Before I switch to an iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 420benz, May 9, 2012.

  1. 420benz macrumors 6502

    420benz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #1
    How do you guys Handel not having Flash? I have a pc running vista ( sucks ). I also have an iPad.
     
  2. WRP macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    What are you talking about? Handel is a composer and iMacs "have" flash.
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    iMacs display Flash with the typical Apple behavior of the fans spinning up.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    You are mistaken, Macs can and do use flash.

    Its iOS devices that do not.
     
  5. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #5
    lay off him, he just thinks that all apple products can't do flash.

    Macs can do flash, it will all work well for you.

    ----------

    beat me to it.:eek:
     
  6. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #6
    Um...I don't handle not having Flash. I use flash on my iMac. :confused:
     
  7. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #7
    Apple chooses not to use flash on their iOS products to save battery life. Their desktop computers do not have a battery.

    Their laptops are still able to use flash, but their batteries are also tremendously huge. Flash probably wouldn't be the the most demanding thing a full-fledged computer user would be doing anyways.
     
  8. Puevlo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #8
    Flash is a disaster. I can't wait until it is decommissioned forever.
     
  9. forty2j macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #9
    The better question would be, how do people handle having Flash? Yeccchht.
     
  10. Chippy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    #10
    Steve - is that you?
     
  11. Sue De Nimes macrumors 6502a

    Sue De Nimes

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #11
    Don't be silly, Steve is in heaven now.

    ;)
     
  12. 420benz thread starter macrumors 6502

    420benz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #12
    Thanks I don't know what IOS is, but my iPad must have it because I can't open some video links.
     
  13. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #13
    Correct. iOS is the operating system on the iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch devices and it does not support flash. Flash does work on the desktop OS X (iMac and MacBooks etc).
     
  14. kitsunestudios macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #14
    Yes. iOS is the touch-screen based operating system on the iPhone and iPad. MacOS X is the desktop based keyboard and mouse system on all the other desktop and laptop computers Apple offers.
     
  15. 420benz thread starter macrumors 6502

    420benz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #15
    Cool. Now I have to find a 21 " iMac that I can afford.
     
  16. NewbieCanada macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #16
    Check the refurb section on the Apple website if you want to save some money but want one that's good as new with a full-year guarantee.
     
  17. 420benz thread starter macrumors 6502

    420benz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #17
    OK Thanks
     
  18. 420benz thread starter macrumors 6502

    420benz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #18
    I am sorry. But i have many questions about switching from windows to imac

    1.How can i move all of my pictures in Picasa to imac.
    2.I need to move a spreadsheet from Microsoft Works to imac.
    These two are the most impotent,all of the other stuff i think i can figure out.
     
  19. ixodes macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #19
    My primary laptops are Macs, yet I also work and live in a cross-platform environment. My Macs run far too hot, and noisy on flash.

    A great solution is to use my ThinkPad w/ Windows 7 which runs flash for hours if needed, cool, quiet, and effortlessly. It's not even something one thinks about. Flash on Win7 just works perfectly.
     
  20. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #20
    The photos should be simple - export them from Picasa to their native format (.jpg for example). Copy those to some sort of removeable drive, or to a cloud-based service. Then copy them back to your new iMac (iPhoto).

    As for your spreadsheet, you'll need some short of spreadsheet software on your Mac. I use Excel, and it can open spreadsheets created on Windows computers with no issues.

    Flash works fine on my 2008 iMac as well. Not sure why you're having so much trouble. :confused:
     
  21. Weaselboy, May 11, 2012
    Last edited: May 11, 2012

    Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #21
    I am not familiar with Picasa, but you just need to export the photos from Picasa to an external drive or USB key of some sort then you can import them into iPhoto on the iMac. There is also a Mac version of Picasa if you want to continue using that app. I found this link that explains how to move from Windows Picasa to Mac Picasa if that is what you want to do.

    I don't believe the MS Works spreadsheet format is supported on any Mac spreadsheets apps (at least none I could find). Can you open the files in MS Works then export them in the .XLS Excel spreadsheet format? Excel files can be opened in any Mac spreadsheet app including Apple's Numbers app.
     
  22. 420benz thread starter macrumors 6502

    420benz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #22
    Hay thanks guys. You all just gave me a lot to digest. I am buying an iMac today. With all of your future help I feel comfortable about this change.
    Thanks again.
     
  23. TennisandMusic

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #23
    It's only a disaster on OSX. It runs incredibly well on both Windows and Linux. The excuse that Flash doesn't run well because Adobe can't code, or won't put effort into the smaller user base doesn't really hold water when Linux also runs it fantastically, like Windows. It's just an OSX thing.
     
  24. Charcoalwerks macrumors regular

    Charcoalwerks

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Maryland
    #24
    Good for you! I bought the 21.5" 2.5 GHz back in November and slapped 8 more gigs of RAM in her. It is an awesome machine!
     
  25. SpiderDude macrumors regular

    SpiderDude

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Portugal, Europe
    #25
    I beg to differ...

    I own a mac and a PC
    anytime any I go to a flash based website, fans start spinning like crazy. Be it the old Mac or the new PC.
    HTML on the other hand...
    So, that's kind of bad, no?
     

Share This Page