Can the Mac pro be over clock

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Veins, Oct 31, 2013.

  1. Veins macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #1
    i hade a question i have a Mac Pro Mid 2012 is their a way to over clock the cpu ?
     
  2. Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #2
    Not yet.
     
  3. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #3
    I believe the UEFI locks the CPU speeds?

    You could pay for a faster processor from those offered by Apple, I guess? What do you have at the moment by the way?

    If you are using it for business to make money, can you alter your workflow to take advantage of a second Mac Pro?
     
  4. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #4
    Its not something that is usually done on a workstation type machine.

    The system isn't really practical for over clocking. Usually you need supporting hardware, access to easily add better cooling etc.

    I have not heard of anyone over clocking a mac pro (and can't think of a good reason to do it).

    What spec do you have now, and what apps are you using that you feel would benefit from more speed? Perhaps there are other options to try before attempting to push an expensive system beyond its design and thermal envelopes.
     
  5. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #5
    ZDnet had a piece of software that allowed overclocking of 1,1 - 3,1s but, as far as I know, it never worked for 4,1s and 5,1s. It also stopped working with later revisions of OS X.
     
  6. Veins thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #6
    My computer specs:
    2 x 2.4 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
    16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ECC
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 2048 MB

    Programs I use : Cinema 4d + After Effects
    Work i do : Motion Graphics (Intros)

    i was looking for an upgrade since my intel xeon core run at 2.4ghz am pretty sure i seen 2.9x ghz or 2.7x ghz
     
  7. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #7
    You can get hex processors up to 3.4 gHz or so, but it will cost you...

    No way to overclock the CPUs you already own. If there were, Tutor would be telling you all about it. :)
     
  8. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #8
    You could replace those processors with two 6x3.33 very easily I think?
     
  9. iBug2 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #9
    I still use the ZDNet overclock on my 3.1 but it resets on every shut down so I never shut down the machine. If for some reason I have to, I boot into Leopard from USB stick, OC again and reboot Mavericks. :)
     
  10. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #10
    Ah! Very smart idea!!
     
  11. Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #11
    I do something similar for my three 2007 Mac Pros: I use a different boot HD with Leopard - downside is that it even overclocks the time clock. Zdnet SW won't work properly with a 2012 because of different bus achitecture. It works with 1,1 to 3,1. I have not had what I would call glowing success with 4,1 and 5,1 with other methods and thus do not even recommend trying them.
     
  12. westrock2000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    #12
    I thought I read about something related to a (CPU) clock setting. It started with a B, but it wasn't the BCLK.
     
  13. handheldgames, Nov 2, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2013

    handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #13
    Looking into this back in 2009, Apple's developer tools provide low level access to the EUFI subsystem. Cross referencing X58 overclocking material, it looked like there were sufficient controls to work with an unlocked CPU, such as the i7-975 or i7-990x I replaced it with.

    Condori may have some insight on this subject as well.
     
  14. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #14
    Were you thinking of this?
     

    Attached Files:

  15. iBug2 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #15
    If you reboot after you OC the time clock resets to regular speed so it's all good.
     
  16. Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #16
    True. But since I hit age 60 this fall, even momentary speed-ups of time bother me.

    ----------

    The BSEL mods fell out of favor when Nehalems arrived, for the same reason that the ZDnet tool did too.
     
  17. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #17
    Just trying to help westrock2000 find his thought.
     

Share This Page