boiling Mac

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Qabas, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. Qabas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Oman
    #1
    heyo :apple:
    whats up ^.^

    hmm without further intros -.-

    I recently noticed that my Macbook pro is getting very(and I mean VERY) hot immediately when I start using it -.-

    i've had it for almost 2 years<<<looks amazing(kept it nice and clean) but its HOT >.<

    About this Mac
    Mac OS X
    Version 10.6.8
    Processor 2.66 GHz intel core 2 Duo
    Memory 4GB 1067 MHz DDR3
    Startup Disk Macintosh HD
    TM and c 1983-2011 Apple inc.
    All rights reserved




    NEWBIE alert *beeep* LOL:D
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Install iStat Pro to get accurate temp readings, as "boiling hot" isn't very specific. It's normal for Macs to get hot to the touch under heavy workloads.
     
  3. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #3
    Don't worry we can tell, do as GGJ said and get some readings for the temps.

    He said this happens immediately, assuming regardless of workload.
     
  4. Qabas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Oman
    #4
    I downloaded this iStat thing a few days ago but I don't know how to use it...
    how could I get it to show the temp reading?:confused:
    >.<
     
  5. ljx718 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #5
    i was going to sugest to open it up and clean the dust out of the fans, but after reading that, i dont think youd be comfortable doing that
     
  6. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #6
    i would recommend iStat Nano: http://www.islayer.com/apps/istatnano/

    download that and install it. if you then move the mouse over it you can choose temperatures.
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    If you installed it, just go to the Dashboard to see the readings. If no temp readings are showing, click the "i" in the upper left corner to select which sections are showing.
     
  8. Qabas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Oman
    #8

    LOL @ "don't worry, we can tell"
    workload? hmmmm i'm not sure what u call(checking emails and facebook)
    I don't think its a heavy load on Mac -.-
    so yeah as u said "regardless of workload"
    :)
     
  9. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #9
    emails and Facebook = low load, for almost any Mac, yes.

    Any luck with iStat Nano and getting those temperatures?
     
  10. Qabas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Oman
    #10
    wait! what?? open it?? LOL u mean the screws and stuff??? interesting..
    I CAN do that but do u really think its gonna work? I think i'll end up destroying it<<or at least making it worst
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Yes, I know, but it could be a case of a runaway process that the OP isn't aware of unless they view all processes in Activity Monitor. It makes sense to get accurate temps to make sure it's not just a case of perception, then move on from there.
     
  12. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #12
    My guess would be that this is not a good idea for you.

    Please find temperature readings.
     
  13. Qabas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Oman
    #13
    yessss
    TEMPS
    HD: Macintosh 35
    CPU: 70
    Enclosure base:35
    Enclosure base2:35
    Enclosure base3:34
    Heatsink B:58
    Northbridge:47

    FANS
    5431rpm
     
  14. heyimandy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #14
    That's considered boiling?
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    1. Launch Activity Monitor
    2. Change "My Processes" at the top to "All Processes"
    3. Click on the CPU column heading once or twice, so the arrow points downward (highest values on top).
    4. Click on the System Memory tab at the bottom.
    5. Take a screen shot of the whole Activity Monitor window, then scroll down to see the rest of the list, take another screen shot
    6. Post your screenshots.

    By the way, your temps are well within the normal operating range.
     
  16. greytmom macrumors 68040

    greytmom

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #16
    Fans are running a bit high though - wondering if this thing is full of dust.
     
  17. AlexBass macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    #17
    Those are very normal temps. My computer often gets up to around 85-95, but that's when I'm hosting a server, watching an HD yt video and playing call of duty at the same time.

    If you want to reduce the temperatures, may I suggest Arctic Silver 5 or download smcFanControl to change the speed of the fan.
     
  18. Qabas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Oman
    #18
    ok ^_^
     

    Attached Files:

  19. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #19
    As I suspected, you have a runaway process causing the heat. This may help you resolve it:

    http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20100713190059936
     
  20. Qabas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Oman
    #20
    btw if i tuned my AC off then this Mac is gonna work as a heater -.-
    I should probably open it to get it cleaned..
    the fans are making loud noises
     
  21. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #21
    It's very unlikely that your Mac needs cleaning. The culprit is the runaway DirectoryService process. Follow the link I posted to resolve that issue, and your heat and fans should return to normal.

    I recently opened my non-unibody MBP after over 4 years of constant use and travel. There was almost no dust inside.... certainly not enough to affect temperatures at all.
     
  22. Big-TDI-Guy, Jul 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2012

    Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #22
    You don't have to open it, blowing compressed or canned air into vents may work well enough alone.

    I've seen enough dust, pet hair inside some laptops to build a new pet, and that has a dramatic effect on their cooling.

    First step is path of least resistance, as it should be. Save the screwdriver and thermal compound for later!

    GGJ - I disagree with lack of dust, it heavily depends on the user and environment. People with pets, children, smokers, have forced hot air heating, and those who cook greasy foods often can have MASSIVE obstructions in eir cooling system. I suspect yours is clean due to you being an educated user, and is not representative of the masses.

    Not disagreeing with the runaway process bit, just on the dust theory bit.
     
  23. Qabas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Oman
    #23
    Screen shot 2012-07-13 at 00.31.23.png

    Screen shot 2012-07-13 at 00.23.42.png

    I didn't get a thing from that link man -.-
    I downloaded dnsmasq but whaaat? its all complicated(I mean the procedure on the link)
    I couldn't understand it<<how am I supposed to do it -.-
    what if i took my laptop to the nearest apple store? would they do all of that for me?
     
  24. Qabas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Oman
    #24
    ok ^.^
    if it got worse then I shall open it n find the unexpected :p
     
  25. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #25
    1. Open Finder and click "Go", then "Go To Folder" on the Menu Bar
    2. In the window that pops up, type the following: /etc
    3. Press the "Go" button
    4. Scroll down to the file named: hosts
    5. Right-click on that file and Open With > TextEdit
    6. In TextEdit, press Command-A to select all, then Command-C to copy
    7. Paste the contents in a reply to this post.
     

Share This Page