Can one format a hard drive to HFS+ easily?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Yasin1, Feb 7, 2009.

1. Yasin1 macrumors newbie

Hey everyone, I'm rather new to all of this, but I was just wondering if it is relatively straightforward to format an external hard drive (for use with time machine) which comes as FAT or NTFS formatted (out the box) and format it to HFS+ (journaled)?

I only ask this because it seems a bit strange how companies like wd and seagate will charge extra money for a special 'mac formatted' version of their hard drives (take the wd passports and the seagate freeagent Go's as an example)

If this formatting to HFS is fairly easy to do, once a standard drive has been formatted to HFS file-system, will it essentially be the same as buying one of their 'mac formatted' drives??

Oh yes...how do I go about reformatting this new (out of the box hard drive...disk utility?) - I haven't bought it yet...just wanted to know if your actually paying for someone else to format it for you, or whether there was some other differences.

Thanks for your help, and sorry its a bit long winded!

2. gnasher729 macrumors P6

gnasher729

You start Disk Utility, which is in the Utilities folder inside the application folder (in the Finder, press Command-Shift-U, which will go to the Utilities folder). Disk Utility will show the drive, and then you can partition it any way you want, and format each partition as HFS+.

Selling a "Mac-formatted" disk is just trying to get your money. Actually, if you format it with Disk Utility, you know it's done right. If you buy a "Mac-formatted" disk, you don't know what you will actually get.

3. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

sickmacdoc