Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LSarge

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 4, 2014
I am a teacher and getting my masters in Learning Design and Technology. I have an iPhone 6, MacBook Pro retina, and iPad Air. I would love to learn a bit of programming and possibly develop educational apps in the future. However, I have no background in programming and not sure where to start.

Any advice as to where I can start to learn more about programming and app development?

Thanks for the help!!

Broph

macrumors 6502
Jun 23, 2010
New Zealand
There's plenty of great resources online. You're lucky you have a Mac, which means you can develop for iOS using Xcode (Apple's developer software).

I've just started learning, too. For iOS, I'd probably suggest you start with Objective-C, but you can probably get away with learning Swift, but may find some things confusing.

Personally, I'm a subscriber of Teamtreehouse ( http://teamtreehouse.com/home ). I'm learning Swift at the moment, and have also done some of their Objective-C tutorials.

There's other options, too. I heard of (when doing my research):

But, as I said, I think the best option is teamtreehouse, and go on their iOS programming track.

Good luck!

superscape

macrumors 6502a
Feb 12, 2008
East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Hi,

I'd second Swift and/or Objective-C if you're mainly interested in app development. If you choose Objective-C then working through a few beginners guides to C first might be helpful.

I found http://www.raywenderlich.com a very useful tutorial site, and still often refer back to it. People also often speak highly of the various books available from Big Nerd Ranch (http://www.bignerdranch.com/we-write/) although I've not read them myself so I can't comment.

Good luck! Learning to code is a series of ups and downs. Stick with it. Stay calm. And always read the documentation. ;-)

Rob

AndyK

macrumors 65816