Can best buy install ram without voiding warranty?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kyleplusitunes, Jan 28, 2011.

  1. kyleplusitunes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Here's the deal. I called apple, they want 359.00 dollars to increase the ram in my 2010 17 inch MBP. I called best buy and asked if they could do this without voiding the warranty. They said they could, and it's nearly 1/4 the price.

    However I just wanted to double check before I took it in to make sure my warranty isn't voided by this.

    Can anyone confirm? Thanks!
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  4. leftywamumonkey macrumors 6502a

    leftywamumonkey

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    It won't void the warranty but do you really want Best But to do it? Its a very simple process.
     
  5. greytmom macrumors 68040

    greytmom

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #5
    I would do it myself, rather than paying someone else to do it.
     
  6. Brettla macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Monona,WI
    #6
    just do it yourself, you might even learn a few things in the process.
     
  7. kyleplusitunes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I was under the assumption removing the bottom plate would void my warranty? Can someone point ne to the correct ram I'd need for a 17 inch MBP with a 4 gig chip installed already?
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    Read the links I just posted.
    RAM is installed in pairs. You don't have a single 4GB stick installed; you have 2 x 2GB sticks. You would replace this with 2 x 4GB sticks.

    Buying RAM
    Installing RAM
    Matched RAM on Intel Macs
    Understanding Intel Mac RAM

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/Apple_MacBook_MacBook_Pro/Upgrade/DDR3
     
  9. kyleplusitunes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thanks a lot for all the info!
     
  10. kyleplusitunes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Is this the right ram? Listed for 97.99 for an 8gb kit? Is this the fastest ram possible?

    http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=MacBook%20Pro%202.53GHz%20Intel%20Core%20i5%20%2817-inch%20DDR3%29%20MC024LL/A
     
  11. Brettla macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Monona,WI
    #12
    That's the correct ram, it's the right speed, there is faster out there, but this is the right spec for your computer, anything faster won't do anything in your machine.
     
  12. smallnshort247 macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #13
    Don't pay Apple OR Best Buy to do it. I worked at Best Buy before and their GeekSquad people do nothing but rip people off. The RAM is honestly one of the easiest parts to replace. I'd do it for free for any friend who asked. Anywho, do you know anyone who is pretty decent w/ opening a computer? There are YouTube videos that walk you through step by step of how to do it. Good luck!
     
  13. kyleplusitunes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #14
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thanks a ton!
     
  14. ExiledMafia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #16
    You can definitely do it yourself, there are tons of videos out there detailing how to do it. But if you don't feel comfortable I would take it to best buy.
     
  15. saejro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #17
    I was told memory and harddrive upgrades do not void the warranty. I agree with others. Do it on your own. Check out OWC to fine the right memory and follow their directions.

    http://www.macsales.com/
     
  16. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #18
    I would hire a gorilla to work on my MBP before Best Buy. As others said, do it yourself as its very easy and quick. Your computer will be in better hands as well. ;)
     

Share This Page