C2D: does 3 gigs of ram really speed things vs 2 g (photoshop, final cut ,etc)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SpaceJello, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. SpaceJello macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    #1
    hey just out of curiously, my mbp c2d is running a bit slow lately, i am not quite sure what it is, perhaps i need some cache cleaning etc.

    But i have been using Photoshop cs3 beta and its quite slow or slower than before... its quite ram intensive, so i am wondering that exact gig of ram may help but i have read in other posts that it is unstable or have some problems.

    Curious what are other people's experiences when using design and video editing software?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    I don't have any feel for PS or FC, yet, but I just upgraded mine to 3GB and it was noticeable right away. I was surprised, as I didn't think I'd notice anything until pushing it with a large image file or running FCE. Faster booting and app launching were apparent.

    I did a cursory check on pageouts with Top before (2GB) and after. Under similar circumstances, the 3GB configuration had zero pageouts.

    OWC has the 2GB modules for $234.99, today, and they have a trade-in for the old 1GB module of $50 (also, as of today).

    edit: btw, Photoshop CS3 launches in < 4 seconds (after initial launch after booting). Noticeably faster.
     
  4. richard4339 macrumors 6502a

    richard4339

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    See, that's weird. I had tons of pageouts before, and tons of pageouts after upgrading to 2gigs of ram...

    *Goes to watch activity monitor*
     
  5. SpaceJello thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    #6
    hey thanks to all, how do you check page outs? i checked into activity monitor, but i am not sure where the info are. or does it go by another name?
     
  6. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #8
    My test wasn't all that scientific, but I tried to keep the conditions the same. After booting, I had the following apps running, then took the snapshot with Top: Safari, Mail, Text, Chat, WeatherMenu, OSXPlanet, Term

    I probably hadn't been as active before the 3GB snapshot, as the number of pageins was smaller.

    2GB: VM: 10.3G + 129M 81705(0) pageins, 2576(0) pageouts

    3GB: VM: 9.44G + 119M 30553(0) pageins, 0(0) pageouts

    As I said, not very scientific, as I should have had a closer number of pageins. But, proportionately, it seemed like the zero pageouts was significant. That, plus the faster launch and boot times.

    I haven't looked yet, but maybe there are some real benchmarks out there for PS and FC.
     
  7. SpaceJello thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    #9
    Woh, this is crazy,
    my pages in/out were
    VM 9.2 GB 630244/24405
    but after restarting it went back to something 15000/0

    Anyway out of this crazy page i/o without restarting?
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    The number of page outs is taken from first boot. Restarting just gets rid of the count of page outs and nothing more.

    What applications would you like to be running simultaneously?
     
  9. SpaceJello thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    #11
    I think its cause I had flash, mail, and safari and adium running at the same time, for a while i had photoshop, maybe thats why the number would go that high. Usually if I do use FCP or photoshop, i run them alone with minimal other programs running. I just notice photoshop was giving me trouble when i had a 170MB file running for some reasons when nothing else is running
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    Photoshop (PowerPC) would be the biggest offender. Next would be Safari. How long do you leave it open? It racks up a lot of RAM for its caching. You do look like a good candidate for more RAM though.
     
  11. hogprint macrumors regular

    hogprint

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #13
    I still get page outs with 3gb. It isn't the end all be all...... Just be sure you really need it before popping for the extra ram.
     
  12. SpaceJello thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    #14
    i have safaristand with safari as well maybe that's why, now that i got rid of safari stand, its much better and quicker.
     

Share This Page