can i install 3gs parts in my 3g?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by fleali88, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. fleali88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #1
    Ok I've googled and searched, and I cant find anything on this, Ive looked at the take aparts on 3g and 3gS iphones. and it looks to me the all the parts are shaped the same. does any one have any proof or know for sure, if I can install parts for an iphone 3gS into my iphone 3g?
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    No.. different layouts
     
  3. fleali88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #3
    are there any parts that would work?, like the camera?
     
  4. n19htmare macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #4
    only some parts will work. the internals for both are different.

    both use the same buttons... both use the same sim tray, both use the same screen but different digitizers (could be interchangeable since the only difference is coating).

    No you can't swap the camera. Because the 3g board wont be able to control it (higher pixel, autofocus etc).

    What exactly u trying to change?
     
  5. Shenaniganz08 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #5
    He thinks he will be the first to try and put the 3gs camera into the 3g

    its been done before and it doesn't work ( different hardware = different drivers)

     
  6. fleali88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #6
    no.... i simply want to know for experimental purposes, but i would like to know if the battery would work.
     
  7. Shenaniganz08 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #7
    WHY

    just use a 3g one
     
  8. fleali88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #8
    doesnt the 3gs have better battery life?
     
  9. tofagerl macrumors 6502a

    tofagerl

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #9
    It's not a standardized PC; it's a highly customized consumer device with software and hardware designed only to work with each other. The 3G doesn't have the know-how to use the 3gs parts, except the parts that are used in both.
     
  10. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #10
    Will a cat liver fit in a dog? Perhaps, but why the hell would I care to find out for sure?
     
  11. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7D11 Safari/528.16)

    Better battery life doesn't necessarily mean better battery. They could use the same battery and components that are less power consuming, like the CPU, to get better battery life. There are tons of factors in battery life, not just the battery itself.
     
  12. Shenaniganz08 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #12
    I'm starting to like this guy :D
     
  13. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
  14. boucheman414 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #14
    I have done it

    I can tell you that I have just successfully put a 3gs battery, and logic board into basically a 3g frame. The reason for doing this was that the 3gs was dropped a few times leaving the lock button almost shot. Also the metal rim of the 3gs was coming apart and causing some problems. Then some other weird stuff started happening. So I decided to try to take the logic board and battery out of the 3gs and put them into the 3g.
    Now, to do this take out the logic board and pull out the battery and the sync port (search youtube for some "how to" vids). Then, simply pull the same parts out of the 3g along with the camera(the camera will not work so just take it out to save you the trouble, also I heard it wouldn't work anyways because of software mismatch but I didn't try it I just took the whole camera out). Then it's a matter of just replacing parts. Firmly press the 3gs battery back into place in the 3g shell, then replace the sync port and logic board. Also, I forgot to mention you need to keep the whole 3gs screen assembly (glass digitizer and all) to put into the 3g shell, sry bout that, but it fits right in the 3g. Then simply reconnect all the connectors and place the screen back on and screw it in. That's it. And everything works just like the 3gs but in a 3g "body" even the headphone jack is compatible so you dont have to replace it. Just the battery, logic board, and screen.
     
  15. Egobudike macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #15
    One of my Friends has also done this by using a 3G battery with 3G frame...god knows how did he managed it exactly..may be the similar way you mentioned..and then using camera and watching videos & everything...
     
  16. corbidougu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #16
    Because the 3g board wont be able to control it[​IMG]
     
  17. Greencardman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #17
    iFixit sells separate batteries for the 3G and 3GS, indicating that you'll run into problems trying to use them interchangeably.
     

Share This Page