Blizzards Diablo review? Does it run on Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Jae Hokes, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. Jae Hokes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #1
    I know Diablo 3 is on its way but i was curious what the game was actually about and does Diablo 2 run on a Mac and is it a multiplayer game? Just looking for some feedback
     
  2. cerote macrumors 6502a

    cerote

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #2
    Diablo 2 will run on anything below Lion. With Lion Apple removed ability to run PPC code; which is what Diablo 2 is ran on.

    Blizzard has a great habit of making games for Windows and OSX. They used to do Linux but they just stopped that a few years ago.

    Diablo 2 has multiplayer.
     
  3. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #4
    Diablo II & III:

    Fantasy based solo or multiplayer Role Playing dungeon crawler with multiplayer. Yes DII runs well on a Mac! (except not on OSX Lion, all previous OSX versions, yes) DIII should run great on new Macs.

    Role Playing= develop your character in a chosen class based on gaining experience and loot. ;)
     
  4. Sackvillenb macrumors 6502a

    Sackvillenb

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Canada! \m/
    #5
    Diablo 2 generally runs great on Mac (unless you have Lion), however, sometimes I find it crash prone...

    but Diablo 2 is a classic, I'd highly recommend it. But if you get it, get the battle chest as well (because Diablo 2 is way better with it's "Lord of Destruction" expansion pack). If you want to get into Diablo 2 now (since it's an old game), I wouldn't bother playing it without the expansion, quite frankly!
     
  5. Jae Hokes thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
  6. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #8
    Well you are not "out" regarding DIII on your Mac natively.

    And I realize this undercuts the purpose of using a Mac, but if you are running MacOS7, and are running Windows on bootcamp, you could always install the Windows version of DII in your Windows partition. (Now that is ironic, huh?) The Blizzard Battlechest packages are dual platform capable, Mac/Window installs. However, I don't know what versions of Windows it runs on, some or all? If I was to guess I'd say don't install it on anything older than WinXP.
     
  7. Jae Hokes thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #9
    Thats agood idea but i wont put windows on my mac until windows 8 comes out if i ever was to do it
     
  8. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #10
    My point partially was you can play Diablo III on your Lion/Mac if that is your type of game and I see no reason why it would not run well.
     
  9. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #11
    Just like the previous Diablo games and other Blizzard games Diablo III will be hybrid or multi platform supporting both Mac and PC and won't require Windows to run.
     
  10. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #12
    Why not just follow the link given and play with a Wineskin port and play on Lion with no Windows needed?
     

Share This Page