can i use this RAM to upgrade a new mac mini?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by kjay80, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. kjay80 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    #1
    http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-DDR3-...A1333C9/dp/tech-data/B002YUF8ZG/ref=de_a_smtd

    Product Features
    Ultra Stable Laptop Memory from Corsair - the Leader in Performance Memory Solutions
    Designed for current generation notebooks, mini-PCs and netbooks
    Microsoft® Windows® Vista? and Windows® 7 operating systems
    8GB (2 X 4GB) DDR3 Laptop Memory Kit - 1333MHz Unbuffered CL 9 SODIMM Memory 9-9-9-24 1.5V
    Lifetime Warranty
    Technical Details
    Model: CMSO8GX3M2A1333C9
    Item Package Quantity: 1
    Hardware Platform: PC
    RAM Memory Technology: DRAM, DDR3 SDRAM
    Form Factor: SO DIMM 204-pin
    Memory Storage Capacity: 8.0 GB
    Memory Speed: 1333 MHz
    Memory Specification Compliance: PC3-10600
    Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty

    And it's only $44.99 after rebate!!!
     
  2. kjay80 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    #3
    one more question about the base model mac mini($599),
    according to crucial, it says a maximum of 2GB per slot, which is a total 4GB only!!!
    is this true?
     
  3. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #4
    no I am running 8gb in my 2011 2.3GHz mini along with a 256gb ssd
     
  4. BeatCrazy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #5
    Someone here reported yesterday that this exact RAM would not boot his 2.3 mini.
     
  5. thedenethor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #6
    If you have problems with aftermarket RAM upgrades you may try following articles:

    Reset PRAM and NVRAM

    and

    Reset PMU

    Above articles worked for me on mid 2010 macmini with Kingston 4x2 DDR3-1033
     
  6. kjay80 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
  7. Snips macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    #8
    I think the onus is on someone to prove it won't ;)
     
  8. indiekiduk, Jul 25, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011

    indiekiduk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #9
    The guy on the SSD thread confirmed it works. One guy got a bad stick.
     
  9. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #10
    That would indicate bad RAM. The memory specs are correct.
     
  10. aeaglex07 macrumors 6502

    aeaglex07

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Location:
    United States
    #11
    Just want to chime in and report that this I installed this RAM in my new mini and it works. So far no problems.
     
  11. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #12
    works fine in my i7 mini server. getting them out of the packaging without breaking them was tough though. passed all Rember tests after installing.
     
  12. jaykk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Location:
    CA
    #13
  13. Baby Mac macrumors regular

    Baby Mac

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #14
    Amazon price difference on those 2 is down to $5. I've never had a problem with Crucial. I think RAM is pretty reliable in general.
     
  14. BeatCrazy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #15
    When you bump up the RAM in the base mini, the HD3000 shared memory goes from 288MB to 512MB. I think that can only be a good thing!
     
  15. Jimmdean macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    #16
    It can also bump the GPU performance of the 3000 above the ATI GPU in applications where amount of VRAM is key - see Barefeats testing...
     
  16. BeatCrazy, Jul 29, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011

    BeatCrazy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #17
    Interesting. What real-world applications rely on lots of VRAM?

    I'm not a gamer (at all!).

    EDIT: Oh I see VRAM is the same as RAM designation for video cards. And I understand you'll need more VRAM for higher pixel-count displays. I guess this would help in a Thunderbolt display with 2560-by-1440 res.
     
  17. Jimmdean macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    #18
    Motion is probably the best example, although that hardly means this is a recommended machine for that - it just shows that the $200 premium for a discrete GPU may lean more towards profitability than any kind of real-word performance gains across the board. gaming would be the exception, but then again this isn't exactly the recommended machine for that either.
     
  18. Evostar* macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #19
    installed some kingston 1600 in mine. not sure if it does it any justice. but it seems to be recognised.
    [​IMG]
    1 by Evostar*, on Flickr
    [​IMG]
    4 by Evostar*, on Flickr
     
  19. BeatCrazy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #20
    Interesting that the mini lets your RAM run at 1600. I would have thought it would have clocked down to 1333Mhz, even though it's rated higher.
     
  20. A.C macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #21
    I purchased the exact RAM for my new 2011 mini. It worked initially however quickly started causing random kernel panics and eventually a total system shut down - which would not reboot - only repeat strings of 3 beeps.

    I got the stock RAM back in and everything's fine. I'm gonna give Corsair one more chance & try a replacement. If that bugs up too, I'm gonna try a different OEM.

    Just my experience/$.02
     
  21. NayPaps macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #22
  22. biscuit141 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #23
    How long did it work for before it started giving you issues?

    I just put it into my mini and so far so good. Recognized 8gb right away.

    It was enticing because it was $54.99 with free shipping from Amazon and also there is a $10 mail in rebate on this RAM. Hope I didn't make a mistake.

    I always thought of Corsair as a good name brand RAM, why is it giving people issues?
     
  23. Fastcast, Jul 29, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011

    Fastcast macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #24
    Bought the 8gb kit G-Skill from New Egg for our 2011 - 2.3......Installed today and tested with Rember. All tests passed and so far so good!

    According to iStat the exhaust fan did hit 5400rpm and the CPU was at 67c when I heard the fan roaring, during the Rember tests. Mini sounded like it was about to hover off the desk. lol

    BTW....Vram on the HD3000 did bump up to 512mb with the ram upgrade as BeatCrazy mentioned.
     

Share This Page