Can a Mac Mini use 32GB DDR3 or is it maxed at 16GB?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by patent10021, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. patent10021 macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    Right now I have 16GB 1333 MHz DDR3 but would love to upgrade to 32GB. Can a Mac Mini only take 1333 MHz DDR3?

    And if there was a 32GB kit would I be able to install it or is it maxed at 16GB?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    16GB is the maximum RAM ever supported in any Mac mini model.

    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
     
  3. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #3
    I dont understand how it can have a memory limit. 8GBx2 or 16GBx2.

    So no hacks or anything? Does 1333 MHz DDR3 exist in a 32GB kit?
     
  4. Umbongo, Dec 11, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2013

    Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #4
    There are no 16GB DDR3 SO-DIMMs, nor will there ever be.

    edit: to specify DDR3
     
  5. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #5
    Nope. The processors used support 32GB of RAM, but that's only if using 4 DIMMS and the Mini only has two. We haven't seen 16GB SoDIMMS (at least I haven't seen any).
     
  6. mvmanolov macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #6
    Well, there may be with DDR4 but i'd agree about that prediction more or less otherwise :)
     
  7. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Sorry, I meant to say DDR3 specifically.
     
  8. mvmanolov macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #8
    no apologies necessary, its not like the current mini can take DDR4 anyways, so for all practical purposes you are very much right :D
     
  9. opeter macrumors 65816

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    #9
    Yeah, it supports. In about a year or two, when DDR4 is comming.
     
  10. MacLC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    #10
    Sorry, you are wrong. Intel chipsets are only compatible with specific RAM types. You cannot put DDR2 in Intel macs designed for DDR3 nor can you put DDR3 in my iMac which only supports DDR2. DDR4 will be no different. Even macs coming out in 2014 will likely not be compatible with DDR4. The soonest compatible DDR4 system will likely be an AMD system in early 2015.

    As per the opening post, as others have said, EveryMac has it all. My iMac officially supports 4GB, but some people have put in 2x 4GB DIMMs and the computer addressed/recognized 6 of the 8 gigs. However the computer will not recognize a single 8GB DIMM.

    I do not know if the Mac Mini will recognize a single 16GB DIMM (thus letting you physically install 32GB will only recognizing 16) or if 8GB is the largest size it will recognize but 16GB is the absolute maximum it will recognize.
    According to Intel, the chipset is compatible with up to 32GB but Apple's motherboard must limit that to 16.
     
  11. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #11
    Interesting from other thread:

     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    Because it can't. Can you provide any proof that it can? Why would you ask the question (indicating that you don't know the answer), then argue with those who provide a factual answer?
     
  13. Jedi Master macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Location:
    ar the moment on the Death Star
    #13

    Are you chewing gum?
    Your a funny guy.
     
  14. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
  15. opeter macrumors 65816

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    #15
    Read my lines once again. And than again and again ...
    What did I write? Do you know what functional illiteracy is? Well?

    Don't you recognize that it was meant and written in a sarcastic manner?
     
  16. PhatHo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #16
    I had a very interesting conversation today with a guy from 'I'm Intelligent Memory'.

    According to him, they actually manufacture a 16GB SO-DIMM. Both an ECC-version and a non-ECC version. However, there are a few quirks to this as you can imagine.

    This is DDR3 memory. It's known that the CPU in the Mac Mini 2012 (6,2) can address up to 32GB of RAM, although this is depending on the amount of slots available meaning 4 slots would be required. Instead, these DIMM's use a Dual Die that behaves like one monolithic part to be able to reach this amount of RAM on one stick.

    BUT - It's not just up to the CPU, the BIOS (or SMC) will have to be able to address the information as well. Problem is an Intel BIOS (f.x.) can only address 4Gbit per chip. Updates are being done apparently but mainly for the embedded and server market. The Avoton C200 server CPU is one example. It's not quite clear to me how and if even a Mac Mini would be able to do this.

    So, does it work on a Mac Mini 2012? Well, these sticks are not yet available to the consumer market. On top of that the SMC on the Mac Mini or any other Apple product using SO-DIMM's might (most probably) need updating first. If it even works then remains to be seen.

    I was told production has started and we should see something being available in about 3-6 months. Find a direct link to the product here: http://www.intelligentmemory.com/dram-modules/ddr3-so-dimm/

    Disclaimer: I am in no way, shape or form associated with this company. I would love to test their product though :)
     
  17. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #17
    Well I guess I didn't see this coming. Can't really see a huge market for it and it doesn't look like it'll come to Macs anyway as it doesn't benefit Apple in any way to make firmware changes.

    There is another post on it here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1698654
     

Share This Page