Can you turn off quick type?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by The Doctor11, Jun 2, 2014.

  1. The Doctor11 macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I just dont like how much screen it takes up and right now I dont think its something I need or want. That could change when I use it but Im still wondering can I turn it off
     
  2. ionjohn macrumors 65816

    ionjohn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Turn of auto-correction
     
  3. The Doctor11 thread starter macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Im kinda hoping they fix that so I have an option to turn off quick type but keep my normal auto correct
     
  4. -Ray- macrumors regular

    -Ray-

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  5. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #5
    Is that the only way? Wtf. Even when Apple adds something, they have to take away something :confused:

    I wanna use autocorrect without prediction.
     
  6. ionjohn macrumors 65816

    ionjohn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    yeah I know it sucks :/

    ----------

    They got time! it's only beta 1 :D
     
  7. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #7
    I sure do hope they decide to add a simple switch in the keyboard settings to turn it off. There's already not that much space on the iPhones screen on current devices.
     
  8. -Ray- macrumors regular

    -Ray-

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #8
    Guys, I just noticed if you slide on it will minimize and if you slide it will come up.. Stays closed when closing messages application fully and clearing it from memory.

    You may have to tap it first.
     
  9. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #9
    Oh that's great then. Thanks for letting us know.
     
  10. Yakibomb macrumors 6502

    Yakibomb

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Location:
    Cape Town
  11. -Ray- macrumors regular

    -Ray-

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #11
    Sometimes it requires a tap.
     
  12. retrospek macrumors 6502a

    retrospek

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    How do you turn the new keyboard on ? I've loaded iOS 8 on my iPad and it looks no different than before.
     
  13. Stupotpot macrumors 6502

    Stupotpot

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    #13
    There isn't a new keyboard...it's available for 3rd party apps to update a new keyboard...they'll appear soon I'm sure
     
  14. xIN FLAMES325x macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    #14
    quicktype isnt working for me. is there anywhere to enable it or something?
     
  15. retrospek macrumors 6502a

    retrospek

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Isn't working for me either - are you using an iPad ?
     
  16. xIN FLAMES325x macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    #16
    yes, ipad 4
     
  17. sfwalter macrumors 68000

    sfwalter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    #17
    I'm on an iPad Air and I don't the quick type.
     
  18. Patriot24 macrumors 68030

    Patriot24

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #18
    Looks like the feature is not yet supported on iPad.
     
  19. The Doctor11 thread starter macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #19
    How often do they use that time?
     
  20. PayamFr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    #20
    you can swipe it down so it hides predictive text
     
  21. HMI macrumors 6502a

    HMI

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    #21
    They will allow you to "go old school" by changing back to the "classic" keyboard.
     
  22. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #22
    I minimized mine but now I can't open it up lol!
     
  23. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

    KUguardgrl13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    #23
    Why do I feel like this is a step backward with autocorrect? I'm not running the beta so bear with me. But BlackBerry had the same autocorrect on my Storm2 in 2010.
     
  24. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #24
    which part is a step backward exactly? Apple added a suggested words UI for the keyboard similar to what Android has now and that's a step back?
     
  25. iJcaP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #25
    Press and hold the global keyboard key or the emoji key is then the option to shut it off appears.
     

Share This Page