Buyers remorse? Do I need the retina?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by -Ray-, Oct 12, 2012.

1. -Ray- macrumors regular

-Ray-

I'm expecting my retina in the mail tomorrow but I'm having some remorse. Should I have gone with the standard 15 inch.

I currently have an air 13 inch 2011 and love its portability and the way it feels over all and after using it I can't go back to a non ssd .. Ever.. I decided to make this purchase as my wife needed a computer for school.

I am a freelance web designer and graphic designer. My air handles photoshop fine, but I needed more real estate on the screen.. And I factored upgrade cost to make the mbp meet the rmbp with an ssd and it was more expensive.. I figured what the hell. But now I think I should have gone with the base line 15 inch.

What you think

2. tillsbury macrumors 65816

You'll wonder why you ever wasted time with a non-Retina computer before! :)

3. 12dylan34 macrumors 6502a

To me, the classic looks thick and old by comparison, and will probably be discontinued in the next year. I would have remorse if I bought it. In situations where you need more screen real estate, you can crank up the effective resolution of the retina to that which you would get for a 30"+ display (2880x1800). Granted, stuff on the screen will be minuscule, but you get the point.

4. barbz41086 macrumors member

I dont know why people have regrets about this.

Unless you don't have the coin.

its a very good machine.

If you get one thats not perfect, you take it back until you get one that is. Then you simply just enjoy it for the next 3-4 years.

5. Ledgem macrumors 65816

Ledgem