Can I make my G4 Cube support 802.1n?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by daizhuo, Jul 28, 2012.

  1. daizhuo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #1
    hello, guys, looking forward to find the answer of the title was post.
    Is there an Airport Card supported 802.1n can replace the original card that just support 802.1b?
    As a new user of G4 Cube has lots of issue unknown. Thank u for ur help!
     
  2. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #2
    You won't be able to directly replace the wireless card from your cube, but there are quite a few USB wireless-n dongles that work with macs. I personally use the airlink-101 golden N.
     
  3. daizhuo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #3
    Oh, Yes! I almost forget USB wireless dongles. Thank ur for ur mind!
     
  4. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #4
    THe G4 cube only has USB 1.1, so I'd have to wonder if any of the wireless dongles would work at all.
     
  5. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #5
    I have used the airlink extensively on my PM G4 digital audio. I believe they only have USB 1.1.
     
  6. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #6
    Good to know that USB 1.1 is useful for something. :)
     
  7. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #7
    Regardless of whether it will work, 802.11b is 11mbit max, USB 1.1 is 12mbit max. So USB wont give you any noticeable improvement.
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    Because your Cube has USB 1.1, you'll see WiFi b speeds.
     
  9. daizhuo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #9
    May be best way is to use ethernet......no other way?
     
  10. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #10
    Airport express was one of the best purchases I've ever made.
     
  11. mike457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario
    #11
    I, too, went with an Airport Express to solve this problem.
     
  12. Lil Chillbil macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
  13. alexreich macrumors 6502a

    alexreich

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #13
    So you plugged it into the Cube via Ethernet, and the Express was used as the wireless device, providing data to the Cube via Ethernet?

    Sorry for the confusing post, I've just wanted to to use my AirPort Express (or buy another one) to get my non-wireless machines online for quite some time. I could've sworn that I read that you couldn't do that, but if you can that'd be awesome.
     
  14. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #14
    The time capsule is in the living room with the ds's modem.
    The airport express wirelessly bridges the network as if it was physically connected to the tc. So yes you can use the express to make your wired machines wireless.
     
  15. alexreich macrumors 6502a

    alexreich

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #15
    Awesome. Thanks for the info.
     
  16. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
  17. daizhuo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #17
    I want to make less wire if it's possible, so I would rather to find a better way to solve this problem. Using Aiprot Express will plunge one more cable to the cube, it obey the design concept, less is more.
     
  18. burnout8488 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Endwell, NY
    #18
    There is no available bus, other than ethernet, that will support the speeds you are after. Wireless-N over USB would be worthless, as it would not be able to exceed 11Mbps.

    Firewire would be the only other option, but I'm not sure there is anything available that would convert into an N-adapter. Maybe I'm wrong, not sure.
     
  19. daizhuo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #19
    I saw Moshi has a product called iLynx FireWire 800 hub can convert firewire to several usb2.0. But I'm not sure weather USB ROOTER can run with it or not.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  20. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #20
    Notice at the top that has a USB and FireWire going to the computer. There is also nothing short of a full blown computer that can convert USB to FireWire.
     
  21. mike457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario
    #21
    I have spent a lot of time looking at this myself over the years. Unfortunately, the Airport Express is the only viable way to obtain wireless n on a Cube. My biggest regret of the Cube design is that Apple didn't fit it with an external PCMCIA slot instead of an internal airport slot.
     
  22. daizhuo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #22
    The usb plugged to computer is for getting power for the hub. I believe it will give Cube USB2.0. I just confuse that it support USB Router or not.
     
  23. mike457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario
    #23
    You are mistaken about this. As the description on Amazon (and other websites) shows, "iLynx provides four downstream USB 2.0 ports (backward compatible with USB 1.1) and two FireWire 800 ports (backward compatible with FireWire 400). " In other words, it connects by USB to the computer to act as a hub with four USB ports, and it connects by Firewire to provide two Firewire ports. Since the Cube only supports USB 1.1, the USB ports on the Moshi will only run at 1.1 speeds. That will give you roughly the equivalent of wireless G, not wireless N.
     
  24. daizhuo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #24
    Thank u for ur note!
     
  25. Major.Robto macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #25
    move cube to the router and get to it via vcn

    also if you want to go wireless get this box,

    http://www.tp-link.com/common/subject/wireless/TL-WR700N/?siteid=4

    it can be a wifi like card thing,
    plug the computer in and it will conect to thte wifi and give you a enthernet conection to it,

    Much cheaper then the apple box you can buy.
     

Share This Page