Can the Macbook run CS4 smoothly?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by nkllr, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. nkllr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    I want to buy a new Macbook Aluminum, but I was wondering if I bumped it up to 4gb of RAM will it run smoothly on basic photoshop work?

    Thx:apple::apple::apple::apple:
     
  2. Stachelsk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #2
    Yes. It'll run as smooth as butter.

    Make sure you don't order the RAM through apple. You can get a 4GB kit for under $50 all over online, and Apple will charge you $100s of dollars for the same thing.
     
  3. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  4. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    #4
    Any idea if the AL 2.0 MB would run CS4 comprable to a 2.33 MBP 256MB X1600? I'm considering downgrading as I am taking my lappy to college everyday now, instead of it being a massive 17" desktop replacement.

    How much do HD Size/Speed and RAM (2GB to 4GB) affect photoshop when working with documents that are maximum 8x10 300ppi? Would the bump from 2.0 to 2.4 be very noticible, or perhaps only a few seconds per action. *searches for benchmarks*
     
  5. Nickisgodofmacs macrumors member

    Nickisgodofmacs

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #5
    smoother than butter

     
  6. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #6
    Can you guys be more specific.
    Like are you talking about the entire suite of applications running smoothly, or just one? If so, which one?
     
  7. likemyorbs macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    honestly, it'll work fine with 2gb. just dont try to use parallels with 2gb, it wont be pretty. but yeah these things are pretty powerful, and cs4 has multi-touch which is awesome
     
  8. Sirobin macrumors 6502

    Sirobin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Yeah, it runs pretty good on my Powerbook...I think you'll be okay:p
     
  9. Nickisgodofmacs macrumors member

    Nickisgodofmacs

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #9
    word

    ha seriously listen to him tried doing photoshop, ichat, safari, itunes, parallels and ahhh imovie 08 and crashed.
     
  10. MattyK macrumors 6502a

    MattyK

  11. DiSFLyLaTiNa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #11
    i run photoshop cs on my mine with no problems. i HAD cs4 and it was fine, but i like cs better. lol.
     
  12. tom. macrumors 6502

    tom.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Surely this depends entirely on what you are doing?

    If you are airbrushing your iPhone pictures to put on myspace I'm sure you will be fine. Giant canvases with tonnes of rendering may start to stress it a bit though!
     
  13. ankitsid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #13
    this is a big problem for me to..as i do a lot of editing on Photoshop on CS4 and creating stuff on Illustrator..movies on Premiere and Aftrer Effects..

    just to be safe im getting the 2.4 version and then buy 4 gigs of ram..
    its just more "future proof" and i have a lottt of things going at the same time..
     
  14. bobbytomorow macrumors 6502

    bobbytomorow

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #14
    a dual core penryn, 9400m and DDR3 are you kidding? of course it will run CS4 smoothly
     
  15. hmai18 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #15
    Beware. My Macbook spontaneously exploded when I tried to run Photoshop...

    It runs fine on 2GB, and will run better with 4GB. Next question.
     
  16. Jaredistheman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #16
    Yeah, mines only got 2gb's of memory and a 2.0ghz and i run PS and Illustrator at the same time very smoothly, even with large documents.
     
  17. sporadicMotion macrumors 65816

    sporadicMotion

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Your girlfriends place
    #17
    They call me the Rhymnocerous my lyrics are bottomless... ... ...
     
  18. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #18
    No you won't. 4GB kits cost either the same or more than what you pay Apple. And you get free installation by an Apple technician. Don't confuse DDR2 memory with DDR3. It's, the least to say, the same. DDR2 is way cheaper than DDR3 and DDR2 won't fit in the alu MB. The white MB uses the cheaper $50 4GB kits while the alu MB uses the $150+ 4GB kit.
     
  19. whitebook macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #19
    haha, eyyyy murray!! love that show
     
  20. sporadicMotion macrumors 65816

    sporadicMotion

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Your girlfriends place
    #20
    I'm the mother flippin' Rhymenocerous
    My beats are fly and the birds are on my back
    And I'm horny
    I'm horny
    If you choose to proceed you will indeed concede
    Cos I hit you with my flow
    The Wild Rhino Stampede.
    I'm not just wild, I'm trained,
    Domesticated
    I was raised by a rapper and rhino that dated
    And subsequently procreated
    That's how it goes
    Here's the Hiphopopotamus
    The hip hop hippo

    They call me the Hiphopopotamus
    My lyrics are bottomless

    They call me the Hiphopopotamus
    Flows that glow like phosphorous
    Poppin' off the top of this esophagus
    Rockin' this metropolis
    I'm not a large water-dwelling mammal
    Where did you get that preposterous hypothesis?
    Did Steve tell you that, perchance?
    Steve.

    My rhymes and records they don't get played
    Because my records and rhymes they don't get made
    And if you rap like me you don't get paid
    And if you roll like me you don't get laid.

    My rhymes are so potent that in this small segment
    I made all of the ladies in the area pregnant
    Yes, sometimes my lyrics are sexist
    But you lovely bitches and hoes should know I'm trying to correct this.

    Other rappers dis me
    Say my rhymes are sissy.
    Why? Why? Why?
    What?
    Why exactly?
    What? Why?
    Be more constructive with your feedback, please. Why?
    Why?

    Why, because I rap about reality?
    Like me and my grandma drinking a cup of tea?
    There ain't no party like my nanna's tea party.
    Hey! Ho!

    I'm the motherflippin'
    I'm the motherflippin'
    I'm the motherflippin'
    Who's the motherflippin?
    I'm the motherflippin'
    I'm the motherflippin'
    I'm the motherflippin'
    Motherflippin'
     
  21. nkllr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #21
    Actually Apple does make there RAM like 30x times more expensive
     
  22. democrat2theend macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #22
    I just got a MacBook with 4 gigs of RAM and so far CS4 runs great. I have tried PhotoShop, Illustrator, and Premiere and they were all fine. Now, it's possible that the MacBook Pro with the dedicated video card is even better for CS4, but my new laptop with 4 gigs of RAM is a huge improvement over my old iBook G4 with 768, and I believe the guy in the store said that there was no longer as much of a difference in terms of video/graphic performance between the MacBook and MacBook Pro.
     
  23. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #23
    Wrong. Try to find a 4GB DDR3 (not PC-5300 DDR2) kit that fits the MB Alu for under $150. You won't. Usually, when Apple utilizes a *new* tech standard (like DDR3 over DDR2) the prices are pretty good since an Apple technician does this for you. But after some time, the prices drop (think HDD and the newer SSD). Apple doesn't bother making money from small trivial details like RAM memory; they focus on the bigger stuff like sales of notebooks or desktops.

    Again that is wrong. The MBP has 2 (two) graphic cards, one integrated (the weaker 9400M), and the discrete (much more powerful 9600M GT). The MB only has one integrated, the 9400M. I know you can only use one card at a given time, but the 9600 card is much more powerful than the puny 9400. Don't be fooled. There is still a huge difference in the video/graphics performance.
     
  24. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  25. democrat2theend macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #25
    That used to be true, but it's not that big of a difference anymore, because Apple has dramatically lowered their price for memory. For the MacBook, it's $150 to upgrade from 2 GB to 4 GB. Since the 2 GB version has 2 1 gb chips, not 1 2 gb chip, you have to buy all 4 gigs from a third party, not just an extra 2 gigs. And if you don't know how to do it yourself you have to pay to have 3rd party memory installed. Back when Apple charged $600 extra for a memory upgrade it might have been worth going the third party route, but for $150 I think it's worth getting it through Apple, especially since you'd have to pay for 4 gigs and not just 2 from a third party.

    This may not be true of the new MacBooks, but a few years ago, everyone I talked to who had third party memory in an ibook or PowerBook had problems. We got my mom a PowerBook on ebay in 2004 that had 512 MB of Apple memory and 512 MB of 3rd party memory, and she was constantly having problems with that computer, some of which were eventually traced to the 3rd party memory. Once she took out the 3rd party memory the computer worked much better, even with only 512 MB of RAM.

    So I would disagree with this poster and advise you to spend the $150 through Apple to upgrade from 2 gb to 4. You won't save that much buying the memory online, and you could run into problems.
     

Share This Page