Battlefield 3 runs well on MBP

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by JasonH42, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #1
    Just in case others are wondering, Battlefield 3 runs really well on a slightly overclocked 2011 MBP (750/900) with HD 6750M. Got an invite to the alpha trial and played it on my MBP in bootcamp as well as a gaming rig. The MBP ran it at 45-55fps. :D
     

    Attached Files:

    • bf3.jpg
      bf3.jpg
      File size:
      300.2 KB
      Views:
      715
  2. TheBoors macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #2
    That's convenient! I was just wondering about that.
    BF3 will be my FPS game this year, with skyrim for rpg and Diablo 3 for for that simple and satisfaying demon massacre

    Merci beaucoup!
     
  3. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #3
    I think you mean Diablo 3 for NEXT year's simple and satisfaying demon massacre
     
  4. StopSign24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
  5. Merthyrboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #5
    I can't wait for this game either. Might be seeing all of you online :p
     
  6. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    That's pretty impressive. What were the graphic settings on though?
     
  7. AbblePC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #7
    Questions...

    Are you running OSX Lion or Snow Leopard on the Macbook Pro & what version of Windows were you playing the BF3 game in? Using regular drivers for your video chipset or custom?

    Are the jets configurable with a joystick and are they pretty much controlled like in BF1942/bf2 planes were or dumbed down version somewhat like in bf2142? :roll eyes:

    Basically Im hoping they are like flying a fighter simm...
     
  8. JasonH42 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #8
    Windows 7 x64, 1440x900, 11.8 preview driver. The graphics looked great but I didn't see any options to check or change quality level.

    No jets in the alpha trial sadly.
     
  9. TheBoors macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #9
    School year :p
     
  10. lfc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Thats a very nice fps rate!
    I hope it will run ok on a 17" 2010 MBP. The GT330M is my only concern
    If your graphics settings were medium-high, then I know I would be able to run it on low, and thats all I need!
     
  11. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #11
    The performance would be have been on low settings. I've read that there was no AA active or available, but generic low/med/high quality settings were available. The 6750m with a 1440x900 resolution would run BF3, without AA, on medium settings at around 25-35 fps. It will be slightly more demanding than BFBC2, so if you have to run that on low just to play it, you'll have some trouble with BF3.

    One thing I saw that I didn't like were nearby shadows from trees/vegetation on low settings. I think it actually makes it more difficult for you to see the enemy, because they look blocky and screen over your line of sight (not to be confused with shadows in the distance closer to your enemy, rather those shadows cast over you). Other than that, I thought low settings were similar to BFBC2 in that it's really not bad looking compared to other games on low.
     
  12. JasonH42 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #12
    I don't think the default setting was low, most likely auto. It doesn't seem much more demanding than BFBC2. When running on my gaming rig with dual 6990s it was using just one of the four GPUs and running about 80fps at 1980x1200.
     
  13. winston1236 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #13
    hey medic help me out! im bleeding pretty bad!
     
  14. rolfbert macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    EU
  15. ihaugenstanley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    #15
    Do you think this will work

    Hey guys,

    I have a 2010 MBP with a dual core i7 processor and an NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M.

    I have windows 7 installed and I want to play battlefield 3. I pre-orered the game so I am going to see if it works with the beta but are the new graphics cards in the new MBPs a lot better? I don't want to have a build a complete PC for this so i'm really hoping i can just use my laptop.

    Thanks.
     
  16. IllegalFun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #16
    Hi all

    I have been watching the BF3 developments with interest, as I love nearly all the BF series... :cool:

    I am looking to buy the 2011 27" iMac 2.7Ghz... do you guys reckon BF3 will run ok on it? :confused:
    or would I do better to spend more on the 3.1Ghz model as it has the better GPU? :confused:

    I just really don't want to have to get a Windows PC or a copy for my Xbox 360 :mad: the Xbox won't work where I am moving to (they block the Xbox Live from working on the internet) and I am fed up with Windows 7!
     
  17. ihaugenstanley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    #17
    I would suggest the more expensive model because it comes with a 1GB graphics card. I just looked on the site and you can even configure it to take a 2GB graphics card. I have been following battlefield 3 a lot too and it looks like you are going to need a pretty powerful machine to play on high settings which is the optimal settings for me anyway.

    I don't understand why you are saying you are fed up with Windows 7 because you are still going to have to use bootcamp to boot into Windows 7 to play the game.

    I am in a similar position to you, I don't want to have to build a PC or buy a copy for a system. I just really don'y think mu 512MB Graphics card is going to be able to handle battlefiled 3:(
     
  18. IllegalFun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #18
    Haha!
    I forgot I would need to run Win 7 in bootcamp....

    I am tempted to abandon getting an iMac if I can't run it on the 3.1ghz with 1Gb graphics with a reasonable level of graphics...

    I am sure that £1649 would net me a really nice Tower PC, and I already have a 21.5" TV/Monitor...

    I think that I will wait until BF3 actually comes out, and see if anyone else can get it to work on an iMac! if they can't then I will re-think!
     
  19. ihaugenstanley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    #19
    I think at this point we just don't know how well it will or wont run. I am going to try and run the beta in september on my machine with a 512MB GPU. I am tempted to just build a PC too since i also already have a monitor but for me, if i can get it running on my MBP then I cant justify spending $800 on a machine.

    I think your idea of just waiting is a good one.
     
  20. IllegalFun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #20
    If only I wasn't so damned impatient! :eek:

    I am tempted to get a copy for the Xbox 360 anyway... :cool:
    in the meantime I will play some BFBC2 to get that twitch outta my system!:D
     
  21. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #21
    I'm still holding out hoping it comes to Steam, as some sort of afterthought when EA is happy that they got people to use their new service. If not, I'll just be a late adopter when I get my Origin tax cut out of them in the form of 50% or more discount off the price (Hanukkah sale??).

    EA has a pretty good track record in slashing the F out of the price within 6 months or so of a title's release.
     
  22. bakerzdosen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #22
    Thanks OP. I was wondering the same. This unfortunately isn't the top hit in Google, but it's certainly the most useful one I've found thus far.

    I guess I'll be installing bootcamp and using one of my family pack Win7 licenses for my MBP8,2... Oh, and forking out $$$ for BF3.

    I have to admit though, it would be even better if it ran in Fusion... I guess I can dream. :(
     
  23. ihaugenstanley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    #23
    haha im the same! I just bought the new deus ex game and it runs on my MBP(using bootcamp) but its so choppy and unplayable. I think i'm gunna have to build a pc to play battlefield 3:(. My bank account hates me.
     
  24. lfc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #24
    Let us know how it goes! I have the same graphics card as you (gt330m)
     
  25. ihaugenstanley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    #25
    I will.

    One problem I have is that I just bought the new deus ex game and am running it through bootcamp and it runs terribly. I had to put everything off just so i could move and actually aim my weapon. I have gadgets running and they say that I am not using much of my CPU or GPU so I have no idea why the game runs so poorly. Anyone have any ideas?
     

Share This Page