black screen with cursor if resuming immediately form sleep

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jamesraward, May 20, 2014.

  1. jamesraward macrumors regular

    jamesraward

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    #1
    I've battled with apple support on this one, but I'm having an incredibly annoying issue where my screen goes black with only a cursor (which I can move) for up to 30 seconds after resuming from sleep. I had other issues so my new mbp was replaced but I'm still having this one.

    any ideas? I've tried all the pram resets etc but it still happens.
     
  2. Hieveryone macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #2
    I had this too, but 10.9.3 seems to have fixed it so far. Have you updated?
     
  3. N3ILA macrumors member

    N3ILA

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Location:
    Pleasant Prairie, WI.
    #3
    The same thing happened to me today on a late 2013 rmbp 10.9.3. I moved the cursor as in touched the trackpad just as the rmbp was going to sleep and bam black screen for a while showing only a cursor which can still move. Which I have only noticed on 10.9.3. Maybe this also has to do with the strange pink or red apple logo flash when the rmbp boots.
     
  4. Tiguan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    #4
    I've this issue too. It's only started in the last couple of days. I was already upgraded to 10.9.3.

    It's a PITA, though not totally debilitating. :confused:
     
  5. jps24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #5
    I am also having this issue. It is very annoying and it also seemed to have just started in the past couple weeks. I cant say for sure if it was 10.9.3 or not.
     
  6. dgbarar macrumors regular

    dgbarar

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    #7
    Hi,

    I have this issue as well with my late 2013 15" RMBP with upgraded processor and separate graphics card since at least 10.9.2. Upgraded to 10.9.3 last week hoping it would resolve this problem but it did not.

    I went to the Apple store in Chandler, AZ to see if a similarly configured machine operating under 10.9.3 would exhibit the same problem. They did not.

    If I boot in safe mode the problem we are seeing does not happen. At this point I am uncertain if it software or hardware related.

    Cheers,

    Don Barar
     
  7. dgbarar macrumors regular

    dgbarar

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    #8
    Adobe Creative Cloud Appears to br Causing This Problem

    Hi,

    I have traced this problem on my machine to Adobe Creative Cloud. Are any of you that have a similar problem running this program?

    Don Barar
     
  8. wuush macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    #9
    I haven't noticed the issue recently. It seems it just vanished.
    But the only adobe product i'm running is Lightroom 5, does it use Creative Cloud?
     
  9. dgbarar macrumors regular

    dgbarar

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    #10
    HI W,

    Adobe Creative Cloud is a program that resides on your computer if you have any of the creative cloud products, e.g. Photoshop CC, Dreamweaver CC. It tells you when you have updates and maintains your subscription to the CC products. If Creative Cloud does open at least once per month then your are in violation of the CC agreement and your Creative Cloud software no longer functions.

    You will know if you have the Creative Cloud software app operating if you have a symbol that looks like infinity (sideways 8) in the tray in the upper left of your Mac.

    Don Barar
     
  10. wuush macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    #11
    then i have to answer no, because i just run Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5.4
     
  11. jameslmoser macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #12
    The only adobe product I have has is acrobat, and I have this problem regularly on 10.9.5 yet.
     
  12. OSX15 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Location:
    Cyberspace
    #13
    I have the exact same problem on my new 15 inch Macbook pro retina Mid 2014.. I am using creative cloud and a bunch of Adobe programs but not sure if this is the troublemaker.. if there is a fix for this, please let me know :cool:
     
  13. konradsa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    #14
    Haven't seen this since upgrading to 10.9.5, can anybody else confirm it seems fixed?
     
  14. joerick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    #15
    I'm still getting it on 10.9.5. I do have Creative Cloud installed, though.

    Does anyone know how to reliably recreate it? Then I might be able to confirm that Creative Cloud is the culprit.
     
  15. Bending Pixels macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #16
    Interesting...it appears that Creative Cloud may be the responsible app for this. Did a clean install yesterday (was testing PB3 of Yosemite) and didn't run into this issue until....reinstalled CC.

    Will post this over on Adobe's forums.
     
  16. Bending Pixels macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #17
    Just ran a quick test. Quit the Creative Clod...sorry...Cloud application so that the icon doesn't show in the menu bar. Let my rMBP go to a black screen, and then pressed the space bar to wake it up. No problems. Restart the CC application and do the same....an 8 second delay before the screen comes back.

    I'll post a note to Adobe's forums on this.
     
  17. trypto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    #18
    Bought a new mac book pro 2014
    got the same thing !!! also i upgraded to 10.9.5
    should i go to apple store for exchange ?
     
  18. konradsa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    #19

    No point, they all do it. Let's hope 10.10 finally fixes it.
     
  19. trypto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    #20
    So no need to exchange it ? It will have the same problem?
     
  20. trypto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    #21
    By the way its only with new 2014 MBP ? Cause i have a 2012 MBP on 10.9.4 and i dont have this problem !
     
  21. trypto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
  22. nobodyjustwalks, Sep 28, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2014

    nobodyjustwalks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    #23
    I guess Iʻm in....

    Iʻve actually noticed this behavior a handful of times on my mid 2014 15" rMBP w/ Iris Pro.

    Itʻll normally happen as the computer is just about to go to sleep.

    1) Immediately after the screen shuts off and the computer goes into sleep mode
    3) if you try to wake your computer by, lets say, touching your trackpad or keyboard, the screen will remain dark, only the mouse arrow displays, and your screen remains in this state
    3) you're able to move the mouse arrow around the screen, but you cannot exit out of the dark screen and bring up your password box.

    This lasts for exactly 30 seconds, no longer, no less. Iʻve tested this at 10, 15, and 20 seconds, and the computer stays frozen until youʻve waited 30 seconds.

    Once 30 seconds has passed, the password box automatically appears, if youʻve set to do so.

    **Hereʻs the interesting thing:

    In System Preferences > Energy Saver, if I uncheck "Prevent computer from sleeping automatically when the display is off" and attempt to wake the computer directly after the display has gone dark, the computer immediately wakes and displays my password box.

    **Therefore, my question to the members on this forum is simply:
    Is this normal behavior?

    Perhaps the computer is writing information to the disk before it goes into sleep mode?

    Since I can replicate the issue anytime before the 30 second mark, providing that "Prevent computer from sleeping automatically when the display is off" is left unchecked, is this simply the normal behavior for the operating system?

    FYI: I do not use any Adobe apps
     
  23. Bending Pixels macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #24
    I reported this bug to Adobe. They actually acknowledged it, and advised that a fix is coming with the upcoming updates to all of the Creative Cloud app's.
     
  24. konradsa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    #25
    Interesting, but I have this issue, and I don't use any Creative Cloud products.
     

Share This Page