Boot Camp Problems.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by fifthmanstandin, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. fifthmanstandin, Jan 20, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2014

    fifthmanstandin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #1
    Hi all.

    I'm having a problem with bootcamp and I'm at my wits end.

    It started today when I decided that I wanted to reinstall windows. That was my first mistake.

    Specs: Mac Pro 3.1. Two hardrives, one running mac and one running windows 7. I should note that I recently upgraded the mac hard drive to OS X 10.8.5 so that I could utilize a non-EFI graphics card. This is about the 10th time I've done a install of windows through bootcamp and have never had issues. I decided prior to doing this that I'd take out the new card and re-install the old GTX mac graphics card to prevent any possible graphical issues that might occur. After doing that I booted up the mac hard drive, went to bootcamp and selected windows hard drive and let bootcamp do it's thing. I noticed that the new 10.8.5 interface with bootcamp was a little difference but essentially the same thing. The disc in question is Windows 7 Ultimate with SP1. I've used this same disc plenty of times without issue. As soon as it finishes the format it kills all programs, goes to a log out/reboot screen, restarts (pretty normal) and then suddenly....black screen with white cursor. Thinking it was a fluke I restarted the computer with a hard restart from the button. It booted back to the black screen. Odd. I hard restarted it again and held the alt key to bring it to the EFI boot screen (I think that's the right name) and was given the option for the mac hard drive and the rescue partition. I selected the mac hard drive and it boots back to mac just fine. I thought it odd that it's not showing the Windows hard drive at the EFI screen but maybe that's because the install isn't finished and the mac drivers aren't installed. Wash rinse repeat about 6 times. No dice. I thought ok, maybe I can make a bootable usb drive for windows. I followed a guide for that which involved me installing rEFIit utility. I used a micro sd card in a usb adaptor and formatted it with FAT32 to make it bootable (I assume that's how it works). I modified the file that prevents BootCamp from giving the 'make bootable usb drive' for windows so that I could use BootCamp to make the usb drive install. Followed the instructions. No dice. rEFIit upon boot gives the option to boot from usb but gives an error that kills it before it lets it boot, oddly enough in the rEFIit EFI boot screen I can't boot to the mac partition either. Not sure what's going on there. I thought 'ok scratch that lets go back to the disc issue'. So I got a friend's copy of windows and the dvd drive stopped reading. Like all of the sudden. Wouldn't even read an audio cd. Tried burning a test dvd and got an error message with about 4 different dvd media. Clearly the drive crapped out. Went to best buy and got an HP dvd drive and sata/molex adaptor to power it. Plugged the drive up and tested it. looks fine, works good, read everything. Thinking maybe the fluke came from a failing dvd drive the whole time I started up bootcamp and attempted to go through the usual install process with both dvd's of windows. Neither worked. Same black screen with a white flashing cursor. Left it on for an hour. No change. Every time I tried, same deal. At this point through all the googling and problem solving I'm at my wits end. I can only assume it's something about upgrading to 10.8.5 because never once did I have this issue with Snow Leopard. Please someone help me, please. I'm at the end of my rope.

    Edit/Update: It looks like it's now going to a white screen with an apple logo after I try bootcamp with the disc. It stays there forever. If I hard restart it goes to a black screen with a white blinking cursor and stays there indefinitely. The only way to get back to mac is to hold alt on startup and select the mac hard drive.
     
  2. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #2
    The Boot Camp version in ML 10.8.5 is 5.0 which only supports 64-bit Windows 7 and 8, but no official Win 8 drivers support for MP 3,1. So your MP is limited to install only 64-bit Windows 7 under Boot Camp 5. Did you use 32-bit or 64-bit Win 7 installer since you did not mention which version?
     
  3. fifthmanstandin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
  4. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #4
    Then do you have any PCIe cards other than the GPU installed? It is a known fact that certain hardware components could prevent Windows from booting or installation.
     
  5. fifthmanstandin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    Nope. Just the gtx video card that the Mac pro came with.
     
  6. fifthmanstandin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    Just as a couple more trouble-shooty points:

    This is the first time I've ever done this on Mountain Lion and the first time I've ever had this problem. I'm assuming there's a limitation or problem with ML.

    Three hard drives are plugged in: 1) the mac drive 2) the windows drive 3) a third drive that I store things on. Don't know if this effects anything, figured I'd mention.

    The new dvd drive is an HP DVD 1265i and is 24 speed, in case that matters.

    The only card plugged into to the system is the old original GTX graph card.

    1 have the same white screen/black screen problems regardless of install disc.

    I could not boot the usb drive with windows on it for some reason.
     
  7. fifthmanstandin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    So I got desperate and assumed that going back to snow leopard on the mac drive and attempting a bootcamp install to the dedicated windows drive would be simple enough.

    So the plan was:

    1) boot the snow leopard disc and install a new copy of OS X on the dedicated mac drive
    2) Once complete, open up disk util, wipe the dedicated windows drive, put in the windows 7 disc, run boot camp and install windows
    3) Once complete, verify windows is good to go by booting into that drive. Make a backup copy of that windows drive just for safety
    4) Boot over to the mac hard drive and upgrade to Mountain Lion to utilize the drivers for the new graphics card.
    5)Verify that the install was good. Re-install the new graphics card. Boot over to windows, setup the graph card drivers and be good to go

    i got about as far as step 2. The bootcamp installer restarted the computer. It went to a white screen with an apple logo that would flash between a folder with question mark occasionally or a circle with a line through it (like a 'no' symbol) and do nothing. Which makes me worry whether or not the windows drive is even good anymore.

    I reviewed my newegg history and see that I ordered the drive in 2008, so I guess it's getting up there in years. Just to verify if the drive is bad I'm doing a zero of the drive through disk util currently. I don't know if the drive is bad or not because disk util sees it no matter the formatting options and when I was in Mountain Lion I could see the drive on the left pane of Finder.

    I'm running out of ideas guys.
     
  8. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    Boot something like Fedora or Debian, open Disk Utility and check for bad sectors on your Windows drive.

    Not sure you can install Windows from a USB drive, I've tried it a few different ways on my MacPro5,1, doesn't like it. Interestingly though it does let me install It from a USB Apple SuperDrive when I have "mbasd=1" in kernel flags within com.apple.Boot.plist in OS X, but it has to be directly attached; didn't like it when I tried through my Cinema Display.
     
  9. fifthmanstandin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #9
    To make sure I'm not a complete idiot, which is totally possible, in theory I should, given that I have a dedicated windows drive, be able to insert a windows 7 64 bit install disc and hold alt at startup, select the disc and it should begin the process of installation once I point it to the appropriate hard drive right?

    I'm at that point where it's been awhile since I've done a boot camp install and I'm starting to doubt my memory and ability just in case I've royally screwed something up.

    I know nothing about fedora/debian, how would I go about that process?
     
  10. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #10
    Do the Apple disk utilities display S.M.A.R.T. info? There's an error log on the drive itself which is far more useful than exercising the drive.

    If not, grab "Hiren's BootCD" from the link at http://www.hirensbootcd.org/download/

    Burn the CD and boot from it - select "Linux based rescue environment" from the first menu, and just hit return to take the defaults from the second menu.

    When the desktop appears, double-click the "Disk Health" app icon on the desktop.

    Select the disk drive in the app window by single-clicking it.

    From the "Device" menu select "View Details", then select the "Attributes" tab. This shows you the device errors and status. If a line is highlighted in red, worry about that. If you hover over the names of the attributes a balloon popup will explain what it means.

    You can also run the disks built-in tests.
     
  11. fifthmanstandin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #11
    ok, i'm currently in the last hour of the zero on the windows disk. will this zero invalidate anything you've just said to do?

    I'm currently burning the cd but it will be an hour before the zero finishes so that I can do this.
     
  12. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #12
    Usually with windows 7 after you partition the drives it copies the data over, expands it which usually takes the longest time of the whole thing to get to 100%. Only after the installing windows then I believe there is an updating windows part does it ask to restart then do so on an automatic countdown.

    Is your optical drive plugged into the master IDE port on the cable and jumper set to cable select?
     
  13. fifthmanstandin, Jan 21, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2014

    fifthmanstandin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #13
    um, I don't know. can you clarify that process for me? because the dvd drive not booting properly on startup would make sense.

    edit, actually i just remembered. the new dvd drive is plugged in as SATA to the mobo and the 5 pin molex is adapted to power the sata connection. I should have mentioned that.

    edit 2: I just looked at the back of it, there are no pins with the bridge thing to set the master/slaver status of it. just the sata connection and the sata power connection.
     
  14. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #14
    The S.M.A.R.T. data will be fine (and will include any errors logged during the zero).

    By the way, here's an example of the attributes tab:

    [​IMG]
    (click to enlarge)​
     
  15. fifthmanstandin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #15
    Ok so burn the disc, insert it, shut down, hold alt at start, start the disc, and then run the disc's utilities? Are you going to need screenshots?
     
  16. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #16
    No, just tell us which (if any) lines are highlighted.

    You could also do the "Perform Tests" and run the "Short test" (a couple of minutes). That will do a good diagnostic of the disk ("Long test" is the short test plus a full surface scan, and can take hours).

    Re-check the attributes after the short test.
     
  17. fifthmanstandin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #17
    I'm in the process of just finishing up the zero and will jump on that. I want to thank you all for not being dicks. I posted to another very well known forum that I have posted to for more than five years and a moderator of all people copped an attitude and offered no help. thanks a lot guys. time and time again you guys come through

    will have results soon.
     
  18. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #18
    With the 3,1 I'm sure bootcamp works off the IDE ports for the two optical drives. You are booting in bios legacy mode ATA-133 so only sleds 1-2 and the two IDE ports are active. If you don't have an IDE optical disc you may need to use a usb like a SuperDrive or do a 7 usb stick install.

    Your disk is fine - you switching your burner to a SATA model which legacy mode will not detect is the root of you pulling your hair out!
     
  19. fifthmanstandin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #19
    I'm confused, if that was the case why would there be so many how to's online for installing a 3rd party sata drive, even for 3.1? And i thought windows couldn't be installed using an external usb optical drive? is there a work around? because I can't put my hands on an IDE drive anytime soon.
     
  20. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #20
    There is confusion indeed but that's for OSX which runs in AHCI mode detecting all the SATA ports and not bootcamp. That at least initially runs in legacy mode i.e. only four devices visible. Sled 1,2 and the two IDE ports on the thick parallel ATA cable.

    You can install bootcamp via an external drive. Apple SuperDrive I think does it and so does my little sony external I've been using for 4/5 years which supports Mac OS boot. Only certain models of external drives do support Fruit boot though!

    The 4 and 5,1 models do support SATA boot for the installation DVD in bootcamp off the 2 odd ports but the 3,1 is IDE.
     
  21. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #21
    The following doesn't exactly fit your circumstances (using a USB optical drive for installation), but it is worth a try because the black screen/white cursor symptom is the same, and you seem to be having issues with the optical drive.

    Boot Camp: Windows installation boots to black screen with blinking cursor

    (Basically, remove all USB devices except keyboard and mouse.)
     
  22. fifthmanstandin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #22
    So the new dvd drive is useless then I assume?

    Ok so how would I go about doing this install using an external. And how would i retrofit an external to work if possible. I've got a number of ATA drives i use as backup off an external case that has both usb and firewire. I really can't afford to drop money on an Apple Superdrive.
     
  23. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #23
    If you have access to a windows PC you can make a usb stick of the 7 install using Microsoft's windows 7 usb tool

    http://www.microsoftstore.com/store/msusa/html/pbPage.Help_Win7_usbdvd_dwnTool

    ----------

    Not when you have got windows up and running no, only for initial setup. You can patch the mbr in OSX to enable AHCI boot via an app after you change a few registry keys.

    The app I have uploaded on the last pages

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=760482

    Then windows will detect the SATA drive fine!
     
  24. fifthmanstandin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #24
    I have no access to a windows computer unfortunately.

    edit: ok so what you're saying is the SATA DVD drive is fine on Mac OS X but when attempting to boot over to windows it's not detecting the sata dvd drive at all (I'm sorry but you're going to have to break this down for me some more, I'm not familiar with AHCI at all)
     
  25. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #25
    Correct. Apple crippled the boot process for windows sadly to the old style IDE mode with a max 4 total devices. You can modify this after you have setup windows 7 so windows will see your SATA optical.
     

Share This Page