Best carrier or iPhone 3g

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by finnschi, Jan 4, 2009.

  1. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #1
    Hey, I currently have a iphone 3G locked by t-Mobile in germany, i will be in the USA for 2 weeks in march of 09 , and will be in Michigan(Dtroit Metro) and New york!


    So what Prepaid Simcard should I get? I am thinking At&T is the best, Id like Unlimited Texting and maybe cheap data(is not that important). I will of course Unlock my iPhone before I go to the Us and A :D (Or can I use At&T without Unlocking :confused: )
     
  2. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #2
    Have to unlock, but if you want cheap Texts...AT&T is not the way to go.
     
  3. finnschi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #3
    Just called At&T and they told me that they won't allow prepaid to work with the 3G :confused: I also told them that its a Unlocked version from T-Assbile :apple: but apparently this guy just didn't know anything about How GSm works... I mean i can just plugin any simcard into any GSM phone, he told me that the iPhone imei number would give it away :confused: ???


    AHHH THE US cell phone stuff is SOOO RETARTED!!! OMFG ! its so much more convinient over here xD
     
  4. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #4
    Yeah tha is what the guys from the Kuka factories tell me.
     
  5. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #5
    Don't listen to him, he's inknowledgeable. Yes that's not a word. You can just get a pre-paid SIM card with a phone for ~20$ (that includes a GSM phone). I don't think you can get unlimited text with Pre-Paid though. Might be wrong. When you're here, just go to Wal-Mart or something, and get one.
     
  6. finnschi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #6
    thats what everyone is going to tell you xD that whole
    "lets not say how much 1 minute cost, but rather how much minuts you get a month" and all that ****... In germany its just like that=

    Montly Fee = 10€ 1minute = 10cent 1sms= 15cent
    additional free minutes = 100 Free sms = 40 /month
    somethign like that...

    or for prepaid = 1min = 10cent 1sms = 10cent no monthly bs


    In the USA

    Its montly 40$ with Unlimited national calling and roamng and whatver and only 10$ more for unlimited texting and you have rollover minutes and whatnot

    Prepaid US(the worst)= Pay us 1$ a day so you can call for 25cent a minute and if you dont you pay 35cents a minutes and then whatever charges apply for whatever and you can only use our phones and AHHHHHHHH
    And then there also is CDMA and GSM , WTF do you need CDMA for? that system is even MORE confusing... :confused:


    Lucky the iphone is GSM :D

    PS: I wont even talk about verizon .... :eek:
     
  7. finnschi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #7
    That is what I was planning, last time I just got a cheap ass virgin mobile phone for like 30$ with a 10$ unlimited texting plan for a month!(CDMA) ... but Now... I want to use my iPhone, espacialy as a Guide when I am in New york.! so Data would be nice ... I saw lots of apps @ installer app on 1.4 when I used my 1st gen iPhone which allowed using tmobile data plan..? whould somethign like taht work? :eek:
     
  8. finnschi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
  9. daihard macrumors 6502a

    daihard

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    I believe AT&T does not offer unlimited data with their prepaid plans anymore. I could be wrong, but if that's the case, your best bet would be to go to T-Mobile.
     
  10. finnschi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #10
    I am calling them right now but they seem to be even bigger idiots than At&T , I needed 10 minutes until he understood that I want to get NEW service xD he thought I want to top up my minutes.... IDIOT
     
  11. finnschi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #11
    THIS GUY IS STUPPPIID he doesnt even know if I can use 3G on prepaid OMFG!!!! I would love to go there and smack Tmobile in theire face! :eek:


    Just godda love Skype Caller ID ,, they where so confused about my Number (+49151.....) its using my German iphone number muhahahahah ... retarts
     
  12. finnschi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #12
    He "doubble checked" and then Told me that there is no Data option for Prepaid available... WTF :eek:
     
  13. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    If you want 3G data, then AT&T, since only AT&Ts signal can be useful for the iPhone's antenna. T-Mobile in the US doesn't have the required 3G MHz band for the iPhone
     
  14. finnschi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #14
    What about Edge? that would be enough for me ... :D
     
  15. finnschi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #15
    Jsut to trow in, there are probably lots of Wifi Hotspots in new york... Since I am going to be in manhattan the whole time, it should not be difficult to find a starbucks pretty much anywhere, is it? So what Carrier is Starbuzcks Using? is it still Tmobile or at&t now? or is there even a better way to get Wifi in Downtown new york? :D
     
  16. PoitNarf macrumors 65816

    PoitNarf

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    #16
    It's AT&T.
     
  17. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #17
    Your iphone won't work with 3G on t-mobile in the states ... it will only be edge.

    If you want 3G with the iphone your only choice is AT&T.
     
  18. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #18
    Edge will work just fine on t-mobile and the iphone. Just make sure your phone is unlocked ...
     
  19. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #19
    EDGE? Yes, that works fine on iPhone 3G and T-Mobile US. Remember to purchase the T-Zone $5.99 plan and use T-Zones Hack in Cydia to make it available for you.

    BTW - T-Zones is unlimited internet (EDGE/GPRS), a bit slower than AT&T's because it runs through a proxy, but hey, its something.
     
  20. finnschi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #20
    Is that available with prepaid tho? :confused:
     

Share This Page