Biggest disappointment with SSD X25 160 Gb G2

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by solarisc, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. solarisc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #1
    I just installed SSD X25 on my early 2008 mac book pro and the boot time was 1 min. It is even slower than my 7200RMP Fujitsu HDD.

    What the heck???

    I carbon copied my HDD to SSD, i know do a clean install of Leopard will make it boost faster but i don't want to since i have so many programs and info on my current computer.

    What do i do to improve its boost time and starting programs, etc...

    500 bucks and i am not too impressed :(
     
  2. theLimit macrumors 6502a

    theLimit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    up tha holler, acrost tha crick
    #2
    I'd try a full Time Machine backup, clean install OS X, then restore from Time Machine.
     
  3. HellDiverUK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, UK
    #3
    Something's not right. My Crucial SSD is much, much faster than the Scorpio Black it replaced.
     
  4. gianly1985 macrumors 6502a

    gianly1985

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #4
    I had the same issue after carbon copying osx on my ssd.

    Time machine install (from OSX Install Disc) resolved the issue, without the hassle of a fresh install.
     
  5. seepel macrumors 6502

    seepel

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #5
    If you don't have you're startup volume explicitly assigned I've heard that this can cause delays at boot time. I'd check this first.
     
  6. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #6
    Sounds like the carbon copy backup caused problems. Mine is perfectly fine.
     
  7. fibrizo macrumors 6502

    fibrizo

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #7
    Make sure to reset the pram when changing drives. I had that issue too.
     
  8. DarthSnuggles macrumors member

    DarthSnuggles

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #8
    Yea, I have an 80GB of the same drive, and it takes less than 10s...
     
  9. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #9
    Do you always carry aroudn an external HDD? I'm thinking about putting an intel SSD in my new MBP but 80GB is not really practical for me.
     
  10. Dan73 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #10
    I'll gladly take it! :D

    Anyways boot up, go to System Prefs > Startup Disk and select the hard drive, hit restart and check if that helps.
     
  11. acurafan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #11
    +1 and boot into safe mode to clear out your cache, then reboot normally. there's NO way it should be slower then your hdd.
     
  12. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
  13. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    Yes, they can. But I suspect that Dan73 has the right idea....
     
  14. DarthSnuggles macrumors member

    DarthSnuggles

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #14
    2.5" USB2 enclosures are cheap on Newegg. Like $10? Anyway, I always carry my laptop in a messenger bag or backpack, and I always have two 160gb drives for media in there.

    I have to admit though, once I upgrade to the new MBPs, I plan on removing the superdrive and having a spinner in place of that.
     
  15. Cycom macrumors 6502

    Cycom

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #15

    No, it's NOT slower than a 7200rpm hdd. Either yours is faulty or there was a problem with the initial copy of the OS. With my Intel ssd OSX boots in about 16-18 seconds.
     
  16. glavoie84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #16
    80GB gen 1 X25-M: 16 sec boot and I have to type my password.
     
  17. solarisc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #17
    Thank you for your responses

    1) I did reset pram. and started in safe mode, didn't help

    2) I have 130GB on 160GB that shouldn't slow it down right?

    3) I did use system start up disk

    4) Gainly can you specifically say more about install from Time machine and how woudl that help?

    5) How would i restore without any additional problems after fresh install since last time i ddid that they asked for SN and Lisence number etc.


    Thank you all again
     
  18. mmulin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #18
    4) I am not sure if this is the issue why a TM reinstall would work but basically it copies the files etc in sequence and consecutive blocks. Carbon copy does a block by block copy which basically leaves your drive fragmented.

    5) MacOSX never asks for SN & License. Perhaps you are talking about additional software. Anyway, TM reinstall should be the best option.
     
  19. solarisc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #19
    how exactly do i do time machine reinstall, mmulin?

    Thank u
     
  20. solarisc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #20
    one more thing, i haven't used time machine so does that mean they will restore EVERYTHING except for the OS files???
     
  21. HellDiverUK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, UK
    #21
    That's VERY full, especially for a SSD. I'd be concerned having 100GB on there.

    I run a 128GB SSD and have 71GB on it.
     
  22. mmulin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #22
    1) make a complete TM backup to an external disk
    2) start your computer from the MacOSX install DVD and choose the option to restore from TM. then choose the backup disk as source and your new drive as target
    3) enjoy a movie & you will be done when you return
     
  23. gianly1985 macrumors 6502a

    gianly1985

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #23
    Sure.
    1. Put your Snow Leopard Install Disc in your Mac and start the installation.

    2. As soon as it become possible, select the option depicted in the following pictures. (notice how I needed to take an ACTUAL photo of the screen 'cause you cannot take a screenshot)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    (sorry for the Italian but you get the picture)

    3. Select the backup you want to install from. (this requires you have done a full system time machine backup before)

    4. The resulting installation will be definetely "fresher" than a disk cloning.

    More info:

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?path=Mac/10.5/en/15638.html

    It worked for me and it's worth a shot before going for a (time wasting) fresh install.
     
  24. solarisc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #24
    thank you everyone esp Gainly for your time and effort and mmulin,

    So what i did, was just putting the installation disk in and just did the installation. Not using the time machine since it didn't give me that option. I went ahead anyway and voila after the installation, everything was there.(surprise, it thought it would wipe out my SSD but everything was there and now the bootup time is about 23 seconds. Is this reasonable?
     
  25. Ice Dragon macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #25
    I would say so, yes. 23 seconds is faster than 1 minute. Perhaps try clearing some stuff and cutting back the 130 GB and it should cut the time some more.
     

Share This Page