Buying Advice Please - Plastic Macbook or Dell

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by toto8462, Oct 14, 2008.

1. toto8462 macrumors newbie

I was holding out to see what the new MB's would bring, but i was only ever looking at the £699 MB's and since there is no new MB in this range - i'm happy to consider the now £719 base model.

As a student I can get it for £618 with a free iPod Nano.

Whilst I am happy to visit Crucial.com to upgrade the ram, I was wondering whether the integrated graphics would become an issue...

To complicate matters, I have on order a Dell Studio 15 with the following specs. This comes in at £615

Intel C2D P8400 2.26Ghz
    4GB Ram
    320GB HD
    ATi 3450 HD 256mb dedicated graphics
    WLED Screen etc...

Obviously considerably more bang for the buck... I am a native windows user considering the switch, and was wondering whether Vista is SO BAD that I should really be considering cancelling the Dell for the Mac.

Please advise. Thanks.

2. 11800506 macrumors 65816

Vista isn't really that bad, it's more that it isn't where it should be in user friendliness and bugginess after all of its development. The integrated graphics really aren't that bad unless you do anything graphics intensive such as gaming. Also factor into your decision the fact that if anything on your Dell breaks you'll have to deal with their support which is quite bad to put it bluntly. However if anything goes wrong with your Macbook, Apple support will be able to help you. If you get the Macbook you won't be disappointed, it's just a tough decision to make as to whether or not you should get it or the PC with it's better specs. Remember to take into consideration OS X versus Vista (which may be hard for you) and the iLife suite which comes with every new Mac which could sway your decision. Hope that helps.

3. gnasher729 macrumors P6

gnasher729