Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Huntn

macrumors Core
Original poster
May 5, 2008
The Misty Mountains
what do you use for local file synch? I've been using Synk since 2009 (I think), updated it in 2013. It shows my program is up to date, but today I was doing some mass file deletions and became concerned when I discovered the program was not deleting files as it should and was telling me it was synched up. It's possible I need a more updated version and am investigating, but wondering what you guys use for local file synch?

Thanks!

Huntn

macrumors Core
Original poster
May 5, 2008
The Misty Mountains
For file synch I use and recommend ChronoSync. I may not understand what your needs are, but I do not think of using a file synch program for just doing deletions.

Thanks for the suggestion. What are you referencing? I use a Synch program to keep two sources of files synched up with smart deletion, when deletions are required.

CoastalOR

macrumors 68040
Jan 19, 2015
Oregon, USA
Thanks for the suggestion. What are you referencing? I use a Synch program to keep two sources of files synched up with smart deletion, when deletions are required.
I was referencing "I was doing some mass file deletions" in the original post. Like I said, maybe I did not understand what you were trying to do with the program. Thanks for the clarification.

Rigby

macrumors 603
Aug 5, 2008
San Jose, CA
If you're not afraid of the command line, you can also use some simple shell scripts using the rsync command (which is the gold standard of efficient and reliable file syncing as far as I'm concerned).

briloronmacrumo

macrumors 6502a
Jan 25, 2008
USA
I've been using Synk since 2009 (I think), updated it in 2013. ... today I was doing some mass file deletions and became concerned when I discovered the program was not deleting files as it should