Best way to play steam games?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by soeGG, Nov 14, 2008.

  1. soeGG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #1
    Hi all,

    I'm new on mac gaming. I want to play CS CS:S.

    What to use?

    What do you think? :)
     
  2. JLatte macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    #2
  3. soeGG thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #3
    I've tried it but I don't think it's that great. A bit slow?
     
  4. Durendul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #4
    cinder and how it can help you

    depending on how tech savvy you are you can use cinder to play it on any intel based mac but getting cinder legally is less then easy

    othere then that there is an underground group that has been able to CSS to stable port running on 10.5.x but this is most certainly an illegal jsut saying it is posable to run it withought having to run vista/xp
     
  5. JLatte macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    #5
    Yeah, I've heard people mention it's a bit slow. Other than that, either turn the settings down a bit or do gaming in boot camp.
     
  6. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #6
    Crossover's performance for HL2 has been quite good for me - the only thing is that it doesn't currently support DirectX 9, so the graphics don't look quite as good as they do in Boot Camp. That said, on my 3 Ghz iMac, I can run (in DirectX 8 mode) with all settings maxed and 1920x1200 in Crossover without any slowdowns.
     
  7. Durendul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #7
    hey one question exactly what cant you run on max i have been trying to get my version of HL2 running every thing it can on max but have been using cider and doing some stuff from scrach and i want to know what it should be running in direct 8 at the moment HL2 can run every thing max but shadows dont work past basic and water effects are on minimum
     
  8. Zephirus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    #8
    you could always setup bootcamp, games run like a charm on that
     
  9. soeGG thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #9
    Thanks all. I think I'll be the in the boot camp ;-)
     
  10. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #10
    Boot Camp/Windows XP is the way to play any PC game on your Mac.
     
  11. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #11
    Yea, Bootcamp is the way to go. No performance cuts, no emulation. Everything as it should be. I like to get the best bang for buck out of my iMac, wouldn't feel happy buying such a beasty mid-range PC and then cutting the graphics back to DirectX8.
     
  12. palebluedot macrumors 6502a

    palebluedot

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #12
    Mac and bang for the buck dont go in the same sentence :p You shoulda got a gaming rig if you wanted that! haha!
     
  13. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #13
    Pardon? My 2 year old, £700 iMac runs all the source games at native res, full quality and doesn't drop below 30fps (though it is overclocked).
    £700 for a machine that is more than adequate for my work and also plays the games I want perfectly isn't bang for buck? Hmm.
     
  14. palebluedot macrumors 6502a

    palebluedot

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #14
    Sorry I wasn't trying to be a jerk or accusing - I (as many ont his forum know) am really anti-bootcamp so i was just pointing out that buying a mac to play games in bootcamp is not necessarily bang for the buck. ALTHOUGH being able to run os x and windows does increase the inherent value of the product - its still way more expensive when you could build the same hardware for 300 if your gonna game in windows.

    im just messing with ya though :p
     
  15. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #15
    But if you only want or can afford 1 computer the Mac is an good way to go for gaming especially cause you stay in the OS that most of us prefer, most of the time.
     
  16. palebluedot macrumors 6502a

    palebluedot

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #16
    The main thing I have against Windows (and this is just a personal reason for me) is that dual booting is more of a pain then people make it out to be. If I'm sitting doing work and have an urge to play a round or two of TF2 or L4D I am much less likely to close all my aps, shut down, restart, load windows, load steam, get in the game, play, shut down, restart, reopen apps, and then keep working or whatever.

    When I play Quake Wars nativley on mac its great, i leave word open, safari open, ichat open, i have all my itunes music and can use the hot keys to change songs. It's like it was when I was a gamer on my main windows rig - easy and natural. So I hate dual booting mainly because its a huge hassle for me and it keeps me from gaming as much as I like. But I know most people on this forum love it/dont mind so I am alone on this haha.
     
  17. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #17
    What about... if he has a legal copy of the game, can he not use (or make on his own) a Cider port? I've seen Cider ports of The Orange Box and Counter Strike.

    Then he can play natively in OS X, or is there something against that?
     
  18. Jeas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    #18
    Gears of War run slow on my mac.....NEED HELP !

    I wonder why Gears of War run so slow on my mac....

    I use a Macbook Pro 13'', here the specs :

    Operating System : Mac OS X 10.6
    Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo 2.26 GHz
    Memory (RAM) : 2 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
    Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, (VRAM) 256MB

    so...here's the story.....

    I installed Parallels Desktop 5 on my Mac, and I installed Windows XP on it.....then I installed Gears of War using Cross Over Games (this is because the setup.exe can't be opened on Parallels desktop)....well so far so good.....The installation was succesfull with no problem.
    Then I start to play the game (on parallels Desktop), fortunatelly the games run, but unfortunatelly it run so slow, even with a lowest graphic setting.

    did someone know how to solve this ?

    Thanks.
     
  19. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
    parallels IS NOT designed for you to play games with. there is no way to make it any faster. use bootcamp or crossover (if possible). sorry :(
     
  20. Jeas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    #20
    so u mean that the problem is not on my Graphic Card ?

    I have CrossOver Games Installed but it cannot run the startup.exe (which is the way to start Gears of War).

    and about bootcamp....I always failed to make partition, with a message :

    ''The disk cannot be partitioned because some files cannot be moved.

    Back up the disk and use Disk Utility to format it as a single Mac OS Extended (Journaled) volume. Restore your information to the disk and try using BootCamp Assistant again''

    I'm new on mac world, so I dont understand such a think like that...

    any idea ?

    thx.
     
  21. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #21
    definitely not.

    thats annoying. crossover musnt support GOW then :(

    this normally means that you do not have sufficient disk space on your drive. how much free space do you have? even if you have 50GB free and want to allocate 30GB, there still mightnt be enough room to move certain files around.

    try repair disk permissions in "disk utility" and see if that helps get rid of the error.
     
  22. Jeas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    #22
    is that realy the problem ? because I still have 117 GB free ( from total 159 GB)

    and how I suppose to do that ? did I have to use my OS cd to do that ?
     
  23. wildcardd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #23
    Wrong thread, wrong forum to be posting for help in. Take it over here:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/forumdisplay.php?f=86

    ;)
     
  24. Ljw1976 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #24
    so by the looks of it, as i didnt know there was a gaming section within this forum ..it seems by running windows via bootcamp is the only sollution!!

    one thing i would like to add..

    by using bootcamp ..how good do the games run..my spec is

    macbook alu unibody...(2ghz duo and 4gb ram)

    and by using windows is it as straight forward as i remember it being when i was using windows..or are there more downloading patches bla bla bla??

    much appreciated..
     
  25. chill. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #25
    depends on the game... you can probably run any modern game on medium settings
     

Share This Page