Building a Desktop

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by pcb, Jul 31, 2010.

1. pcb macrumors member

pcb

Hi everyone,

I am looking at building myself a desktop pc in the somewhat near future. I have begun to look for parts and have assembled what I think I will build.

However this is my first time ever building a computer so input about my choices would be very welcome.

Also any online resources, how-to's that you feel would be helpful to a first time builder would be greatly appreciated.

The goal of this computer is to serve as a home theater pc for itunes, and movies and internet surfing on my tv.

However I would also like to be able to play computer games on it. I am not a competitive gamer or anything like that. I just want to be able to enjoy some games from time to time on it.

So here is what I have come up with and the links to the items.

LITE-ON Black 24X $18.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827106289

NZXT Lexa S $64.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811146060

Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7200RPM $44.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148316

GIGABYTE Radeon HD 5770 1GB $159.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125327

SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze 620W $89.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151095

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) $97.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231277

AMD Athlon II X4 635 Propus 2.9GHz $100.49
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103702

GIGABYTE GA-770TA-UD3 $88.99
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0036Z65EG/ref=ord_cart_shr?ie=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER

TOTAL BUILD PRICE: 666.42

So questions, comments, concerns, thoughts.

Any and all help is appreciated.
    pcb

2. wordoflife macrumors 604

wordoflife

3. pcb thread starter macrumors member

pcb