Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gojaromeiginla

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 5, 2007
Hi there, I'm just starting out with C++, and I'm trying it out with XCode. By just starting, I mean I literally just began today. Same with XCode. Basically, I've been trying all day to get XCode to run my code, and nothing is working:(. I'm looking for any advice at all. Thanks in advance.

gojaromeiginla

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 5, 2007
Well, that's the whole thing. It isn't erroring out on anything, because I can't figure out how to run anything at all. For the record, the code I'm trying to run is just a simple "Hello World." And I've heard that C++ may not be the easiest language to learn, but I've also heard that it gives you a good base and it can do more than some other languages. I might try Java if all else fails.

Gelfin

macrumors 68020
Sep 18, 2001
Denver, CO
Assuming you're up to date with XCode 3, I can get you started in 30 seconds:

1. Open XCode.
2. File/New Project...
3. In the "New Project" Assistant, expand the "Command Line Utility" group.
4. Select "C++ Tool"
5. Click "Next"
6. Give a project name and directory, then click "Finish".
7. Press Cmd-Shift-R to open the Console window. Output will appear there.
8. Click the "Build and Go" toolbar button.

That's it. Hello World done. From there you'll probably want to edit main.cpp to do other things.

gojaromeiginla

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 5, 2007
OK, I'm at least getting new results at this point. I tried something like this before, and all it came up with was the build dialogue. It's at least opening a window for me now. I'm still not getting the text to appear at all. I don't really think this program likes me. It might be the code, but I've double checked it. Thanks for your help. Any more advice would be appreciated.

Edit: I think I've gotten it working. Thanks again!

Michael1228279