Buying a Mac Pro. Advice?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mikeyg36, May 5, 2011.

  1. mikeyg36 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Maryland
    #1
    Hello, I am in the market for a new Mac Pro. I have recently been paying close attention to the Mac Pro forums and I understand the Sandy Bride issues etc. I would like to know what would benefit me more, the six core, or eight core. I can get a education discount on both of these. If I go 6 core I will put one of these in the quad model. I plan on using this for heavy 1080p video editing in iMovie and Final Cut Pro X. I also plan on getting into photography and photoshop. Another question that I have is if i can get a 3.33 Ghz in the machine instead of a 3.2. When I receive it I plan to install 8-12 GB or RAM, Along with another 1-2 TB HDD for my video editing. Thank you in advance! :eek:
     
  2. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #2
    You can put a 3.33 in it but it is cost prohibitive. Still cost around $999.00 per. Probably why most people are not bothering with it. After initial cost you are only $200-$300 below buying the 3.33GHz hex CTO from Apple.
    I know many are going this route but after $3000.00 all in I would want a warranty for at least a year. And yes swapping your processor voids your warranty. But if you care not go for it. It's only a $1000.00 logic board:p
     
  3. mikeyg36 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Maryland
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. I had a feeling the 3.33 would be ridiculously expensive. I was planning on installing a new processor as soon as I get the computer. If I have any major malfunctions I'll pop in the quad again and bring it in. It seems that most people who try this end up succeeding.
     
  4. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    No it does not! Swapping the processor is totally within Apple's AppleCare agreements. Unless you damage the logic board (which is about $500, not a $1000), AppleCare is still valid.
    And lets be honest, it is almost impossible to damage anything. The swap is a piece of cake and not different from installing a CPU in a normal PC.
     
  5. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #5
    first off putting in a cpu in a 2010 quad mac pro does not void warranty. there are no seals no warning stickers and if you look at the install thread you can plainly see no one would know if you did it in the first place. You can just swap the 2.8 cpu right back in.

    just look at the photos.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1122551


    now if you break it you pay, but frankly it is easy to do.



    second 3 hex cpus fit. and work


    1) the 3.2 hex cost 605 geek bench 15300 http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-...EN_Servers&hash=item230e914a2e#ht_2969wt_1189


    2) the 3.33 hex cost 1075 geek bench 16100 http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-...06?pt=CPUs&hash=item588d5021ae#ht_2997wt_1189





    3)the 3.46 hex cost 1066 geek bench 16800 http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-...99?pt=CPUs&hash=item5d2e7c6127#ht_2605wt_1189


    I am listing a real seller that will allow 30 day returns just pay shipping.






    now for gamblers here is a bargain 3.33 cost 807
    ☟☟☟
    ☟☟

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Intel-Xeon-W368...883?pt=CPUs&hash=item3cb7498a8b#ht_2575wt_907




    Now if you have a base 2.8 quad you geek bench about 9700 the 3.2 mod cost about 400 if you sell the oem cpu for 200 or so.




    NO 2010 quad mac pro mod/upgrade for 400 dollars will get more improvement.
     
  6. derbothaus, May 6, 2011
    Last edited: May 6, 2011

    derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #6
    I'd like to see that written somewhere. Last time I checked with Apple Enterprise support they said it voided the warranty "obviously" But people are people and prone to their own personal opinions if it saves them from looking it up. Of course the swap is easy. That is not in question. Has anyone taken their Mac in for service after a processor swap to a Xeon Apple does not sell normally (ie 3.2 Hex) and gotten service for a logic board issue or similar? It's all speculation right now. It would be awesome if it didn't. It is not like I WANT it to void warranties.
     
  7. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #7
    I'm not entirely sure of the situation in the US, but I think you are correct in that Apple would claim it voided the warranty. In the UK Apple could also say that, but if it came to a small claims court they would have to prove the processor swap was the cause for any faults.
     
  8. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #8
    Yeah. I guess you could counter with "It is not written anywhere NOT to". But really just put back the old one if service is required, that should be fine.
     
  9. philipma1957, May 6, 2011
    Last edited: May 6, 2011

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #9

    yes you can counter with it is not written any where because macbook pros have a void sticker by the cpu. The fact that there is a void sticker on one cpu and not on the other is a good reason to win.

    The problem you have is very simple if the logic board is dead they can claim you killed it when you did the switch that is not the same as the switch voids the warranty. I have taken apart about 100 mac minis a few dozen macbook pros and 2 mac pros. I have had 2 failed machines out of all of them. both were mac minis both times the logic board's were bad. I restored the two machines to stock and brought them back. I said I had problems and the machine were repaired.
    can I say how and why the logic boards died No was it because I opened the machine and put in hdds and ram I don't know since I did 100 and it happened twice I am not felling the least bit guilty or that I did any immoral act or illegal one for that matter.

    There is no definition of what can be pulled out of a mac pro as a replaceable consumer part. The problem you have is whether you broke the machine doing it. I will also tell you I have caught apple techs lie about warranty policy or at least stretch the truth. For the most part they are better then a lot of other techs. I will find the warranty and link it in a minute.


    WARRANTY. Apple’s warranty obligations for this hardware product are limited to the terms set forth herein. Apple, as defined in the table below, warrants this Apple-branded hardware product against defects in materials and workmanship under normal use for a period of ONE (1) YEAR from the date of retail purchase by the original end-user purchaser (“Warranty Period”). If a hardware defect arises and a valid claim is received within the Warranty Period, at its option and to the extent permitted by law, Apple will either (1) repair the hardware defect at no charge, using new or refurbished parts that are equivalent to new in performance and reliability, (2) exchange the product with a product that is new or refurbished that is equivalent to new in performance and reliability and is at least functionally equivalent to the original product, or (3) refund the purchase price of the product.


    ☟☟☟
    ☟☟

    Apple may request that you replace defective parts with user-installable new or refurbished parts that Apple provides in fulfillment of its warranty obligation. A replacement product or part, including a user-installable part that has been installed in accordance with instructions provided by Apple, assumes the remaining warranty of the original product or ninety (90) days from the date of replacement or repair, whichever provides longer coverage for you. When a product or part is exchanged, any replacement item becomes your property and the replaced item becomes Apple’s property. Parts provided by Apple in fulfillment of its warranty obligation must be used in products for which warranty service is claimed. When a refund is given, the product for which the refund is provided must be returned to Apple and becomes Apple’s property.


    ☝☝
    ☝☝☝

    When they talk about user installable parts that they provide you with instructions to install you are in the land of gray.


    here is the next piece of gray:

    This warranty does not apply: (a) to consumable parts, such as batteries, unless damage has occurred due to a defect in materials or workmanship; (b) to cosmetic damage, including but not limited to scratches, dents and broken plastic on ports; (c) to damage caused by use with non-Apple products; (d) to damage caused by accident, abuse, misuse, liquid contact, fire, earthquake or other external causes; (e) to damage caused by operating the product outside the permitted or intended uses described by Apple; (f) to damage caused by service (including upgrades and expansions) performed by anyone who is not a representative of Apple or an Apple Authorized Service Provider (“AASP”); (g) to a product or part that has been modified to alter functionality or capability without the written permission of Apple; (h) to defects caused by normal wear and tear or otherwise due to the normal aging of the product or (i) if any Apple serial number has been removed or defaced.


    Letter (f) is the one that scares everyone and frankly all it means you break it you pay. Now the real question is did you break it? I would never open the can of worms about any mod I did. I just set my machine back to oem and bring it in because frankly I don't know if the mod broke the gear.


    I will also say that when I did this cpu mod I was nervous since no one had done one and I was not sure of the result. Now this mod works I am one of many that did it so doing the mod correctly does not break the machine. Now I did 4 of these so far and I am 4 for 4. If my machine breaks in 2 or 3 or 4 months I would be sure that the mod did not do it. I would set it back to oem and bring it in. nuff said.
     
  10. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Well, that is exactly the problem. The AC agreement is more than vague, which leaves room in either direction. It really all depends on the service provider you have to chose. For example, my local AASP lets me do pretty much anything with the machine. An original Apple store might think differently, especially when the so called Geniuses have the say.

    Example: I called Apple a while ago about upgrading the processors in my dual 2009 Pro. They said it will void the warranty, which seemed logical to me as the procedure isn't necessarily easy.
    However, when I visited my local AASP a few months later, they said it's fine unless you damage the logic board.

    So yes, I presume you're right. Only because it doesn't say that it does void the warranty, does it mean that it doesn't void it in any case.
    Total grey area.
     
  11. mikeyg36 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Maryland
    #11
    Thank You

    I would like to thank everyone for their responses. Seems like apple care is very vague. Another question I forgot to add is about lion. If I buy a Mac pro now will I get a free or low cost lion upgrade?
     
  12. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #12
    Thanks for all the well thought out comments. My voided warranty fears were definitely coming from the Apple Store Genius decision side of things. I used to be one and I would probably have not worked on the machine. But I am lazy and anything to get out of a repair I would probably have done (sorry). But I was an angry disgruntled Apple employee. I work in the enterprise now, am much happier and don't have to "train" our Moms.
     
  13. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #13
    if lion comes out in 30 days or less i would say yes. based on past history of snow leopard.
     
  14. mikeyg36 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Maryland
    #14
    Will it be released at WWDC or will we just get a date? Because I'd rather put $120 towards RAM.
     
  15. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    What makes you think the new OS costs $120?
    Snow Leopard costs $29. I don't think that Lion will be more than that. It might even be cheaper if you purchase it via the app store as they don't have to press the DVD any more and bundle it with nice packaging.
     
  16. mikeyg36 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Maryland
    #16
    It was $30 because it wasn't a new os, It was a leopard upgrade. You had to have leopard to get the $30 price tag. Tiger users had to buy the box set which was $180. Lion is a whole new os like from tiger to leopard, which suggests a $120 price tag. I will never buy an os from the app store, as I like to do fresh installs, not upgrades. :rolleyes:
     
  17. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #17
    To add to that, simply replacing the CPUs does not void your warranty. The warranty will not cover the new CPU's themselves, and it doesn't cover any damage you do while swapping the CPUs. But a CPU swap in itself does not cause your warranty to disappear in a puff of smoke.

    It's kind of like how swapping your CPU tray for a different one wouldn't void the warranty either.
     
  18. mikeyg36 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Maryland
    #18
    New question

    Ok I think I will go with the 3.2 Ghz that I originally posted. Another question I have is with the RAM. The system comes with 1066Mhz RAM but the 6 core option from Apple includes 1333Mhz RAM. Does the 3.2 Ghz need 1066 Mhz or can I install 1333 Mhz. If I upgrade the RAM do I need to keep the speed the same? Or can the speeds be different. I plan on installing 4GB to each slot eventually, but not at one time. Is their a large difference between the different RAM speeds?
     

Share This Page