Can I use iphone without data plan

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by efet, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. efet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #1
    My little brother wants an iphone. But my parents dont want him have the internet access so they called for my help.
    1. Can they buy a brand new phone (iphone 4) from At&t and not have the data plan?
    2. If I buy a second hand iphone 3GS, would they need to add a data plan? Would at&t force them to add a data plan?

    FYI, Parents use AT&T.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    AT&T puts it in the contract that if you have an iPhone, they will add data. So it may work for a while, but they will catch it and add the data plan to the account.
     
  3. tempusfugit macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    Are they going to block him from wifi too?

    This seems like a completely ridiculous idea. The kid is either old enough for a smartphone or not.
     
  4. efet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    He is a senior in high school and taking his SATs they dont want him get distracted. There is no wifi at school.
     
  5. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #5
    I agree with the person above. He will still have access to Internet via Wifi. If your parents are afraid about what he searches, you can add an add-on service for a few bucks to make sure no bad searches are searched for. (idr the name of this feature)

    Or they could block safari and youtube via parental controls on the iPhone and pay for data (but thats useless)

    I don't know, its just pointless either way since the phone still has Wifi.

    Get him an ipod touch, I guess?
    how old is he


    He should wait until after his SATs, in my opinion. He's more than capable of a smartphone though.
     
  6. crawsfire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    #6
    You can use it without a data plan. Just use a sim card from a provider other than AT&T that uses the AT&T network. I use Pure TalkUSA. You can use a AT&T gophone Sim but when I do I can still connect to the Edge network. Since you don't want internet to be available then go with a provider like pure Talk that doesn't offer data.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    1. No
    2.Yes, AT&T will automaticly add the appropriate iphone data to your account.
    He can use it with no data with an AT&T prepaid go phone simcard or unlocked on Tmobile.


     
  8. IrishVixen macrumors 68020

    IrishVixen

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #8
    Either he's responsible enough to handle it or he isn't. My fourteen year old niece has had a fully operable smartphone for two years and she still gets straight A's. If they're that worried about it, they should wait until after SAT's are done.

    The prepaid options are viable, but to use any but AT&T's requires a JB and unlock. AT&T prepaid is pricey for what you actually get. And as others said, trying to use a 3Gs or 4 as a dumbphone won't work. AT&T detects those automatically and will simply add the plan in, like it or not.
     
  9. crawsfire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    #9
    Actually AT&T recently changed their prepaid plans to 10 cents a minute. it used to be 25 cents so they are closer to being competitive.

    These are the providers that I know of that you can use their sim cards in an iphone without a data plan and without being jailbroken and unlocked because they use the AT&T network:
    Pure Prepaid
    Pure TalkUSA
    7-11 Speak Out wireless (be careful some use sprint and some AT&T)
    Consumer Cellular
    GTC wireless
    Jolt Wireless
    Locus Mobile (be careful some use Verizon and some AT&T)
    TracFone (be careful they use multiple providers including AT&T)

    I am sure there are many others including AT&T prepaid which is the stupidest choice because then they know you are using an iphone. The google geniuses will tell you that using another provider is not possible. It is, and AT&T will never know you have an iphone if you use them.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    How is that the stupidest choice and why does it matter if they know you're using an iphone with a prepaid AT&T sim? They cant add a data plan, change or do anything about it on your prepaid account.
    Many people are using Gophone sims with iphones with no probs.

     
  11. crawsfire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    #11
    1.
    Because the OP doesn't want access to data and you still get Edge with a prepaid gophone sim because you are using an iphone.

    2.
    Because although AT&T prepaid rates are better now they still suck compared to some of the others available.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    Settings/general/network/ Cellular data "Off"
    There you have it.
    Plenty of people use iphones with no data with prepaid AT&T sims.
    Not sure on the rates though but with what you're saying about 10 cents a minute doesnt sound bad.

     
  13. crawsfire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    #13
    Quit trying to save face, if you use a gophone sim, data is available, do you really think the OP would have posted the question if turning data off in settings was sufficient?



    Quit giving wrong advice so I don't have to shadow you.
    It is getting tedious.:D
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    What are you talking about?
    I guess you didnt know that since 4.0 you can turn off carrier data on the phone? You got alot more shadowing to do in order to learn I guess:D
    If he turns data off in settings and uses a gophone sim he would be able to use an iphone with no data period.
    Not sure if you can use edge or 3G data on a gophone sim without having one of the added expensive prepaid data plans so Im not positive if what you claim above is correct. If it is I gave a suggestion on it.
    Have a nice day.


     
  15. crawsfire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    #15
    Of course I know that. Like I said do you really think the OP wants to rely on a setting to limit data instead of an impossibility to use data. Use your brain.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Im still not positive you can access carrier data on prepaid without a plan but just to play along with you there's also other ways to block carrier data on stock iphones by installing a fake apn;)
    Please continue though.

     
  17. crawsfire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    #17
    So you've gone from "turn off data in settings" to "install a fake APN".
    Pretty wacky choices to avoid doing the smartest thing just because you didn't know about it.
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    You're the one with the wacky choices Mr Froyo on your 3GS.
    But keep it up:D

     

Share This Page