Blue screen with dual monitor only after installing 10.5.4 blundle update

Discussion in 'macOS' started by franz1999, Jul 6, 2008.

  1. franz1999 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    My MBP was updated from 10.5.2 to 10.5.4 (combined update) this morning and, after the installation finished, it rebooted into a blue screen. I restarted it several times and always went into blue screen.

    Now, the interesting part is that this is not the "blue screen after install" problem others are experiencing. If I disconnect the external monitor during restart and wait for OS X to start everything works fine. After OS X starts properly I can even reconnect the external monitor and it works fine. In fact I am writing this post from my MBP using the external monitor right now.

    Since some document on the Apple Support website was suggesting to remove the file ApplicationEnhancer.bundle in System/Library/SystemConfiguration when experiencing blue screens after the install of 10.5.4, I did look in that folder for that file but it's not there...

    Is there anything you can think about that I could do to fix this annoying problem?

    Thanks,
     
  2. Johnathon03 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #2
    I was having the same problem on my Mac Pro.

    I gave up and reinstalled the operating system and upgraded it to 10.5.3 but the problem persisted once I updated. Once I removed EAPOLController.bundle from the folder you suggested there were no more startup problems. Im feelin bold so I'm upgrading to 10.5.4 again. I'll let you know if there are any problems.
     
  3. Johnathon03 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #3
    10.5.4 reintroduced the problem but this time removing the file did not help.
    Disconnecting the monitor did though. Oh well I don't resart that often anyway.
    :eek:
     
  4. shaunymac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #4
    my mbp is having the same problems. However, my powerbook which I check for updates at the same time as the mbp, installed the updates fine. Im not sure what the issue is. Like you have mentioned, with all of the issuses everyone is expieriencing with 10.5.4, i think I might just forget about this.
     
  5. franz1999 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for sharing your experience... newbie question... when you say that you reinstalled the OS, does it mean you lost all the apps you had previously installed or can they be maintained somehow?
     
  6. franz1999 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #6
    Yeah , I don't restart very frequently either... only when Firefox or iTunes crash my entire OS (which is at least once every couple of days or so)... don't even get me started on those two pieces of software... sometimes I wonder why I keep using them...
     
  7. franz1999 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #7
    I wish someone from Apple recognized the issue though and tried to find a fix. It's quite annoying having to unplug the external monitor, wait for the boot to complete and plug it back in...
     
  8. Johnathon03 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #8
    If you do an archive and install (click options or customize when your installing the OS its on the lower left) it saves your users and all the apps I use. Both Logic and Final Cut didn't deed to be reinstalled so it had to transfer things besides the thing just in the applications folder. I did however have to reinstall Parallels... So some you may have to reinstall, also you have to have enough free space to be able to archive and install.
     
  9. shaunymac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #9
    well i just tried to update my mbp once again and got the same crap..the cycles of blue screens. This is starting to get frustrating, esp. since I can't make an appointment tomorrow bc of people are standing outside the store waiting for some new phone or something :D. I have an appointment for saturday around 3 central, so if the "genius" that i speak with gives me a good answer or a solution I will update you all.
     
  10. shaunymac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #10
    I wonder if this has anything to do with this iPhone update? Same servers? Just a thought.
     
  11. arcamedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #11
    me too! aargh

    I have a MBP 17 2.6 and its got exact same issue. I gfound zapping pram 3 times at reboot makes machine boot (sometimes) else its start with no monitor attached and then plug in after. I at first thought this was due to some "APE" based software enhancement from logitech, but unistalling logitech control center did nothing. I am at a loss to solve this..moreover I dont fined this occurs during all reboots. It does seem to always start when I first turn the computer on in the morning. Help apple - help...please post anything...I cant find another post discussing this just us few users...anyone out there! :eek:
     
  12. arcamedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #12
    called apple and...

    ok called apple. And got to nice tech (very helpful and sounded like she wanted to help) then she spoke to product specialist whom stated that apple was not responsible for it based on the fact that I have tired otherbrand monitors. in other words they would only deal with it if I had a cinema dispaly! I told them I tried with a dell 19, 2 dell 24's, and a sharp 19! that did not matter. THe kind woman whom answered however is trying for another support rep to solve my problem. We will see how that goes..... come on apple..show me why you are #1 on support....this is not due to a monitor brand and even if it was and all 4 montors I tried exhibit this issue on startup (from cold start--ie off) then it needs to be fixed...bottom line is its probably the nvida chip! on hold...the saga continues... :cool:
     
  13. arcamedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #13
    and what if that apple user wants a projector...do they buy a cinema projector??

    I am still on hold...but just tried booting it with my infocus projector. that too exhibits problem!!! gee guess apple users cant use projectors unless they buy the non-existant apple cinema projector! though that would be cool! :apple:
     
  14. arcamedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #14
    ok next product specialist much more reasonable

    ok after needing a second product specialist after the first one decided apple no longer supported third party monitors...

    THe second technician said that apple is aware of the issue...and that in a future update it would be addressed. The work around offered was one of two options 1) reinstall os again and dont do 10.5.4 update instead download manually 10.5.3 and stop there. or 2) keep yanking the monitor cord until apple gets around to fixing it (pull cord prior to startup and re-insert after startup completes - seems to work)

    no I dont like either of these options (who would) - but I am most concerned cause I have a new 17 MBP that is less than a week old so I could return it for a new one. but would new one still exhibit it? I dont know nor did the tech. I have a 17" MPB with 2.6 ghz process hires screen and 4 gig of ram..what do others experiencing this blue screen external monitor issue have? please let me know..old mac, newer, newest? what kind external monitors are you using etc... ALSO I have noticed the problem only seems to occur from off when turning the computer on a new. If I reboot it seems to be ok..do others see that? or is that just me?

    hope all this info helps someone..at least no to stop searching indefinitely as I did for a solution. Boy I must have spent forever going down the logitech path before I realized it had nothing to do with it!

    My biggest frustration is that apple needs to post alerts that they are aware of issues..if anyone sees a note of this on apples website please post it! I was told by apple that they dont post those until they are resolved! hard to imagine why- it certainly would reduce traffic to the call centers!

    comeon apple lets get this fixed fast - this is annoying issue! Especially for people like me that constantly move around and reboot etc.
     
  15. Johnathon03 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #15
    Thanks, at least there is now hope that it will be fixed.
    I find that sometimes its enough to just turn the monitor off with the acer I have. Also, if you have a FireWire 800 HD, turning that off till it boots to the login screen seems to help.
     
  16. franz1999 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #16
    LOL!
    I did buy the ACD 23" but found out that the rendition of white areas was poor to say the least (sparkling dots all over white areas).
    Some people on this very forum said "it's done on purpose to render pictures better"... I called Apple and they admitted that they have recently changed the manufacturing process and this causes an excess of this sparkling effect. The following day I returned my ACD with no restocking fee and I am now a proud owner of a cheaper and beautiful Dell 24" that doesn't cause me a headache every 2 hours of usage...

    But it apparently causes my laptop to not be able to reboot after installing 10.5.4... I wonder if they added a non-Mac external monitor detection system that makes the laptop refuse to work...

    I didn't call apple because I thought they were going to play the card of the non-Apple branding for my external monitor and my extra memory... Com'on Apple! Wake up! This OS is as stable as a castle made of playing cards... if I open my iTunes and dare using coverflow it crashes. If I connect my monitor to the laptop before rebooting it doesn't even start... all issues related to the graphic card by the way... hint hint...
     
  17. arcamedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #17
    more news

    for us it was about connections. the dells simply offer more connections in the rear (hdmi for one). the other funny thing is that the dells have better reviews. I considered cinema as well but reviews were lackluster compared to it. Can you try yours with another brand monitor as well? to see if it is same. have you tried different resolutions? cause heres the thing...

    I went ahead and spent the last 10 hours reinstalling leopard and then doing 10.5.3....and it still is there..so 2nd apple specialist was wrong! this is not a 10.5.4 issue! this is more...was it there in 10.5.2? ugh apple!

    So I am now double guessing the apple guys response to me..he may have been looking at another issue (like logitechs) and not realizing mine...which would put us back in nowhere land with apple! SO I will call again later tomorrow (like I got time for this) and see what the story....it would be great if you too could call and see if they concur with these findings. why did they say 10.5.3 did not have issue!!! what a waste of my time! anyhow...here is to praying that you have some luck...if you can try...or anybody out there.

    Also what kinda machine you got? mine is 17" mbp 2.6 hires led 4gig ram - just tryting to find similarities. I am using for most testing the 24" dell set at a res of 1920x1200.
     
  18. shaunymac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #18

    now that is just a little funny. the past couple of times i had video issues with my mbp, instead of keeping a acd behind the genius bar, what do you think they pulled out, a no namer. That is crazy they wouldnt acknowledge you bc of a dell monitor.

    as far as my situation goes, i have a 2.4 15" santa rosa and i just had to repair the permissions and i was golden. sorry to hear all of you are still having problems.
     
  19. franz1999 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #19
    On 10.5.2 (which I got installed with my 15" MBP when i purchased it) I didn't have any issues. I skipped 10.5.3 because of some issues they were talking about with CS3 and then by accident I upgraded to 10.5.4 (wish I never did it since it brought more problems than solutions...)

    I feel like Apple is not able to manage this operating system anymore. I hope 10.6 will bring some serious fixes because right now I have a machine that I am always afraid to reboot and that cannot handle anything too complex (iTunes and Firefox being the biggest offenders).

    About my machine, here are the specs:

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro4,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.6 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP41.00C1.B03
    SMC Version: 1.27f1
    Serial Number: xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled

    GeForce 8600M GT:

    Chipset Model: GeForce 8600M GT
    Type: Display
    Bus: PCIe
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 512 MB
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x0407
    Revision ID: 0x00a1
    ROM Revision: 3212
    Displays:
    Color LCD:
    Display Type: LCD
    Resolution: 1440 x 900
    Depth: 32-bit Color
    Built-In: Yes
    Core Image: Hardware Accelerated
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Quartz Extreme: Supported
    DELL 2408WFP:
    Resolution: 1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz
    Depth: 32-bit Color
    Core Image: Hardware Accelerated
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Quartz Extreme: Supported
    Rotation: Supported


    Good luck tomorrow and let us know if you get any interesting info...

    Sorry I don't have the time to call Apple. They didn't reply my post on their stupid support forum (what's the point they even have a support forum if they don't handle requests of help?) and I know they will blame my non-Apple memory or my non-Apple monitor.
     
  20. arcamedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #20
    question

    Hi shaunymac - what kind of monitor do you have? my new testing today shows that 10.5.2 (at least booted to an external firewire drive) does not exhibit the problem! I have opened a case with Dell as well in hopes that one of them gets to the bottom of this. Dell said if i sent them my computer they would test it. boy that sounds like a great option...not! They are still researching it further.
     
  21. shaunymac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #21
    arcamedia- Wow, this is now my third attempt at posting a reply. First my iPhone kicked me out, then the power went out at just as I was the submit buttton, and i was just about to say the only thing that was going to prevent me from submitting this one, since im on the mbp, is network issue and as soon as that popped it my mind i heard a chime to tell me I need to update my ae firmware. Werid. Anyways, the only time mine is ever hooked up to an external is whenever I use it as my Mac Media Machine, or occansionly I will use that setup whenever im lazy but not since 10.5.4. However, since we stated talking about all of this and someone mentioned downgrading back to 10.5.3, I had problems with it waking it from sleep, using in clamshell mode, with my bluetooth mouse and keyboard. I took it to the the "genius" and he pulled out a beat up no namer external and he was stumped. Then whenever I told him some of you guys were having the same problems, he dug deeper on his mbp, thats a litltle over kill:D, and then saw where apple had acknowledge the problem and was working on it. So unless you think it is truley your video card crapping out on you, just keep it and wait for an update, as bad as that sucks. My friend just sent his off 2 weeks ago and now he is having to send it off again. His video card is really shot, if yours isnt I would just keep it and see if its sofware, heck just put tiger on it. All of those commercials of mac bashing vista might be coming back around to bite them now.
     
  22. kdf42 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #22
    shaunymac said "heck just put tiger on it. "

    I'm having the problem in Tiger! Was going to upgrade to eliminate the
    problem but now I'm not so sure. :(

    I can hang my mac by playing a video in iTunes and plugging in
    the external monitor. iTunes also gets flaky with the onscreen controls over
    the video, sometime it crashes, sometimes it just stutters. I read
    somewhere else that deleting the iTunes plists out of /library/preferences
    seems to help. It's as if com.apple.iTuneshelper.plist gets corrupted.
    Can't quite figure it out. My external monitor is an Acer 24". Forgive
    me, it was on clearance at best buy for under $200.

    Kevin

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro3,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
    Memory: 3 GB
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP31.0070.B07
     
  23. jdanko333 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #23
    I'm having the same problem over here. Blue screen at startup with Mac Book Pro and Dell Monitor. Thanks for all the info. The only way I found around it was unplugging at startup. If I find any fixes I will be sure to post. I will also voice my issue with Apple. I figure the more they hear about it the sooner they may come up with a fix.
     
  24. arcamedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #24
    update from arcamedia

    Ok so I have been dealing with Apple on this for quite sometime...even spoke with dell. Apple believes I have a "hardware" problem and is therefore replacing my new mac book pro with a like machine. I am still sckeptical if not positive it wont be any different. But Apple being aware of my concern states this is the first step towards fixing it if it is software related. I should receive my new replacement sometime in the next 4 days or so. When I do I will test and let Apple and the gang here know. Also Dell was semi cooperative and wanted to send Apple a monitor or two to test with...Apple was not interested at this point and stated that they had dell monitors for testing anyway. Just an FYI here is what dell emailed me back on the still open issue:

    "Adam,

    After explaining the situation to our engineers, they have informed me that they will not contact Apple to obtain the equipment.

    You mentioned before that you had a contact you had spoken to at Apple. I am willing to send a monitor to them if they need a test part (I believe you said they don’t have one of our monitors to test with). If you have someone I can get in touch with there, let me know.

    Regards,"

    the saga continues....
    :cool:
     
  25. shaunymac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #25
    wow, arcamedia, I feel for you man. Is it even usable without the external display. Hopefully the new one will get you fixed up. ;)
     

Share This Page