Can you run Oculus VR on a Mac Pro in bootcamp?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by whitedragon101, Apr 2, 2018.

  1. whitedragon101 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #1
    The specs of the Mac Pro are high enough to support a Rift. Has anyone tried to run a Rift in bootcamp?
     
  2. mgmtm3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    #2
    As a person that was just in this situation, they can be! I have the 5.1 dual 5690's with a GTX-1080 and it works great with no stuttering. I'm certain that any of the upper 56xx series chips combined with a GTX 10 series should be more than enough to run VR. If you are at the base level specs with the old radeon/nvidia120 cards, not a chance. I was worried about the two sensors needing USB 3.0 but I plugged them into the 2.0 ports on the Mac and they work great. The only issue is the Oculus software has this warning in the home UI that is very annoying that basically tells you that your computer does not meet the minimum specs. This is completely false but you will need to grab the "OculusTrayTool" and go into it's settings and click the box that says "Spoof CPU" which will trick the Oculus software and get rid of the banner.
     
  3. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    It's pretty easy to add USB 3.0 card to a Mac Pro if you like, but it sounds like you don't need it.
     
  4. mgmtm3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    #4
    Yeah I invested way too much time looking into USB 3.0 cards, and then finally when I got the headset I just plugged it in to see if it worked and it did. I think if you have 3-4 sensors you might need a separate 3.0 card.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    If the steam VR test is accurate, then the cMP should be good enough for Rift.
    VR details.JPG
     
  6. whitedragon101 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #6
    How does the current Mac Pro have a 1080ti in it ?

    It has 2 soldered on AMD GPUs.
     
  7. h9826790, Apr 2, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2018

    h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
  8. pdafan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #8
    Running Oculus well and perfect with no stutter on
    mac pro 2009 with W5590, Nvidia GTX 1060 on Win 10, PCIE USB 3.0 and Mac Pro USB 2.0 with 3 sensors.
     
  9. Kcetech1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    #9
    however It runs like a dead mule in molasses on the MP 6.1 and those neutered AMD fire pro cards ........ your almost at the bottom of not ready.
     
  10. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10
    "cMP" means "classic" or "cheesegrater" Mac Pro, not current Mac Pro.
     
  11. MarkC426 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Why not get a vive instead, which works in both windows and osx High Sierra.....best of both worlds (if you can put up with windoze :mad:....me not a fan)
     
  12. fendersrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #12
    The cMP with some basic modifications, easily handles VR, and likely could handle VR for the next few years.

    I run super sampling on 1.3x w/ a GTX 1070 with my HTC Vive @ 3.46GHz. Never had a dropped frame show up. I confirmed that even an RX 580 handled the HTC Vive just fine (though I would lower the super sampling back down to near 1.0x)
     
  13. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #13
    MP 6,1 with d700s does just fine in boot camp as well. Vive anyway, Rift should be the same story.
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    Because waiting for the wireless Vive 2 :D
     
  15. whitedragon101 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #15
    Ahh thanks
    --- Post Merged, Apr 3, 2018 ---
    Already have a Rift.

    I sold my Vive after the Rift room scale sensors and controllers were released.

    Hopefully Oculus is working with Apple behind the scenes on integration.
     
  16. fendersrule, Apr 4, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2018

    fendersrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #16
    Rift room scale is second rate. "Here, mount these 3 cameras around your room and btw, please run the USB cables back to the computer with 20 feet extensions!" Vive sensors are wireless, why have it any other way? Vive also allows for larger rooms.

    The Vive definitely needs the deluxe audio strap, which I believe the new Vive comes with that by default. It shouldn't even be an add-on option. This is why many say the Rift feels more comfortable....unless you actually compare a Vive with the deluxe audio strap then you'd find them remarkedly similar. In-fact, the adjustability on the deluxe audio strap is a master piece because all you have is a turn knob on the back, which makes swapping the headset around to different players is a 1 second adjustment procedure. Adjusting the rift headset takes more finnicking. The deluxe audio strap allows the Vive to literally become one with your head, which is something that was sorely lacking. Turn your head too fast, the headset kinda jiggles, no matter how tight you get it. That problem is no more. Again, you cannot experience the Vive without the deluxe audio strap. Sorry, I went off on a tangent, but I cannot stress how the Vive needs that by default.

    Visual quality of both headsets are pretty equal. Both need wider FOV and better ventilation, which I believe is more important that "tetherless" VR.

    The Rift was clearly designed to be used while seated as its design center. All of the add-ons and warts since inception was clearly in response to the Vive, and "add-ons" are never better than starting your design off in that way in the first place. IMO, VR is all about Room scale for maximum fidelity. Most people don't have large play spaces like I do, so I get it. But if you do, you want to stay away from the Rift. btw, you can play all Occulus Rift games with the Vive. The problem is that many of the good ones lack room scale support (first gen ones) and rarely go on sale.

    That brings me to my second point: stagnation of games. The games that are in VR are truly breathtaking (Super HOT VR, say no more). I own Fallout VR, but haven't turned it on yet. I already spent 100 hours in Fallout 4 in 2D, so I really am not excited to start it again in VR other than to "check it out".
     
  17. whitedragon101 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #17

    I had a Rift right at launch and tried my friends Vive. I preferred the Rift as a headset but the room scale and controllers on the Vive blew it out if the water so I bought a Vive. When Touch and the 3rd sensor Rift came out for Rift I set up room scale on the Rift. Both systems now covered my 2.5m x 2.5m play area. However for the Vive always had issues with reflective surfaces which meant I had to pull all the curtains and cover my glass table which was a faff. The Rift didn't have that issue because it wasn't sweeping lasers across the room. Given the easier setup and that I preferred the headset and controllers on the Rift, I sold the Vive. Also I didn't want to gamble on Revive not getting blocked to play Oculus only games.
     
  18. Unami macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Location:
    Austria
    #18
    i have to agree to that. i own a psvr, and while it’s worse from a technical standpoint, it‘s far more comfortable than vive or rift.

    stagnation of games... i hear you. I bought skyrim-vr, and only then remembered all the time i had already sunk into this game, getting lost in a million of sidequests. and, yes, superhotvr is pretty, pretty cool.
     
  19. fendersrule, Apr 5, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2018

    fendersrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #19
    You are supposed to remove all objects that are in the playspace away in the room with VR, no matter which headset you get. Unless you're saying that the glass table was behind the play space and it was confusing the IR sensors. In that case, well, that sucks, but glass tables kinda suck to keep clean anyways. :)

    My VR "studio" is in the living room, which is an open area. It would look so hideous with 3 cameras tethered by USB cables going snaking around everywhere (rift). 2.5m is about 8 x 8 feet. I consider that a small play space. Mine is about 14' x 18' with cathedral ceilings. I can jump, flail my hands, crawl, and roll around, and completely lose myself in it. That's what the Vive is just built for. As I mentioned above, I would not compare the Vive headset unless you had the deluxe audio strap installed. It's night and day and it's way more than an "accessory". Vive calling it an "audio strap" is actually horrible marketing because that's all I thought it was when I bought it. Come to find out, there were 6 other "must have" benefits of it.

    Either way, if I had an office or a private area with a small 2.5m x 2.5m of playspace, then the rift would be just fine. In a larger, more public space, it's by far so much worse to setup and its limitations make themselves very apparent. Setup on the Vive was easier than I could have ever imagined. From the moment I had everything mounted (drilled) to the moment I was in the Vive "Home" was about 10 minutes.

    The touch controls are pretty cool. The only downside is that the lesser weight sometimes translates to less fidelity when you are holding objects in games. Holding a sword with a Vive control just feels more "right" than holding a sword with a Vive touch controller. Plus, controllers are accessories and there's undoubtedly going to be much more innovation in that space soon.
     
  20. whitedragon101 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #20
    Yes I had a cleared play space

    The glass table was on the other side of the room in the dining area but the lasers have a long range so could hit anything in the room that was reflective. So each time I played I had to close all the curtains (3 sets), cover the table with a sheet, cover the front of the PC (perspex window) with a wooden tray. Then I could play.

    14' x 18' nice. I just realised I actually have more vertical space than I do horizontal. I have 2.5x2.5 cleared on the ground but 4m ceilings. Need a climbing rig to make best use of the space :p
     
  21. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #21
    vr_ready.png

    I dropped an RX 580 Pulse 8GB in to my 5,1 and then got hold of an Oculus Rift DK2 for about €100. I predominantly use it for sim racing, and so far I'm having a blast. The frame rate drops to about 40 in the paddock, but out on track it will hold 75 FPS most of the time.
     
  22. fendersrule, May 22, 2018
    Last edited: May 22, 2018

    fendersrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #22
    Wait, only 75 max with drops into 45? That's bad. You need 90FPS and no less in VR. I had a RX580 in my Mac Pro, and according to your steam scores, it's performing as expected...

    Edit: the DK2 is maxed at 75Hz, so I guess that's good. It's the drops that you experience that are not good.

    The Vive is 90Hz per eye, so that's why I was fixated on that number. Surprised that the Rift headsets are maxed at 75Hz for VR. Not a good way to combat motion sickness!
     
  23. BillyBobBongo, May 22, 2018
    Last edited: May 23, 2018

    BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #23
    The Oculus Rift CV1 also runs at 90Hz, just the DK2 that runs at 75Hz. Must admit I was surprised when I saw it drop, but rendering 20 other cars and all the buildings is probably a big ask for the RX 580. That said it is very game dependent. It suffers from frame drop mostly in Project Cars 2. In both Assetto Corsa and Rfactor 2 it seems to hold up better.

    I picked up the DK2 as I wanted to check a) how my system coped with VR and b) if I suffered motion sickness. So far no motion sickness, unless I look behind me when reversing. That's a bit of an odd feeling.

    Edit: Found a way to get the FPS up in Project Cars 2. Apparently the graphics settings I used, before going VR, can cause issues. Deleting those two files (graphicsconfigdx11 and graphicsconfigoculusdx11) and setting it all up again, using exactly the same numbers, has put me to almost 60 FPS in the paddock. Pretty sure with more tweaking I can max it back out at 75.

    Perhaps this document will help me (and others) out: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/13vH7xrVdCUdYgy4M3uJ0Vx-9TH_JMSeTbsl3_5Ex9OQ/htmlview
     
  24. Pandanl, Jun 2, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2018

    Pandanl macrumors member

    Pandanl

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #24
    Just got a Oculus rift second hand which came with the 2 sensors and touch controllers, however it does not detect the sensors in setup, Windows 10 shows a message that the sensors are connected but the rift setup does not show them.

    I don't have a usb 3.0 card yet, and connected the sensors to the onboard usb 2.0 ports. Downloaded the latest Oculus software.

    Mac Pro 5.1
    2x X5680
    64 GB DDR 3
    RX 480 (going to upgrade to a 1080 TI)

    EDIT: After a reboot of windows the oculus app asked for a update, after this the sensor got recognized.
     

Share This Page