Can I put my iPhone 5s sim in a 6+ without any problems?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Trickhot3102, Nov 27, 2014.

  1. Trickhot3102 macrumors 6502

    Trickhot3102

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    #1
    Hello friends! I am considering buying a 6+ Unlocked for myself. I have an iPhone 5s on contract for two years. If I were to put the 5s sim in the 6+, would there be any problems with Verizon? Thanks!
     
  2. raggdoll macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto GTA
  3. Trickhot3102 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Trickhot3102

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    #3
    That's great to hear!! I thought they'd give me a problem because I'm on contract
     
  4. the caveman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #4

    Thats the beauty of the GSM is that you can put your existing sim in any gsm compatible phone (as long as it is unlocked) all day regardless wether that line is on contract or not. That is one of the reasons i ve been with att and tmobile my whole life.
     
  5. Trickhot3102 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Trickhot3102

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    #5
    But wait, my phone is CDMA because it's on Verizon...will it still work?
     
  6. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #6
    I thought the 5/5S uses a different SIM card size than the 6:rolleyes:
     
  7. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #7
    I have not lived in the US for a couple of years and it is possible that Verizon might have changed since then. It is very interesting reading the answers to the question asked here but I seem to remember that Verizon was running a CDMA network and the SIM card was really for use on GSM networks and when travelling international using a Verizon phone.

    Unless there has been major changes then I would say the answer to your question is no.
     
  8. Jazper macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #8
    Yeah, but he wants to put a 5S sim into a 6+ - they use the same SIM. ;)
     
  9. KdParker macrumors 601

    KdParker

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    Everywhere
  10. harleymhs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
  11. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #12
  12. dcharleyultra macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    #13

    You're welcome!
     
  13. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #14
    Both the 5s and 6 are LTE devices. Verizon uses SIMs now, so swapping works. For that matter the CDMA radios are active even in the AT&T and T-Mobile iPhone 6 so you can put an active Verizon SIM in them and it will work.
     
  14. the caveman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #15

    Yes, since iphone 5 they all use the same nano sim.

    Verizon Iphone 6 is unlocked on the GSM side, so any sim will work.
     
  15. onepoint macrumors 6502a

    onepoint

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    FWIW, I just picked up a VZW iPhone 6 at Best Buy. In the parking lot (before turning the new phone on) I swapped the SIM out of my 5s and put it in the 6, and it's up and running with no issues.
     
  16. the caveman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #17

    Thats why verizon iphone 5s was, and still is very desired model for people who want the truly global phone.
     
  17. nebo1ss, Nov 28, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2014

    nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #18
    Still not convinced on this one. Until August 2014 Verizon was carrying only data on LTE and voice calls on their CDMA network. The introduction of VoLTE this year allowed Verizon to start using LTE for voice but not on the 5s only on the 6. This would surely have required the Iphone 5s IMEI to be registered on the CDMA network.

    It is also likely that neither the Verizon LTE network or VoLTE are universally available across the US and hence the Iphone six would need to roam onto the CDMA network and surely still need to be registered on there which involves more than a SIM change.
     
  18. lilfool4life macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #19
    But Verizon's iPhone 5s and up are unlock devices which means you can take it to other companies to use, besides sprint I believe (don't quote me on that). So the 5s, 6 and 6 plus from verizon can be used on AT&T and T-mobile as well. I know this for a fact as my sister took her phone to AT&T and it works perfectly fine with no problems.

    As far as using the 5s sim to the 6/6 plus, it still works fine including the VoLTE which again I know for a fact it works from experience.
     
  19. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #20
    I tried it myself with a Verizon SIM in a "T-Mobile" iPhone 6. Everything worked, including 1xRTT when I turned off LTE entirely. The CDMA radio is turned on in all US iPhones.
     
  20. harleymhs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #21
    Thanks!
     
  21. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #22
    We are discussing two different issues. I am Aware you can take a Verizon phone to any GSM/LTE network like ATT TMobile etc. but that is not the subject of the discussion.
     
  22. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #23
    Just wondering, is the CDMA radio activated in the international variants of the iPhone 6/6+?

    As far as I know, the only thing that differentiates the international variant from the North American variant is the addition of 4 TDD-LTE bands.
     
  23. lilfool4life macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #24
    .... ok
     
  24. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #25
    I believe it is. That's the same model that Sprint gets. There is a third version sold only in China that has the 4 TD-LTE bands but not the CDMA radio.
     

Share This Page