Can I downgrade to Tiger and restore data using Time Machine?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rympy, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. rympy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    I've been having some funny problems lately.
    Im experiencing problems with my optical drive including burning CDs and DVDs and I even had a problem reading my Mac OSX install disc 1 while I have been contemplating a downgrade - It would tell me that i inserted a blank DVD. Well i put in disc 2 and it seemed to read that ok, so I tried disc 1 again and now i'm able to read it. I'm going to try a hardware test now that I've got the disc..

    I've also been experiencing some latency issues with GarageBand and Logic:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=441263

    and I'm getting the feeling I have a lemon of a MBP..? Or Leopard Issues?

    I'm curious if I can do a clean install of TIGER and use my time machine backups to restore data and apps?

    Or any other recommendations?

    Thanks!!!

    MBP, 2GB, 2.2GHz, 10.5.2
     
  2. McGiord, Feb 29, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #2
    Your TimeMachine's backups will only be recovered with Leopard. So you can do your Tiger test, but will be able to recover the time machine backup if you go back to Leopard.
    ________
    vaporizer
     
  3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #3
    You'll have to restore your data using Leopard. Tiger doesn't support all the necessary hardlinks.
     
  4. rympy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    Thanks very much for the replies!
    As I suspected...

    I have ben reading other posts and I understand that it is possible to to a clean install of Leopard with my Leopard DVD and then restore my data AND apps with my Time Machine backups? That I will be prompted during the Leopard install to do such a restore?

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page