Beware the WD MyBook Studio 2TB External HDD

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MacDawg, Mar 3, 2010.

  1. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #1
    Just want to give y'all a heads up on the Western Digital MyBook Studio 2 TB external HDD
    Western Digital My Book Studio 2 TB FireWire 800/400, USB 2.0 External Hard Drive WDBAAJ0020HSL-NESN

    [​IMG]

    I purchased this HDD through Amazon and it arrived today
    I plugged it in to the power source and to my MBP
    And low and behold it has major crapware installed
    It is called "SmartWare" but trust me, this is crapware

    It isn't so much the software itself, it is a lame backup and password solution with a graphical interface

    The problem is, it is installed on the HDD as a virtual CD
    This virtual CD automounts any time the HDD is connected
    You cannot eject it, because it simply remounts
    Any time the HDD is connected, it sits on your desktop

    You also cannot get rid of it by erasing and formatting the drive with Disk Utility

    Edit: Everyone keeps referring to to this... it does not work on this drive
    If you search, you will find the solution to be...
    http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/updates/?family=wdsmartwareutilitiesmac
    1. Update the firmware
    2. Run the VCD Manager and uninstall

    I downloaded both, but the firmare updater will not recognize this drive
    This is a known issue with WD
    And you cannot run the uninstaller without the firmware update

    You can read more about the issue on the WD Forums here

    I just wanted to pass on my thoughts from personal experience
    I packed this drive up and had it on its way back to Amazon in a flash
     
  2. delux246 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    thanks for the info. I was going to get this next week.
     
  3. ayzee macrumors 6502a

    ayzee

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #3
    Wow how disappointing. I currently have two 1tb WD externals and was planning on buying the 2tb for my next purchase. Hopefully somebody will find a way to get rid of the crapware
     
  4. vistadude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for the heads up. I don't know why WD puts this crapware on their drives. It's terrible software and both Mac and Windows have better built in methods to back up.
     
  5. mr.thedaniel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    #5
    There is a way to permanently disable smartware, I've done it with my new WD external, but I can't find the link...I believe it was some firmware download from WD since they've received so many complaints. I'll look for the site that had the fix...
     
  6. MacDawg thread starter macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    The firmware download works on MOST of the WD drives, but not this one
    That's the point... cause if it had worked on this drive, I would still be using it
    Trust me, I went through the whole search and destroy process and WD admits the firmware update does not work on this new drive
    They are in the process of trying to develop a fix... but not yet

    The links to the firmware upgrade are listed above as well as the discussion about it for this drive
     
  7. andiwm2003 macrumors 601

    andiwm2003

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    I had recently some problems with swapping out HD's between WD enclosures. I think it also related to the crapware and firmware. In my case its a 1TB MyBook.

    I actually liked the WD MyBook drives but with their crapware I'm not so sure anymore.
     
  8. MacDawg thread starter macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #8
    Same here
    I have a 1TB MyBook Studio that I have had no issues with...
    Which is why I went with the new 2TB

    Extremely disappointed
    Looking at the Seagate FreeAgent Desk for Mac right now
    But still researching
     
  9. ZebOfMac macrumors regular

    ZebOfMac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #9
    I have the FreeAgent 1.5 TB and so far can only speak well of the product lines they sell. Both the Notebook and Desk versions have worked well on my MBP over the years.
     
  10. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #10
    Yet another reason I don't ever buy anything western digital (not to mention the entire office here at work full of dead mybooks.)

    Best solution: Get an external enclosure with all the features you want, get a regular internal harddrive. No crapware :)
     
  11. Adapsys macrumors member

    Adapsys

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #11
    I just brought the 2TB mirror edition (with the two 1TB drives) and it didn't have anything like this. It came with all software on a separate CD.
     
  12. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #12
    They are doing this with all their [new] drives. I just ignore the virtual CD image. It won't install by itself or anything.
     
  13. solusoracle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #13
    I really doesn't bother me. It's not at all intrusive and doesn't run anything on my Mac.
     
  14. bumzo1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #14
    my sandisk thumb drive does this and its a pain in the arse!
     
  15. MacDawg thread starter macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #15
    No, you are right... it doesn't install or run, but it does sit on your desktop
    And you cannot unmount it, eject it or remove it
    I would be fine if you could just unmount it
     
  16. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #16
    Why didn't you just buy a very nice enclosure and a very nice disk separately?
     
  17. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #17
    I noticed all the new Mybook drives had that new display and backup software. I bought the WDElements 1.5 TB instead which is just a barebones ext drive with no software--literally a black box. I use Time Machine, so who needs their crappy software anyways. Frys and Dell are selling them for $109 right now.
     
  18. MacDawg thread starter macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #18
    I didn't want to go to the trouble
    And my 1 TB worked flawlessly
     
  19. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #19
    I don't like enclosures that are not designed to be opened, where the warranty of the case and disk are tied, that include an unknown and/or suboptimal disk, and that lack maximum interfacing possibilities.
     
  20. MacDawg thread starter macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #20
    And I just want something that works :)
    Unfortunately, this did not
     
  21. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #21
    If you buy from OWC, it should work. You can also get it already assembled.
     
  22. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #22
    The price of externals has come down so much that it is hard to pass up. A very nice enclosure and a very nice disk will cost much more. I used to think that enclosures were the way to go, but now I have 3 PATA enclosures that I can't upgrade because nobody makes large capacity PATA drives anymore.
     
  23. Freewayjim macrumors regular

    Freewayjim

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    #23
    +1 on the Seagate FreeAgent 1.5TB, very pleased with mine.

    I do have two older My Book Studio Drives (500GB & 750GB) and they work great.
     
  24. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #24

Share This Page