Can I Put A 2009 iMac Logic Board Into 2010 Body?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ocelittle, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. ocelittle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #1
    I bought a used iMac for parts off of Craigslist. I replaced the PSU and it's still not running. The Genius's claim it's the logic board and unfortunately eBay isn't turning up ANY results for 2010 logic boards.

    However, there is a Late 2009 i5 logic board:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/661-5428-Logic-B...

    Would I be able to swap out the one I have (which I believe is a 3.2GHZ i3) with this one? They have the same iMac model number attached (A1312)...it would save me a ton of money rather than going through a service shop and spending upwards of a thousand dollars.
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Theoretically yes; however, have you tried ifixit?
     
  3. ocelittle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #3
    I cross posted to get as much info as possible :D

    Just hoping that someone might see it and have a similar experience as I am. I can send it away to different services, but they are all incredibly pricey. I'd rather just pay 300+ and put it in myself (using iFixit to guide me) rather than send it in for 600+.
     

Share This Page