Cable Airport and Bluetooth Mac Pro 1,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vincenzo79, Mar 7, 2016.

  1. vincenzo79 macrumors member

    vincenzo79

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
    #1
    Hello to all,
    I wanted to ask information on Bluetooth modules and the Airport form of a Mac Pro 1.1 .
    I have read several guides and I found that all always refer to insert the wires that actually would be three, one for the bluetooth module and the other module for the Airport.
    I wanted to ask but these leads are key to the bluetooth card and airport or they can also be used without cables ?
    If you are critical you can tell me where can I buy them ?
    Thank you,
    Vincenzo
     
  2. JedNZ macrumors regular

    JedNZ

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Location:
    Deep South
    #2
    I have installed an Apple Broadcom BCM94360CD 802.11ac mini PCI-E WiFi WLAN Bluetooth 4.0 card into my Mac Pro 1,1>2,1.The Apple Broadcom BCM94360CD includes WiFi 802.11ac plus Bluetooth 4.0 (Low power) which is required for Continuity, AirDrop and Handoff functionality.

    I bought my one off eBay for US$43 delivered - check out this link. But you can also get them from a variety of other places, like here although they seem to cost a lot more than eBay.

    Here's some links for installing and then activating Continuity, Airdrop and Handoff.
    http://blog.greggant.com/posts/2015/11/15/installing-80211-nac-bluetooth-40-airport-mac-pro.html
    http://avayarob.blogspot.co.nz/2014/12/how-i-enabled-handoff-on-mac-pro-2008.html
    http://www.macvidcards.com/wifi-and-bluetooth-card-installation-in-a-31.html

    Note: I had to connect my WiFi and Bluetooth antennas as follows in order to get a strong signal for Bluetooth.
    1 wire to J0; 2 wire to J1;3 wire to J3; BT wire to J2
    Originally I connected the BT wire to J3 and the 3 wire to J2 and I had a very weak signal for Bluetooth (only up to 2 feet). I swapped these to BT wire to J2 and the 3 wire to J3 and I immediately had a strong Bluetooth signal up to about 10 metres.
     
  3. vincenzo79 thread starter macrumors member

    vincenzo79

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
    #3
    Hello,
    Thanks very much for the information you provided me and for the different tutorials to read.
    I bought this item and it should arrive in Italy within 15 days, at least I hope, since the Italian post office :)

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/MacPro-2006...458513?hash=item3aaed77351:g:y74AAMXQuTNTK9zr

    Yesterday I checked if the inside of the Mac Pro there was the antenna but I don't seem to have seen no cable, this evening I will check the most accurate but I don't think that there are.
    Do you know where I can buy the antenna for the Mac Pro ?
    Thanks,
    Vincenzo
     
  4. JedNZ macrumors regular

    JedNZ

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Location:
    Deep South
    #4
    All the antennae will be taped back up behind the second hard drive sled bay. I removed the fan assembly so I could install the combo WiFi/BT module I bought - made it easier to flick out the antenna wires and attach them.
     
  5. •MacMike• macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    #5
    Terribly sorry for bumping this thread.

    JedNZ did you purchase the wifi card and adapter from the link you posted above? "LINK"

    I have the same computer as you a 1,1 --> 2,1. I purchased the parts in the link and my mac won't boot with it plugged in. I took the wifi/bluetooth card off and left the adaptor plugged in and it still won't boot. I can hear the fans spin up for a second then nothing. I have to unplug the computer and plug it back in to get it to power up. (with the adaptor removed)

    You didn't do anything special to get it to work, correct?
    I just wanted to make sure before I contact the seller.

    Thanks
     
  6. Blackey Cole macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    #6
    Will this replace the on board card in a cmp 5,1? Or must it be used in a pci solution?
     
  7. JedNZ macrumors regular

    JedNZ

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Location:
    Deep South
    #7
    I bought my BCM94360CD separately frozen m the Mini PCIe adapter, but both were purchased on eBay. I didn't
    have to do anything special, other than maybe zapping the PRAM and resetting the PMU. What else have you got installed? Maybe remove all your other PCIe cards and reinstall them one at a time to isolate the problem. What OS are you running? Maybe reapply the last Combo updated to see if that fixes your OS if that's the problem.
     
  8. •MacMike• macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    #8
    Thank you so much for your reply. First off. I have a 1,1 that I flashed to a 2,1 my OS is 10.11.6 El Capitan. I have upgraded the processors to dual quad-core 3.0GHz Intel Xeon X5365s. Everything runs great. All stable and fast.

    Upon your suggestion, I removed all my extra hard drives, installed my original video card, and original ram. I even unplugged the DVD drive. I tried several drives with different OS's including fresh install of the last supported OS for this computer 10.7 Lion.

    I am not going to remove and reinstall my original processors. I don't think that will do any good.

    I reset the SMC (PMU) by both unplugging the computer and holding the power button as well as unplugging and pushing the SMC button located on the mother board. Neither changed anything. The computer never powers on enough to reset the PRAM.

    I am really leaning on some kind of short in the adapter. As I said above, I just put the PCIe to mini PCI adapter card in the airport slot and did not insert the wifi/bluetooth card and the computer fails to turn on. I also tried with the wifi/bluetooth card inserted. And it failed likewise. About 1/2 a second after hitting the power button the computer clicks then goes dead. It is like the power supply is protecting its self by blocking power to the computer. The only way try to power the computer on again is by removing and reinserting the power cord. Doing so I can hit the power button again. If the card is installed, it will fail again. I have to remove the adapter in order for the computer to post.

    I could use a volt meter and check for continuity on the pins and their respective destination pins.

    Barring any other suggestions, I guess I will have to contact the seller. Getting a replacement is going take a while as they are Chinese suppliers.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 23, 2017 ---
    Yes and no. Yes you can use this method to replace the wifi board in a 5,1 but you have to buy the adapter cards that have the USB power wires included. The 1,1, 2,1, and 3,1 do not need the USB wires. As far as PCI solution I don't know the answer to that.
     

Share This Page