs pretty well in medium settings and 1280x720 resolution.
     
  4. sarcosis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Location:
    These United States
    #4
    Give it a go with what you have right now. If there are issues, then i would say go ahead and get something new. From what I heard, the AMD optimized drivers for the beta arn't out there yet, if at all. I know when I was playing the Alpha, I had to grab some beta drivers from Nvidia, so don't double down on the extra work if you don't have to.
     
  5. Kimbie macrumors regular

    Kimbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    From what the Dev have said you wont have a chance in hell in maxing out the engine on your mac.

    To use the "Ultra settings" you need at least top end GTX in SLI mode.

    Kimbie
     
  6. SlickShoes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #6
    The Beta is available now should you have a code or have pre ordered on Origin. I will be playing it on PS3 so will download it when i get home from work! Happy gaming!
     
  7. genu1ne thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #7
    I wont be able to test it before tomorrow. It would be interesting to review machine specs and game settings if your are playing the beta on your mac. Enjoy the game!
     
  8. themat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    With everything on low it runs like absolute **** on my Late 2010 13" MBP - to be expected really but never mind. Definitely not playable.
     
  9. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #9
    I guess putting it on my 2008 MBP might cause it to spontaneously combust.
     
  10. MasterTick, Sep 27, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011

    MasterTick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #10
    False, running it on all ultra, everything enabled on a GTX 570 at 1920x1080.

    Getting 60+ FPS too.
     
  11. SlickShoes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #11
    PS3 version seems OK, but thats it, its no great innovation or anything from what I can see. The graphics are pretty poor but the lighting and sound are excellent. Not a fan of the map or mode they have chosen for the beta.
     
  12. Albern macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    #12
    I am getting excited about this game and i have checked the real specification about this game so guys thanks to all of you.
     
  13. Sankersizzle, Sep 28, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2014
  14. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    I read that the full version will have a higher graphics option that WILL need a top end computer to run. Not sure if it's true or not though.
     
  15. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #15
    The "bootcamp" drivers are just old AMD drivers. 11.7 works well for BFBC2/BF3, I got very poor performance with the allegedly optimised 11.10 preview drivers.
     
  16. SlickShoes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #16
    The PS3 and xbox versions dont look anywhere near meeting the hype, I want to see if something mid range like my iMac 2010 below can beat out the PS3 for performance in this game.

    The PS3 manages 30fps at a resolution just below 1280x720, textures look very bland and trees look like cardboard cut outs.

    If that iMac or my laptop can outperform the console I may get this on windows, has anyone tried it on similar hardware yet?
     
  17. themat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #17
    Unfortunately :(, could only get it to work by using Beta Nvidia drivers though so that could be the main culprit. I still doubt it'll run well enough to actually play it though. Never mind heh :p.
     
  18. Mulperi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    #18
    anyone tried it with the low end 27" iMac (2011) ?
     
  19. inket macrumors regular

    inket

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #19
    Anyone tried with the 9600M GT, 2009 MacBook Pro ?
     
  20. waiwai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #20
    I played BETA all day yesterday. I am running it at max 2560x1440 resolution with everything on max, but no AA (this will most definitely cut my fps down a lot, for minimal graphical enhancements). Run's like a charm, no hiccups even in screen full of stuff blowing up and bullets flying all over the place and smoke and everything. lighting and bloom and everything in this game is amazing.

    My specs:

    Late 2010 Mac Pro
    Bootcamp Win7 64 Bit
    2.8 Ghz Quad - Turbo to 3.2
    6GB RAM
    5870 1GB VC
    500GB Seagate Hybrid Drive

    I can't check FPS... but I didn't notice any dips in fps during full scale gun fights, plays extremely smooth. I'm running the latest ATI Catalyst driver (I think it came out in July) and all bootcamp drivers are updated. Not using any other custom drivers of any sort.

    P.S. This game will RAPE MW3 no doubt about it.
     
  21. thegreatdivorce macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Location:
    Upper Left USA
    #21
    Someone else mentioned this, but the Beta doesn't have the full graphical enhancements that the full version will have. Test it: turn the settings to Ultra ... it looks NO different than High.

    That said, running it at "High" (whatever that actually is) looks really nice on my MP (2.8 oct, 10 GB, 5870). FPS seems to be 60+.
     
  22. lfc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #22
    Repost from another thread...

    It's running great for me! Very smooth so far, but I haven't tried messing with the settings so it's all set to low and 1280x800 for now. Looks great still. From what I can tell I should be able to play at probably near medium.

    MacBook Pro 17" (mid 2010) Windows 7 32-bit
    Core i5 2.53Ghz
    GT 330M 512MB VRAM 285.38 beta drivers
    4GB RAM (2.2 free for the game)

    :apple:
     
  23. eggplanty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    #23
    Here's my system specs

    27" iMac
    8gb Ram
    6970m 1gb ram

    My question is if anyone here is using a computer with the same or very similar specs and has tried the BF3 open beta, and if so how is that running for you?
     
  24. genu1ne thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #24
    Im running it on the latest iMac i5 with 2GB 6970 Card. Runs fine in 1920x1080 with Ultra Settings. I just read that you can see the FPS when you click alt+ctrl+s ingame. Gonna try this tomorrow.
     
  25. trip1ex macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #25
    Runs smooth on my i3 2100 plus 6950 AMD RAdeon vid card at whatever default settings the beta dialed up for me.

    Haven't checked to see what settings it defaulted too. Looked pretty good though.
     

Share This Page