Can Airport Express play with Mesh WiFi

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by skipcooney, Dec 10, 2017.

  1. skipcooney macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #1
    I am updating my home WiFi from an old Airport Extreme to a Netgear Orbi Mesh WIFi system. In my old setup I have been using the Airport Extreme with an Airport Express in client mode connected to an old stereo receiver, allowing me to Airplay music to the receiver. Now I am wondering is there is any way to continue to use the Airport Express with the new Mesh WiFi router. I imagine connecting them by ethernet is an option, but it would be difficult to run the wire. Is there any inexpernsive way to save the problem of how to wirelessly play music on the old receiver? I also have an unused Apple TV to throw in the mix, but my receiver does not have any optical audio inputs.
     
  2. techwarrior macrumors 6502a

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    AP Express in client mode is similar to connecting to any WiFi with any device. It will work on any WiFi network as long as the network supports Bonjour\UPNP (Airplay). Client mode does not make APExpress another WiFi access point.

    The optical out on ATV 3 and earlier can be connected to an Aux or RCA port on your receiver with a DAC such as this. However, you will lose audio quality without a receiver with an optical input.
     
  3. skipcooney thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #3
    So how do I connect the AP Express to the Mesh WiFi router without running ethernet?
    I will use the ATV 3 with a DAC if I cannot get the AP Express to work.
     
  4. waw74, Dec 10, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2017

    waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #4
    airport is just apple's name for wifi hardware, it's the same standard that everyone uses.
    mesh network is the same as regular wifi, but it uses an extra radio to handle the connection back to the main base.

    set the airport up to join a network, it will join just like your phone or laptop does
    when doing this, i recommend connecting to your computer via ethernet. as that's the most reliable way to ensure you laptop and the airport can talk while you're configuring.
    you also want to get the Orbi up and fully functional before you try to do this.

    **you can move the airport to get it setup (for ease of running an ethernet cable), once it's working you can unplug and move to it's "home"

    **if you don't have an ethernet port (or dongle) for you mac, you can plug the airport into your main router (or possible into one of the Orbi if they have ethernet jacks) . And your laptop will use your established wi-fi to connect to that ethernet port.


    ------
    also i think the Orbi have ethernet ports, you can just run a cable to the airport and turn off wifi on the airport. if orbi placement allows for that
     
  5. techwarrior macrumors 6502a

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    If the AP Express is currently setup in Client Mode (Join a wireless network), and you setup your new WiFi network with the same Network Name (SSID) and password, then you won't need to do a thing to use the AP Express in the new WiFi.

    If you use a different SSID and password, you will need to update the WiFi credentials on the Express for the new WiFi, but basically the same way you set it up originally.

    Airport Utility on iOS or Mac can do this over WiFi. Or, you can temporarily connect the Express to LAN and do the configuration update.

    Either way, go to the Wireless Tab in AP Utility, and select Join a wireless network, provide the credentials as you would on any WiFi device joining the network, and then perform an Update.
     
  6. skipcooney thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #6
    Thank you techwarrior. I finally got the Orbi network set up using the same SSIID and password from my old network. The airport express works just fine in client mode as an airplay device.
     

Share This Page