C Compiler

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by toddius, Nov 2, 2011.

1. toddius macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I am trying to learn some programming basics. I am watching the Harvard CS 50 course posted here and just started reading an Absolute Beginner's Guide to C by Greg Perry. Perry's chapter one directive is to get a C Compiler. So I guess I have a couple questions for the forum:

(1) What compiler should I get that will work with a Mac? I noticed that X Code 4 is free if you have the developer membership (I don't - should I get one?). I also noticed that it would also be free if I had the Mac App Store (I don't). I have Mac OS X Version 10.5.8. If the advice is to pay for the developer membership - which one should I get? Will X Code 4 even work on my version of Mac OS X?

also,

(2) What else should I be doing in an effort to learn more about how to program?

A logical follow up question might be - for what purpose do I want to learn how to program? I don't know. I just want to learn. I do not have a technical background (liberal arts to law school to unsatisfied lawyer) but I'm a good learner.

Thanks in advance for the help/advice!

Todd

2. jiminaus macrumors 65816

jiminaus

XCode 3 will be on the Mac OS X 10.5 DVD. XCode 4 requires a minimum of Mac OS X 10.6.

3. BlkBear macrumors member

you don't need a paid developer membership to download XCode for free. You only need to pay if you want the ability to distribute through the app store. Create a free account and then download XCode. Once you install XCode you will have the gnu compiler toolchain and clang available from the command line. You can use gcc as you follow along your book and learn C. For the simple programs you'll run as you go through the book I would compile and run everything from the command line and not bother with the XCode IDE.

4. toddius thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you