Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

drewbugdad

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 27, 2018
I have a 2019 Mac Mini i5 with 16 GB RAM and 6 core i5 with 2 LG Ultrafine 4k displays and when using Microsoft Teams will hear the fan spin up, in most cases 20 - 30 minutes into my meeting. I am a complete novice when it comes to graphics cards but was wondering if the Blackmagic eGPU would help prevent that from happening. I am not a gamer and use no (other?) graphics intensive software. Obviously they aren't available through Apple at this time so I would have to get one from eBay but it's a lot of money to shell out if it won't make much, if any, difference. Thanks!

Alexis Noel

macrumors regular
Apr 27, 2020
Houston
The problem isn't with your iGPU.

Issue here is that Microsoft Teams is not fully optimized with MacOS, thus using more resources than need by pulling a high amount of your CPU, GPU, and RAM to run it. Several people have had this issue and it has not been confirmed as to whether or not Microsoft is working on resolving this.

An eGPU will not resolve this, as the more you have, the more it will pull. (In some cases, it will not even offload from your eGPU, rendering it as redundant.)

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
Re the BlackMagic GPU...
Didn't I read a few days' back that it was just discontinued?

Wowmail

macrumors regular
Jun 11, 2017
San Diego, California
What ever one you choose, Try to get a Vega 56 or higher, The older cards have boot issues. Also you can use an 3rd Party enclosure like a Sonnett.
Here is a great site to peruse.

This is Sonnett

The Mac Mini with a good EGPU performs like an iMac Pro. It is night and day.

I hope this helps.

Reactions: hagjohn

shaown

macrumors regular
Mar 24, 2011
As far as I know the only EGPU compatible with the LG Ultrafines is the Blackmagic?
-Shaown