Can a MacBook Pro accept 32 GB of RAM now?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by superriku11, Jul 2, 2017.

  1. superriku11 macrumors member

    superriku11

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    I have searched years ago, and recently, and come across this thread: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/can-you-put-32gb-in-a-macbook-pro-9-1.1736888/

    I also have a MacBook Pro 9,1 and I'm interested in revisiting this topic, in light of new hardware.

    At the time, the stated issue in that thread was that there were no 16 GB RAM modules on the market. As there are only 2 slots, you would need 2x16 GB to get 32 GB total.

    There is now a 16 GB RAM module that should fit this MBP though: http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/ct204864bf160b

    And there are more companies (though not many) that also manufacture them: https://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Description=16GB 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM&Submit=ENE&IsNodeId=1&N=100007609 600000279 601275424 600559388 600006178

    According to Intel, for the processors included with this model, i7-3820QM, i7-3720QM, i7-3615QM, all of them are capable of supporting 32 GB of memory.

    However, I can't find any reports of anyone trying it at all. I've found talk here and there that the slots are limited to 8 GB each, but I can't find any technical information that confirms this. I'm not able to find any actual technical reason as to why it shouldn't work. But Apple does claim the maximum memory for this model is 16 GB.

    I'd like to know for sure before I pull the trigger on $300 of memory. But maybe someone else would like to try it out with this new memory that's available today?
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    No, you can't in the 2012 13" or 15". Although the CPU itself supports up to 32GB RAM, it only supports up to 8GB per DIMM. 16GB sticks just won't work unfortunately.
     
  3. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #3
    I think that the reason why these 16GB memory modules won't work is because they're they have a memory rank of x16 and the Ivy Bridge CPU's don't support x16, (they support x8). I have an explanation in the last post of this thread:
    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...mory-in-late-2012-mini.2001702/#post-24496038

    The Crucial memory you link is x16. They don't show that on the site but if you look up the comparable Micron specs (Micron/Crucial only have one 16GB DDR3 SO-DIMM that they sell), that's where it's mentioned. So MAYBE, if one of the other 16GB modules are x8, it could work. But I doubt that they are x8.

    Some time ago, there was a poster (English wasn't their first language) who was reading the Mac Mini forum and in a thread, there was a post expressing a wish there would be a 16GB module would work. This poster misinterpreted that to mean that the 16GB would work and they bought the 16GB modules and it didn't work. (The Mini in question also uses an Ivy Bridge CPU.)

    By the way, if you haven't already noticed, Crucial does not list the 16GB DDR3 module as being compatible with the mid-2012 15" MBP.
     
  4. ZapNZs macrumors 68000

    ZapNZs

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #4
    Crucial Support told me this as well, noting explicitly that 16 GB DIMMs are not compatible with any of the MBPs with upgradable RAM.
     

Share This Page