BUG?: 3.0 Copy and Paste in UPS.com

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jalpert, Mar 24, 2009.

  1. jalpert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #1
    I don't know about you guys, but the one thing I wanted copy and paste for was tracking my packages. Having those long tracking numbers in my email is a pain to type and a pain to see from email to safari.

    Anyway, I went to copy a UPS tracking number from my email and paste into UPS.com and it would not paste. The box I wanted to paste into would select and I could copy but not paste. Is this a bug? Am I doing something wrong?
     
  2. Gathomblipoob macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #2
    It's not you - I just tested it for you and I'm getting the same behavior.
     
  3. jalpert thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for that. I can't paste to UPS.com but the tracking number pastes fine into notepad, and it also pastes fine into the google search bar.

    There is something about the text entry box on that site. Oh well, I really hope apple finds it, tracking numbers especially UPS ones are a pain.
     
  4. renewed macrumors 68040

    renewed

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Bemalte Blumen duften nicht.
    #4
    Report it to Apple then on the Dev site.
     
  5. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #5
    there are apps for tracking packages, i bet you could paste it into one of those.
     
  6. jalpert thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #6
    I bet I can't. I talked to the guys at Junecloud they say their app does not work in 3.0.

     
  7. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #7
    Just paste the UPS tracking number into the Google search field on Safari and Google will give you a link directly to the UPS tracking site. This also works with USPS and Fed Ex tracking numbers. I don't know for sure if it works with DHL, but I would bet it does.

    Fewer clicks and checks than going to UPS.com ... So it is the preferable method of tracking regardless of the UPS.com bug that makes paste not work.

    Though, it is unforgivable for an email to contain a tracking number that is not a hyperlink to the tracking website. At least, it WAS unforgivable. I can deal with it now that I have copy/paste.
     
  8. jalpert thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #8
    True. Most companies are good about it, but this was an ebay purchase so he just punched it in which is fine by me. Thanks for the tip about googling the tracking number, I didn't know I could do that.


     
  9. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (white): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    It's not the text entry box on that site, it's ALL text entry boxes in Safari. The problem is that the cursor never appears, so you never get the magnifying bubble or the copy/paste dialog.

    Makes copy/paste kind of worthless for now, IMO. In fact, it was that bug more than any other that prompted me to downgrade back to 2.2.1.
     
  10. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #10
    Someone started a thread asking quite persistently why Apple isn't releasing the iPhone 3.0 Beta to all customers, only to developers. I think your post provides the answer.
     
  11. efice32 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Location:
    Music City USA
    #11
    Agreed. I forgot a password one time and the website emailed me a new password (which was a random string of letters and numbers) then gave me a link to login and change the password....unfortunately I discovered that I couldn't paste this password into the password field on the website in Safari.

    I think there are two problems at work here. One is that if you single tap on the text box, the cursor does not show up, thus not allowing the magnifying loop and cut/copy/paste functionality. The other is that if you double tap on the text box, Safari treats it like a web object that you'd like to copy to then paste somewhere. Like in the keynote when Scott selected a paragraph of text in Safari with a double tap.
     
  12. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #12
    Yeah, it's rather frustrating, isn't it? I hope they fix this bug in time for the next beta!
     
  13. efice32 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Location:
    Music City USA
    #13
    I submitted this to Apple in a bug report, so we'll see if they fix it in future beta releases and/or the final release (let's hope so)
     
  14. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #14
    I can't imagine they wouldn't.
     
  15. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #15
    I wouldn't be so sure. Don't forget that this is the same company that allowed the ALoD Springboard bug to unfixed for two (three?) OS releases. :rolleyes:
     
  16. jalpert thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #16
    I post about a bug, that appears to be legitimate, and this is what you have to say? Some people were nice enough to verify that the phone isn't behaving normally for them either, and some people had some other suggestions, and this is what you had to write?

    Reality check; you have the 3.0 firmware, you're not saving the world, you're not special. You are such a big developer and a genius because obviously you can handle the iPhone 3.0 beta, unlike non devs. I'm not even offended, you have no idea who I am, but I do feel kinda sorry for you.

    Sorry, I take it back. You are special. You have 3.0, and you can handle it, unlike people who can't paste into certain websites. You posses skills, talent, and insight that makes you an asset to the 3.0 beta. Bravo, Apple thanks you and thinks of you every day. One day, I hope I am 1/2 as good as you are, so I can be worthy of the iPhone 3.0 beta as well.

     

Share This Page