Beginning Photographer..

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Hwilensky, Jun 18, 2012.

1. Hwilensky macrumors member

Hey all -

Hope all is well with everyone. I am a beginning photographer, and with the recent purchase of an iMac, I want to do more with my computer. I would really like to get more into photography and photo editing. I was wondering if you guys cold recommend some good sites for someone like myself or point me in the right direction to look at and learn more about photography, how to take some great shots. I guess what I am looking for is something along the lines of a basic photography 101. Thank you in advance and I look forward to being an active member of this forum.

Hwilensky

2. 100Teraflops macrumors 6502a

100Teraflops

Firstly, welcome! Secondly, if you like to read, I can recommend a few books by a photographer named Bryan Peterson. The first book is Understanding Exposure Third Edition and Understanding Shutter Speed. Also, check Adorama's website as Mark Wallace hosts Adorama TV, which is about recent camera releases, different camera techniques, and photo editing to name a few. B&H Photo as something similar, but I'm not familiar with it.

Also, I bought a book called Light, Science, and Magic which I recently began reading. Reading the aforementioned material will provide you with a better understanding about your subject, framing, lighting, camera and perspective. Keep an eye on this forum and you will learn a ton! Trust me! There are several grizzled veterans who post in this forum a lot. Hope this helps!

3. Pikemann Urge macrumors 6502

I'll start off with some general stuff.

Firstly, there are two fundamental commandments of photography that are easy to apply and will make you a better photographer all round:

1. Take lots of photographs.

2. Look at lots of photographs.