Boot Manager: A Boot Screen Alternative in the status bar of your Mac.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by abdyfranco, Oct 3, 2018.

  1. abdyfranco, Oct 3, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2018

    abdyfranco macrumors regular

    abdyfranco

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #1
    [​IMG]
    Due to the requirement to have a Metal compatible graphics card to install Mojave, many users upgraded their graphics cards to PC cards that do not have EFI firmware and therefore cannot display the Startup Manager (also known as Boot Screen).

    Many Mac Pro users usually install Windows in dual boot using Boot Camp or in EFI mode, and even some install even Linux. Due to the lack of boot screen, it is very difficult to switch between operating systems, although there is the possibility of using "Startup Disk" from "System Preferences", but does not always work well (usually does not work with Windows installed in EFI mode) or does not detect all operating systems correctly (as is usually the case with Linux).

    There are other options and alternatives to the "Startup Disk" option, such as BootChamp and QuickBoot, however both applications are discontinued, without support, updates and hardly work in new versions of macOS.

    Boot Manager is an alternative to all the options described above, is completely free, is open source and works with the latest versions of macOS. Boot Manager is an application based on QuickBoot, with updated code to run on recent versions of macOS and with major improvements over its predecessor, including support for Windows, macOS and Linux in both BIOS (Legacy) and EFI mode.

    You can download the latest version of Boot Manager at the following link: http://abdyfran.co/software/boot-manager

    Any suggestion, recommendation, feedback or bug report are welcome, you can write me a personal message or post it in this thread.

    Installing Boot Manager
    1. First of all, Before installing Boot Manager you must disable the System Integrity Protection (a.k.a. SIP).
    To disable the System Integrity Protection, you must restart on the recovery partition (Recovery HD) and access the terminal in the Utilities menu and then execute the following command:
    Code:
    csrutil disable
    2. Then go to the website and click on the Download button, and select the latest installation package, and install it normally by double-clicking on it.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. bookemdano macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #2
    I haven't gotten around to installing Windows 10 yet on my cMP but hope to do so in the next couple of weeks. I will definitely give Boot Manager a try.

    Thanks so much for providing this to the cMP community!

    Edit: Does this in any way help with the problem of being unable to get back to macOS once booted into Windows due to APFS?

    Edit2: Ah yes, I see that it does. From your site "It will also not permanently change your startup disk so once you reboot again, it’ll boot back to your standard OS."

    Nice!
     
  3. kennyman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    US
  4. abdyfranco thread starter macrumors regular

    abdyfranco

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #4
    No, However you can use Next Loader to fix the APFS on Boot Camp issue. Next Loader will appear as OS X in Boot Camp and will do a redirect to the APFS macOS Installation. http://abdyfran.co/projects/next-loader
     
  5. bookemdano macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #5
    One other point of clarification - must SIP remain disabled for QuickBoot to work? I suspect that it does, based on the other solutions I've seen posted for the Boot Camp APFS problem.

    What about the option to disable SIP for just the NVRAM? That's a bit safer of a configuration for running full-time.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 3, 2018 ---
    Hmm, well if Boot Manager never permanently changes your startup disk then won't it always boot back to macOS? Perhaps I misunderstood.
     
  6. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    Thanks for your hard work. It’s very much appreciated.
     
  7. abdyfranco thread starter macrumors regular

    abdyfranco

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #7
    Just NVRAM works fine, but the built-in SATA driver will not work, so you will not be able to use PCIe SATA SSDs for Boot Camp, Like the Sonnet Tempo SSD.

    Yes, If you boot Windows using Boot Manager, the next time that you restart your Mac Pro will boot right on to macOS, However if you use the "Restart in OS X" option of the Boot Camp Panel, macOS Will boot in verbose mode. (But works fine, it's only a cosmetically issue).
     
  8. haralds, Oct 3, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2018

    haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #8
    I presume you need to leave SIP disabled to use these?
    Is Nextloader easy to remove?

    Nextloader really needs some explanations and instructions. It looks like it needs its own small partition.

    Never mind, I see this now in the Wiki, duh... RTFM.

    Does the Nextloader handle miniDP V1.2?
     
  9. abdyfranco thread starter macrumors regular

    abdyfranco

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #9
  10. agejon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    Greece
    #10
    Windows 10: installed through DVD in separate ssd (sata 2)
    Boot Manager: installed in High Sierra 10.13.6 with SIP disabled, check "Use legacy mode" in preferences of Boot Manager
    GPU: non-efi GTX 750ti

    Everything works perfectly!!!
    GREAT JOB.. Thanks!

    I will try Next Loader when I receive my GTX 680 which I will flash and a new NVMe!
     
  11. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #11
  12. agejon, Oct 9, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2018

    agejon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    Greece
    #12
    I found a problem ... I think!!
    When Boot Manager installs, it disables TRIM and when trying to re-enable it, though the process from the terminal (sudo trimforce enable) is successful, after reboot in "System Report" I get "TRIM Support: No"

    EDIT: I found the problem. It's the "AHCI3rdPartySATA.kext" installed in /Library/Extensions. When removed TRIM works!
     
  13. abdyfranco thread starter macrumors regular

    abdyfranco

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #13
    AHCI3rdPartySATA.kext is only required if you want to install Windows on a PCI-e Sata SSD, like the Sonnet Tempo SSD, if you don't need that, you can safely remove it.
     
  14. W1SS macrumors regular

    W1SS

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #14
    I don't have issues re-enabling TRIM after a reboot with the third-party AHCI kext installed.
     
  15. expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #15
    Hi!

    I got a problem. I tried to install Boot Manager and it worked fine, untill I tried to reboot back to OSX. Then I got stuck in "Limbo land". It seems like my cMP does not know that I have a OSX installed on a "blade". I just got around installing Win 10 in EFI mode on an SSD in bay 1. Got a new Sapphire RX 580 so no bootscreen anymore. Can this be fixed?

    /Per
     
  16. tsialex macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #16
    Did you tried zap-PRAM? If you tired and can't boot OSX, remove all other disks, keep just the macOS one and do it again.
     
  17. abdyfranco thread starter macrumors regular

    abdyfranco

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #17
    As tsialex suggested, Try resetting the NVRAM/PRAM.

    Your macOS it's installed on an PCIe AHCI SSD or an NVMe drive?
     
  18. expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #18
    Hi, there!

    Thanks for the reply. My "blade" is an Samsung EVO 960 NVMe. And I did a NVRAM set back but my cMP 5.1 just hangs i Limbo-land and then after a minute i shuts off. I try a PRAM set back when I come home. Last resort will be to reinstall my Sapphire 7950 Mac Edition and Bootscreen back.

    /Per
     
  19. DanteDrac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #19
    Thanks for the time spent on this app! I had the same issues as the prior poster and resolved TRIM not enabling by deleted that kext. Thanks! (I have 10.14 and Windows 10 installed on the same SSD via a PCI-E to SATA adapter)
     
  20. expede, Oct 10, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2018

    expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #20
    No it did not work. I did first a PRAM and then a NVRAM. But no luck at all. I try with my Sapphire Radeon 7950 Mac Edition and report back.

    Ok I am back on OSX. But I can not boot back on Win 10 EFI. This is very strange.

    /Per
     
  21. expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #21
    Hi!

    So I BootScreen myself back to OSX and during bootscreen I found that, despite pulling all disks out except the blade, I still got one EFI installed. This is impossible, where is the other one? I only got one Samsung EVP 960 NvMe M2 disk in slot 3. And if I boot into the EFI Boot I get a blue screen saying my disk needs to be repaired? What?

    How do I kill that EFI?

    [​IMG]

    /Per
     
  22. abdyfranco thread starter macrumors regular

    abdyfranco

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #22
    When you install Windows on a partition the installer installs the Recovery on the main EFI partition. I Recommend to install Windows on UEFI mode on a separate disk.
     
  23. expede, Oct 11, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2018

    expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #23
    Hi!

    You were absolut right. Thanks. I had to reinstall both Mojave and Windows EFI.

    @tsialex, abdyfranco : Yes I did a NVRAM reset and the cMP found my "Blade" thanks!

    Now I have to try your Bootloader. Cross my fingers.

    /Per

    --- Post Merged, Oct 11, 2018 ---
    Nope did not work. I can boot to Windows EFI but not back. I´m stuck in Windows 10 loop. And when I return to my old Legacy Win 10 I get a blue screen saying that I have to repair my Windows 10 or contact administrator(even checkin' the "legacy box"). But if I use another Win loader (BootChamp) it works fine with Legacy mode. Sorry but this is not working for me. Thanks anyway for your time and effort. Very nice, thanks.

    Best regards

    /Per
     
  24. abdyfranco thread starter macrumors regular

    abdyfranco

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #24
    Please, can you send me a PM with the output of the command "diskutil list"? I started to work today on the next update, and I have two reports of the same issue that you have.
     
  25. abdyfranco thread starter macrumors regular

    abdyfranco

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #25
    I released today an update of Boot Manager, hopefully fixing most of the issues related to booting Windows in EFI mode, This version has an improved way to detect the EFI partition of Windows.

    You can download the new update here: https://github.com/abdyfranco/boot-manager/releases
     

Share This Page