Can MacBook Pro 15" Late 2011 have 16GB ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Halvard, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
    • By using Mactracker
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)
     
  3. Halvard thread starter macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #4
    According to Apple.com it's only 8GB, but on MacTracker they say it's 16.
    Who should I believe?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    See my post.
     
  5. ahdickter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    #6
    You can do it. 16GB will cost you $180, but it's possible
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #7
    Believe Hellhammer & GGJstudios and the information they posted. The 2011 MBP will hold up to 16GB of RAM. Many folks in the forums have already done so. :)
     
  7. Aliascognito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
  8. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #9
    From everything I have read, the answer to the question I am about to ask is "NO" ---- on the "Late 2010 MacBook Pro 2.8GHz" supporting 16GB of RAM. Everything I have found shows it only supports 8GB, while all of the post-February 2011 models support up to 16GB. So will it support 16GB? Again, I am guessing NO is the obvious answer. The 2.8GHz i7 supports no more RAM than the earlier 2010 models, correct?
     
  9. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #10
    No.

    Yours will support up to 8 GB RAM; only the 2011 Sandy Bridge MBPs support 16 GB.
     
  10. Aliascognito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    Late 2011 MacBooks are Intel Sandy Bridges?
     
  11. vsighi macrumors 6502

    vsighi

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
  12. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #13
    All machines released in 2011 are Sandy Bridge machines.

    All Sandy Bridge machines support 16GB of RAM.
     
  13. HippieMagic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #14
    The base model 2.2ghz one is a Core i7 2675QM.
     
  14. theSeb, Dec 28, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011

    theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #15
    Please stop. The apple specs were written when 8 GB sticks were not readily available. The 2011 machines do support 16 GB of ram. This is not a debate or a chance for you to tell us what you think - it is fact and it would be great if people like yourself could stop spreading misinformation.

    16 GB is not a rumour and plenty of people have installed 2 x 8GB sticks.
     
  15. vsighi, Dec 28, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 28, 2011

    vsighi macrumors 6502

    vsighi

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #16
    Newegg.com CORSAIR Model CMSA16GX3M2A1333C9 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Memory for Apple $ 179.99

    Compatible with the following Apple MacBook, MacBook Pro & iMac: MC936, MC816, MC815, MC814, MC813, MC812, MC725, MC723, MC721, MC724, MC700, MC309, MD311, MD318, MD322, MD313, MD 314 Density: 16GB (2x8GB SO-DIMM) Speed: 1333MHz CL9 Timing: 9-9-9-24 (1333 MHz)

    In case anyone want to try this memory and tell all of "misinformed" members if they work or not.
    Oh and next time post some solid information then just your arrogant tone.
     
  16. danyo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #17
    Or you can just Google it and realize that it's become common knowledge nowadays that 16gb 100% works on all 2011 MBPs. O_O
     
  17. theSeb, Dec 28, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011

    theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #18
    I am not getting your point. Lots of people have confirmed the point that you're trying to argue against. There are plenty of threads here confirming that 16 GBs works in the 2011 MBP and plenty of tech sites have shown that this works. What exactly are you arguing now? Can you not accept the facts and move on?
     
  18. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  19. Jiten, Dec 28, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011

    Jiten macrumors 6502a

    Jiten

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #20
    Historically Apple's official RAM limit is usually below what many of its machines are capable of. Check the RAM section of each model in this Mac database website:

    http://www.everymac.com

    Also the 16GB RAM capability of Early 2011 Macs was first publicly confirmed by OWC:

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/1333DDR3S16P/
     
  20. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #21
    Looks photoshopped. :rolleyes:

    ;) :D :D :D
     
  21. daneoni, Dec 28, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011

    daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
  22. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #23
    lol. Let's not confuse this discussion. It would appear that Intel have updated their specs and some of the CPUs in the 2011 MBP line-up do indeed support 32 GBs, but I don't know anyone that has acquired 16 GB sticks to be able to prove this. Heck, I don't even know where to find them in the UK.
     
  23. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #24
    At least down at the hardware level they do. There are only three Sandy Bridge dies: Dual core with HD 2000 graphics, dual core with HD 3000 graphics, and quad core (apparently it comes with HD 4000 graphics only, some SKUs simply have some EUs disabled). Hence all SNB CPUs should support up to 32GB of RAM. However, there may be some firmware limitation but I don't think those have been tested on laptops (very few lappies with 4 RAM slots and 16GB SODIMMs don't exist yet).
     
  24. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England

Share This Page