Can you do 'this' with a 1.1.2????

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by nlivo, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. nlivo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #1
    If I bought an iPhone and wanted to unlock it to use on another carrier...would I be able to do this if it came pre-installed with version 1.1.2????? Thanks.
     
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    Chances are you will get one with the new 4.6 bootloader, at this time, has no unlock. You can jailbreak it and install apps/use it on the same carrier with different contract.
     
  3. nlivo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #3
    ????????
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Do a search both on here and google to find out more.

    There are two different versions of the bootloader 3.9 and 4.6. If you get a phone with 3.9 then you can unlock it to any network. If you get one with 4.6 then there is no general unlock.
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Absolutely Not. Need explaination? just post asking so
     
  6. nlivo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #6
    I would love an explanation. Thanks.
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    The reason is an iPhone that came with 1.1.1 Firmware OTB has the old BootLoader 3.9 installed. (Bootloader is the program which starts up the whole process ei. Turn iPhone on) This bootloader has a back door which lets you write on the Baseband code. This is what iPhone SimFree and anySIM do. There is small part of the baseband code that is used as thew 'locking' mechanism which holds the AT&T tether. However, anySIM and iPhone SimFree simply write 0's in that section that allow the iPhone to be 'unlocked'. However, doing this voids warranties and any future updates to the baseband or firmware can end up locking the phone back or simply disabling the device. That is what happenned when people who unlocked in 1.0.2 tried to upgrade to 1.1.1, hence the 'bricked' phones all-over.

    The new iPhone being sold (the one with 1.1.2 installed) has a new bootloader 4.6 which does not currently allow any type of writting on the baseband. However, the iPhoen Dev Team and geohot found another back door. They can insert a new secpack (which is the section on thew baseband that causes the lock) however, the secpack has to be from more recent firmware (only 1.1.2 + secpack can be included). This means that once 1.1.3 is out the secpack from that version can be used to unlock 1.1.2. Which means once 1.1.3 is out DO NOT update if you are looking for a software only solution. The iPhone Dev Team announced that a software solution is possible. This is of coarse in theory since we don't know if the final 1.1.3 version will bring a baseband update.

    anything unclear? please post
     
  8. mike0775 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #8
    jav.. you're not being entirely clear.. while it is true that there is no way to truly unlock the phone with software.. it is possible to 'unlock' an Iphone, or atleast allow you to use a sim from another network, with 4.6 bootloader and 1.1.2 installed with 'turbosim'.
    I suggest you start research here.. http://docs.google.com/View?docid=dgzw9xs_0gfhxns
     
  9. Luis macrumors 65816

    Luis

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #9
    In short, you won't be able do to what the guy in the video does. This is because your phone comes with 1.1.2 and the new bootloader, and this causes two problems with the method in the video:

    1. The Safari exploit they use to enter that site and crash the phone is fixed in your phone, so nothing will happen.

    2. Most seriously, you phone comes with the new bootloader, which in short, renders unlocking apps unusable.
     
  10. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    yea i know that part. I just told him software wise. Hardware wise its a total different story. Also he asked for a software method unlock which is the one i'm explaining not possible-
     
  11. emotion macrumors 68040

    emotion

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #11
    1.1.2 can be unlocked to O2/ATT sims. From there reportedly you can use a Turbosim style device to make your sim pretend to be O2/ATT.

    So the answer is, with a Turbosim, yes.

    Whether you'd want to do that much faffing around I dunno.

    Edit: note to self - read whole thread properly before replying :)
     
  12. nlivo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #12
    so.....if I bought an iPhone now and it came with 1.1.2 pre-installed is there no FREE way of unlocking it to use on any carrier?? Sorry but its all a little confusing.
     
  13. Luis macrumors 65816

    Luis

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #13
    No. Sorry.
     

Share This Page