Blurry Screen with eMac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Christine1234, Dec 11, 2011.

  1. Christine1234 macrumors regular

    Christine1234

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #1
    My eMac G4 is having intermittent blurry screen problems. It's not just in Safari, it happens with my documents and everything else that's typed too, and I've tried adjusting the resolution with no luck. The dock and my desktop aren't affected. I've tried posting about this twice in the Mac Basics and help section, but the first time, several months ago, no one responded and this time I was directed to come here. It's becoming more frequent. Any ideas or thoughts on how I might cure this?
     
  2. adcx64 macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #2
    The eMacs were plagued by bad capacitors. This might be the problem in this case, or the flyback transformer on the CRT.
     
  3. Christine1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Christine1234

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #3
    Thanks, I'll see if I can get replacement parts. I know how to work on printed circuit boards.
     
  4. adcx64 macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
  5. Goftrey macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #5
    If it is the flyback transformer, are you getting a high pitched squeal coming from the eMac as well? If not, as adcx64 said, it'll most definitely be the capacitors :(
     
  6. Christine1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Christine1234

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #6
    No, there's no squeal, just a blurry screen. I'll try replacing the capacitors first.

    Many thanks! :)
     
  7. adcx64 macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #7
    Watch out when working with the CRT. They contain dangerous voltages that can kill you...
     
  8. Christine1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Christine1234

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #8
    I have another computer (iMac g3) that can be used for a few weeks. From what I've read, if you wait a few weeks, the voltages go down to a point where they're no longer dangerous. That sounds like a good plan, even though I don't plan to mess with the CRT.
     
  9. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    Which model eMac and which OS version? Got pictures?
     
  10. bigeasy_uk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    Leamington Spa, England
    #10
    Apparently newer emacs have a bleeder resistor built into the flyback, but they can fail, so please be careful. When I'm working in my arcade machines, or even just changing a game board I'm always weary of the monitor as they are always exposed and even if I don't electrocute myself I don't want to break the neck, 28" monitors are getting rarer and cost a fortune to ship!

    Here's a good link I found that might be useful to you:
    http://www.peachpit.com/articles/article.aspx?p=759704&seqNum=2
     
  11. Christine1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Christine1234

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #11
    Yikes! It's a 1.4 GHz PowerPc G4 from 2006. I didn't know not to wear a grounding wire, I always wear one when I stick my hands into a computer or any circuit. (I worked on circuit boards in research and development in the military at one time.)

    This may be a little more of a hazard than I'd care to deal with. I do have other Macs that can be used, it's just that this the one I always use and it has everything on it. I'd have to get some software to get the other ones to accept all the files that are on this machine.
     
  12. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #12
    You need a CRT discharge tool and can even easily make your own since it seems like you don't have one.

    Taken from this page I have included the photo and info below but I encourage you to read that whole page.

    "If you do not have a discharge tool, you can use an insulated screwdriver attached to a wire lead with alligator clips on both ends as shown here. You should also use this discharge method as a follow-up after using the older Apple CRT discharge tool to ensure that the CRT is discharged."

    CRT Discharge Procedure Overview

    These are the major steps for discharging a CRT:

    1. Set up a CRT-safe electrical area.
    2. Remove the housing.
    3. Attach the discharge tool to the ground lug on a built-in monitor. Attach the discharge tool to the metal chassis on a stand-alone monitor.
    4. Touch the discharge tool probe to the anode aperture.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Christine1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Christine1234

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #13
    I could easily make that tool, thanks. This project is starting to sound just a little intimidating with all that voltage.

    I have a grape iMac G3 400 DV slot loading computer and just maxed out the RAM in it few months back. It's running Panther, but I picked up the retail disks for Tiger this week and can put that on it, then look around for Windows 2008 for Macs and put all the files from this machine on it. Then this eMac can sit for months and the voltage can dissapate before I open it up.

    What do you think? Yes, I know they're older computers, but I love the old Macs.
     
  14. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #14
    I don't think they make Windows 2008 for Macs.
     
  15. Christine1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Christine1234

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #15
    I meant Word 2008 for Macs. Sorry about that.
     
  16. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #16
    If you make that tool and use it properly and with the proper type of screw driver you can discharge the harmful buildup and then you could touch it all you wanted.

    When you're intimidated and worried it's a lot easier to get hurt or do something wrong. Just relax and read up on it in that link I gave above. If there is anything at all you're unsure about just ask here and I will respond.

    You can do it soldier! :)
     
  17. Christine1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Christine1234

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
  18. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #18
    I cannot emphasize enough though how much you need to be sure you do everything 100% right. If I were you I would read the instructions at least 3 times and then visualize it in your mind before you do it. It may sound a bit anal but it will keep you safe to enjoy the rewards of your efforts.
     
  19. Christine1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Christine1234

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #19
    I plan to do just that, and probably read the instructions a few more times besides. :) I've worked on printed circuit boards and electronic equipment, but never on anything that had voltage on it at the time. Staying alive sounds pretty good, I'll be careful.
     
  20. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #20
    I keep thinking of things.. damn sporadic mind.

    Since it's not performing perfectly and you seem to have other Macs I would keep it unplugged and at least once a day press the power button with it still unplugged until the repair. This is a good extra precaution to have even less of a charge to discharge with that DIY tool.

    Thats an official Apple repair document though so it's info and the DIY tool can be trusted.
     
  21. Christine1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Christine1234

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #21
    Can do, thanks. And I downloaded and printed off the eMac user's guide, too. It has pictures of the CRT and what not to touch.
     
  22. Christine1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Christine1234

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #22
    OK, I just bought the set of capacitors on eBay. There are four sellers selling these sets specifically for the g4 eMacs, so this must be a common problem, like someone said. It gave a delivery date of by January 12th.

    In the meantime, I have the RAM maxed out on that iMac g3. Should I put Tiger on it, or stick with Panther? I've heard Panther is more stable, but then other people have recommended Tiger. What do you think?
     
  23. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
  24. adcx64 macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
  25. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #25
    Yes, Tiger! Highest OS for G3's and it will be slightly faster and has more features.
     

Share This Page