Best Cable connection Titan X to Dell 5k monitor

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CrickStar3D, Jul 1, 2016.

  1. CrickStar3D macrumors newbie

    CrickStar3D

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Location:
    Humble, The Republic of Texas
    #1
    Hello Peeps! I'm a newbie so please be gentle if I'm out of sorts. I am wearing a flak jacket just in case I'm doing something inappropriate. ;-} I just acquired a Mac Pro Tower 5.1 with a NVIDIA GTX Titan X 12 GB card. I was wondering what the best cable to connect it to a Dell 27" 5k monitor to get the optimal results. I sincerely appreciate anyone's assistance. Thank you!
     
  2. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #2
    The Titan X supports Displayport 1.2 and HDMI 2.0. Neither is ideal but Displayport 1.2 is better since it supports 5K even if it is only 30Hz. HDMI 2.0 peaks at 4K. If the monitor, video card and OS X support it. You can use dual mode Displayport using two cables from the card to monitor for 5K@60Hz. There is no harm in trying. Be sure the DP cables are 1.2 or higher. From what I have read it should work on the Mac Pro, Titan X and at least the Dell UP2715K.

    http://www.macstoreuk.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=53
    http://barefeats.com/mpt5k1.html
     
  3. CrickStar3D, Jul 2, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2016

    CrickStar3D thread starter macrumors newbie

    CrickStar3D

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Location:
    Humble, The Republic of Texas
    #3
     
  4. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #4
    To get 5K on the DPort, doesn't it require you to connect 2 cables to the Dell monitor? I believe I read this somewhere.
     
  5. CrickStar3D thread starter macrumors newbie

    CrickStar3D

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Location:
    Humble, The Republic of Texas
    #5
    @velocityg4 wrote "You can use dual mode Displayport using two cables"
    Is this using the same Display cable as you mentioned?
     
  6. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #6
  7. CrickStar3D thread starter macrumors newbie

    CrickStar3D

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Location:
    Humble, The Republic of Texas
    #7
    I'm having trouble finding a Displayport 1.2 cable to DP 1.2? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

    I promise I am literate and not usually dumb!
     
  8. scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    #8
    According to the tech specs page for the monitor (link above), there are two DP cables included.
     
  9. CrickStar3D thread starter macrumors newbie

    CrickStar3D

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Location:
    Humble, The Republic of Texas
    #9
    I thought as much. Thank you reaffirming however it was opened about 2 months by a co-worker who is on vacation and out of pocket. I will need to wait until she returns.

    Once again Thanks!
    How do I end a thread since I have received the remedy to my question?
     
  10. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #10
    More to the point, be sure that the cables actually meet the DP 1.2 spec.

    I've bought a couple of pallets of the Dell P2715Q 4K monitors, and some of my people need something longer than the 1.5m mDP<->DP cable that's included.

    The Dell monitor performs a cable check when powering on, and I've seen messages "cable does not support higher than 2560x1440 resolution" (and the monitor won't run in native resolution) with some cables labeled "DP 1.2".

    I've been buying the "Nippon Labs HBR2" cables from Newegg, and no problems at 4K - even with the 3m cables.

    https://www.neweggbusiness.com/product/product.aspx?item=9b-12-816-409
    --- Post Merged, Jul 2, 2016 ---
    Just say "thanks", and stop replying. The thread will send itself to the graveyard.
     
  11. CrickStar3D thread starter macrumors newbie

    CrickStar3D

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Location:
    Humble, The Republic of Texas
    #11
    The cables you referred to are for 4k correct? I am trying to find cables for 5k. Are you implying they will work with 5k as well? Thanks for your help!
     
  12. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #12
    There are no 5K cables right now (or more accurately, there are no GPUs with 5K outputs).

    You need to run two (a pair) of 4K cables from the GPU to the monitor for 5K.

    Yes, a pair of the Nippon Labs 4K HBR2 cables should be great for 5K.
     
  13. CrickStar3D, Jul 2, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2016

    CrickStar3D thread starter macrumors newbie

    CrickStar3D

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Location:
    Humble, The Republic of Texas
    #13
    Will any 2 Displayport 1.2 cables be appropriate? Or does it have to be the same as the one you recommended? I am trying to get them asap and only get them via mail order only. Thanks dude! I really appreciate you taking the time to help me.

    Will these work?
    StarTech.com 3 ft Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort 1.2 Adapter Cable M/M - DisplayPort 4k with HBR2 support - 3 feet Mini DP to DP Cable
     
  14. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #14
    Any pair of quality DP 1.2 cables should do 5K. I've bought some cheap ones that didn't meet the DP 1.2 standard, and have found that the Nippon Labs cables are reasonably priced and excellent.

    The cables that are included with the monitor will also be excellent. I've had no problems with the Dell cables - it's only been when someone needed longer cables that problems came up.

    We have the motorized "sit/stand" desks so that the distance beween the tower and the monitor can easily change by a meter or so a couple of times a day. With cable channels and other things, the 3m cables are perfect for connecting a tower on the floor (where you want it) with the movable monitor. Cheap "house brand" cables couldn't do 4K....

    For the people with laptops and docking stations - the system is on the table with the monitors, and the Dell cables are fine.
     
  15. CrickStar3D thread starter macrumors newbie

    CrickStar3D

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Location:
    Humble, The Republic of Texas
    #15
    I have a desktop configuration and unfortunately due to a physical disability and limited desk space the 3ft cables best suit my needs. My caregiver is out of pocket so I have no idea where the cables that came with the Dell monitor. Will search for similar cables you mentioned, but only 3ft. Thanks again!
     
  16. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #16
    The Dell cables are about 4.5 feet - you should be fine if the system is on the desk. If it's on the floor, it might be too short.

    And note that there might be many other good cables out there. My experience is very limited:
    • the Dell cables are great, but not very long
    • some local "house branded" cables couldn't do 4K
    • the Newegg cables are all good, even at 3m in length, and are reasonably priced
    Once I found the Nippon Labs cables at Newegg, I didn't look further.
     

Share This Page