BF3 - experiences so far

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by TrygveK, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. TrygveK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #1
    Hi,
    I just orderes my first iMac and was wondering if you guys who have played the game (not alpha or beta) could provide the rest of us with some feedback on how BF3 has run on your Mac??? :)





    PS! I bought my iMac primarily to edit videoes and pictures - but am wondering how my iMac will rum it?
    Set-up:
    iMac i7 Mid 2011 - 2GB GPU :D
     
  2. bamtan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    #2
    Same setup, 1920x1080, Ultra/High settings (using Auto). Smooth as eggs, spectacular.
     
  3. TrygveK thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #3
    Cool :D

    What set up does your machine have?
     
  4. iMarvin macrumors 6502

    iMarvin

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Location:
    On the internet!
  5. stellardream macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    #5
    Yeah, same setup. 16gb RAM.

    I am very impressed with DICE's Frostbite 2 engine and how well it is optimized. I actually thought I was going to be disappointed. I had few visual glitches running beta i.e. sometimes the screen would flash green or blue. But the final product (or that final state of beta we got with the release) runs much better. Fantastic!

    I was thinking about building a gaming rig but now I guess I can wait until Intel releases Ivy Bridge and new video cards from AMD or nVidia, coz iMac is good enough. I am very happy :)
     
  6. K15 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Eagle River, Alaska
    #6
    BF3 plays well on my rig, using 2560 by1440 resolution.
     
  7. 2fastlx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #7
    Runs very well maxed out on my 2011 15" macbook pro with external monitor @1920x1080
     
  8. Seppentoni macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Europe
    #8
    Hi I have a question.

    I've read the user agreement of the EA Origin Software/Spyware which left me speechless.

    I have installed Bootcamp/Windows only for gaming. I have absolutely no personal data on my Windows partition.

    Is the EA Spyware program able to scan also the mac partition? Or is this technically not possible (fat vs. Mac OS Journaled):confused:
     
  9. kasbah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #9
    To my knowledge no, the file formats are different and your data won't be accessed.
     
  10. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #10
    I would guess that the program would have Windows handle working with files, if that's what Origin were looking at. So my answer would be yes, since Bootcamp Windows can read files on an HFS+ formatted partition, even though it cannot write to HFS+ partitions.

    A text file is still a text file even without an extension and regardless of whether or not it's on an NTFS, FAT, or HFS+ partition.
     
  11. Seppentoni macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Europe
    #11
    Thanks for your answers.

    Damn. I was hoping to be able to play it that way but I cannot tolerate this incredible insult from EA. I think I'll wait with BF3 till there is a Origin workaround.

    Fortunately I still have DX3 to play. :p
     
  12. teknikal90 macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #12
    anyone have any idea on how this would run on a 2.4ghz quad late 2011 mbp? with the 6770m radeon card on 1680 x 1050? or maybe played on a lower res 1440x900?

    thanks.
     
  13. Chromus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #13
    I believe it was running fairly well on the early 2011 MBP's, so you should be fine.
     
  14. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #14
    I've been interested to play this game. Never liked the COD games but this one seemed to be a little less aimed at the "fratboy" style player (maybe I'm wrong, I've only seen trailers). But if I can only get this on EA Origin then nah. I'll just go buy something on Steam and play that for a few weeks :).
     
  15. Nguberu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #15
    Hello,
    anyone tried playing Battlefield 3 on a Mid-2010 Macbook Pro, 15", Core i5 2.4 ghz, 330m GT with 256mb vram? The minimum system requirements state that at least 512mb of vram are required, but considering that the performance differences between the 256 and 512 and even the 1 gb versions of the GT 330m are more or less negligible, is it really not playable?
     
  16. teknikal90 macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #16
    so what settings are everyone using for their 15" 2011 macbook pro?
    and what FPS on average?
     
  17. Killery96 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #17
    Search youtube. At max on 1680x1050 people are in the low to mid 20's on average. I bet if you mediumed out some graphics and lowered to 1440 you could be smooth throughout.

    E.
     
  18. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #18
    I wonder how it will play on my Early 2008 MacBook Pro while connected to my 2560x1440 display.
     
  19. Chromus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #19
  20. Seppentoni macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Europe
    #20
  21. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #21
    What computer?

    What model? What GPU? I have my doubts that any MBP can really run it "well" maxed out at that kind of resolutions...

    What computer? What quality?

    ----

    See what I'm getting at?
     
  22. kasbah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #22
    Its runs fine on my early 2011 MBP... 1650x1080 @ 30+ FPS on all maps... textures and terrain high, shadows low, everything else medium, AA post processing low and AF x2... using the 11.10 preview 3 drivers and my 6750m is at 750/950 0.95v

    runs very nicely :)
     
  23. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #23
    For the last one you could have just looked at his signature to see what machine he has. As far as 2fastlx goes, I'm going to bet he has a 6750M.
     
  24. Objectivist-C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    #24
    Anyone try it on the 320m? Seems like a faint hope, but I've seen some people claiming BF3 runs better than BFBC2 on the same hardware, so...
     
  25. 2fastlx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #25
    I am running the 6750 and have also upgraded to 8GB of ram and a 7200 rpm hard drive. Another note, I also have upgraded to the Catalyst 11.8 drivers. Runs perfectly fine. Check out youtube or other forums, the Macbook pros handle BF3 very well.
     

Share This Page