Buying A Developer Account ($99)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Chase817, Mar 19, 2009.

1. Chase817 macrumors member

Chase817

Hello, I am thinking about buying a developer account to get the 3.0 beta. I am also wondering if it would be worth it though. Considering I am a 14 year old with no coding experience, would it even be worth it for me to upgrade to paid, other than getting the beta os's? I could pay for it and everything, but because of my age, it is a big chunk out of my savings. I REALLY want to learn cocoa, and cocoa touch. I have even tried, multiple times. But I always fail when it starts to get complicated. So, do you think I should spend the cash and buy a dev account? If so, do you have any tips for a coding noob? Note that I have no developing experience, except for learning Small Basic (Heck, at least it's sort of a language :eek:). I am also not some teenager looking to make a quick buck, I'd be making mostly free apps, and maybe a couple paid. Thanks for reading. :apple:

2. neverbuyapc macrumors newbie

I was in ur situation a few years ago. I wouldn't do it. The beta stuff usually is really buggy and doesn't support a lot of stuff until it is finalized. As for coding, there are better ways. Just google it.

3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

i wouldnt

why not code with the 2.0 sdk and when 3.0 comes out you can adapt to that?

4. lostfan916 macrumors 6502a

lostfan916

If you are getting the account just to get the beta then don't. But if you really are going to build apps and see your $100 going somewhere then I say it's up to you. I can't tell you much about how difficult it is since I'm not a Dev but I'm sure you'll get plenty of responses from those who are.

5. PoitNarf macrumors 65816

PoitNarf

Download the SDK for free and play around with it to see what you're able to accomplish first. If you think you're making progress then opt for becoming a registered developer.

6. Mengels7 macrumors regular