Can you put 32GB in a MacBook Pro 9,1?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by h4lp m3, May 21, 2014.

  1. h4lp m3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #1
    I have a MacBookPro9,1 with a 2.3GHz core i7 and 16GB RAM. I'm wondering if I can go to 32GB?
     
  2. TechZeke macrumors 68020

    TechZeke

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Rialto, CA
    #2
    Nope, the MBP has two RAM slots. So it can take a maximum of two 8GB-RAM sticks.
     
  3. h4lp m3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #3

    Those pastors :p
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Yes, if you can find 16GB SO-DIMMs.
     
  5. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #5
    Which are not supported by the Intel CPU ;) Even if they were commercially available.
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Oh, but it is supported by the CPU ;)
     
  7. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #7
    Well, read for yourself. It seems that Intel CPUs do not support 8Gbit RAM packages which are required to have a 16Gb SO-DIMM. That, and there seems to be only one manufacturer of such RAM modules, but they do not seem to be available and even if they were, the price would be extremely high.
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    With what's available today, no, you can't.
    Intel says otherwise:
     
  9. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #9
    You didn't read my posts completely. Of course Intel supports 32GB — if they are present in the system as 4x 8GB RAM modules. But because of the memory controller implementation, they appear not being able to support a 2x 16GB configuration. The quote is in my above post.
     
  10. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #10
    The MBP 9,1 was the mid-2012 model, with the i7 3615QM.

    I suppose your point still stands, that also reports max memory of 32 GB on 2 channels but 16 GB SO-DIMMs are extremely difficult to find.
     
  11. kelon111 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    #11
    I heard that there are some 16 GB modules in the works but I don't know if they would be compatible due to BIOS limitations.

    If you need 32 GB of RAM , you could look into gaming laptops or workstation laptops.
     
  12. Bending Pixels macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #12
    According to Other World Computing's site, the 2012 MBP's support....wait for it...wait for it....a maximum of 16GB of RAM.
     
  13. TechGod macrumors 68040

    TechGod

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    That's still technically wrong.
     
  14. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    No, it's not wrong. Those MBPs do support up to 16GB of RAM.
     
  15. TechGod macrumors 68040

    TechGod

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #15
    Technically they can support upto 32GB of RAM. obviously if there were more RAM slots then the Mac's could support 32GB of RAM
     
  16. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #16
    Technically, they don't. As there aren't more RAM slots in a MBP, they can't.
     
  17. h4lp m3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #17
    They should make a Thunderbolt dock that gives you more RAM slots ;)
     
  18. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #18
    And immediately drop the performance of your computer by over 80%
     
  19. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #19
    I wouldn't be surprised if Apple announced a 32GiB RAM option for the rMBP, which would put them on equal footing in this area with mobile workstations (except those using desktop processors) for the next year, as there will be no mobile CPUs supporting DDR4 yet.

    But even if they offer 2TB of storage, that would be massively expensive, and offer less guarantee of timely expansion possibilities.
     
  20. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #20
    I really doubt that. They simply don't have enough space on the mainboard to put double the amount of RAM modules. Otherwise they would gave offered such am option long time ago.
     
  21. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #21
    Redesigned rMBP.
     

Share This Page